Tyres

Submitted: Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 03:52
ThreadID: 11021 Views:1969 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
Hello All

I know that the tyre debate is long and old, however I am going to start it again. I have an NM Pajero and it is time to update the factory fitter road tyres. I would like better grib off road, I am unsure which tyre best suits my needs. My on/off road ratio is 70/30. I have heard good things about coopers and kellys however my $ want go that far.

Reply By: rolande- Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 06:05

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 06:05
Try Kumho for a cheaper version, or pirelli, may find one to suit. Look for sidewall ply thickness as a guide to how well they will stand up in the bush. Only my opinion
Rolande
AnswerID: 49226

Reply By: Roachie - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 09:15

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 09:15
I've heard through a mate who uses Hancook A/Ts that he chose them because a lot of station owners he knows in northern SA swear by them. They get excellent wear rates and fewer stakings on their station tracks.
I use BFG muddies on my Patrol......getting down a bit now, so are becoming fairly noisey.
AnswerID: 49236

Reply By: Member - Bob - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 09:37

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 09:37
Michael,
how much do you think Coopers are? I just paid $220 for Cooper STs fitted. I can't imagine there'd be much around for less than that.
AnswerID: 49239

Follow Up By: Allfour4x4 - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 17:32

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 17:32
Bob,
Did you look at the ST/C's at all, they seem to be considerably dearer than $220 though.
FollowupID: 311135

Follow Up By: Allfour4x4 - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 17:32

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 17:32
Bob,
Did you look at the ST/C's at all, they seem to be considerably dearer than $220 though.
Glenn B.
FollowupID: 311136

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Monday, Mar 08, 2004 at 07:25

Monday, Mar 08, 2004 at 07:25
Glenn,
no I didn't. I just went in and asked for the STs. I have a set of STTs which are too big for my vehicle (it would need a 2" lift), so I just went for the biggest tyre that would fit comfortably.
FollowupID: 311290

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 14:03

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 14:03
If you're running on highway tyres you would be better now to fit All Terrains (A/T's). What brand? That depends on what will now suit the budget. Don't worry about the noise factor too much (you can just wind up the windows if you want) it's sometimes the penalty to pay for a tyre that gives you good service. Go for the best sidewall thickness if you are likely to be heading really off road onto tracks, rocks etc.
Tyre management is what saves tyres - correct pressures on the black & then knock 10psi + out & use 4wd high when on the dirt. Also stay away from the edges of tracks and dirt roads where sharp rocks and stakes are alwys lurking just below the surface.
I use Goodyear MTRs but they are a bulky tyre for more extreme conditions. Never had one let me down yet.
AnswerID: 49262

Reply By: Richard - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 19:03

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 19:03
I have Cooper ST-C's and paid top dollar. From my perspective money well sent as the traction is heaps better on the track than the A/T's I had before.
AnswerID: 49304

Follow Up By: Savvas - Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 00:15

Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 00:15
G'day Richard,

Which A/T's did you have before and how do the ST/C's compare with them for onroad performance and ride quality?
FollowupID: 311161

Follow Up By: Richard - Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 05:16

Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 05:16
Bridgestone D693's. On road performance is excellent both wet and dry however they are quite a bit noisier. The extra traction is well worth it. I was also up at stockton last weekend and had no trouble in the sand.
FollowupID: 311168

Reply By: Brian - Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 09:21

Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 09:21
I went throught the tyre debate 12 months ago michael.... it's a hard decision to make!
But some good advice I was given is that I should get the tyre that best suits what I'll be doing... and then think about what I MIGHT end up doing. In our case, we went from looking at a mid price All Terrain to what we have on our truck now, which is 33" Pro Comp muddies... our tyres have taken us places that our driving experiance wouldn't have allowed on a lesser tyre.
As far as affordability goes... we bought them on 12 months interest free finance, which makes the burden a lot easier.
I'm not suggesting you should go out today and buy Pro Comp muds, just that the further you go off road, chances are the further you will want to go... you won't want to be "stopped" by not having capable tyres.

Just my opinion
AnswerID: 49353

Reply By: lizard - Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 11:52

Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 11:52
We fitted Cooper A/T's prior to trans Aust trip - SW->Cape York ... wanted mainly on road & better off road than factory (sounds like what you say) - very happy with noise , road holding , grip & wear factor - about $220 fitted I think. GU Patrol.
AnswerID: 49357