A good gal box trailer
Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 31, 2014 at 16:51
Trevor G
Hi all. I am in the market for a good gal trailer. I have a Troopy and need one to carry a Hobie PA14 (14foot long Kayak). I live at Old Bar in NSW on the mid north coast. I don't need it to much more than take stuff to the dump and get a bit of stuff.
I was thinking a 7 x 5 with fold down ends would be ideal. I would like 15 inch tyres and just a standard coupling as I don't really want to take it into real 4wd areas. A spare tyre attachment and a swing up jockey wheel.
I just want a
well made Australian made trailer that will last. im prepared to do a bit of travelling to get a good one.
Trev
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2014 at 17:50
Wednesday, Dec 31, 2014 at 17:50
Trevor,
We have a Nathan trailer(made in Brissy), that we won in a raffle, when we first moved to town 6 years ago. It has stood out in the weather during that time, and hasn't deteriorated much. Only has slipper springs and 14" wheels, but is ample for trips to the dump, or collecting a load of sand or blend mix.
Pretty sure Bunnings sell gal trailers, who makes 'em I wouldn't know. Think they have a few sizes, from petite up to 7' x 5'. Sure to be other makers in NSW as
well.
Not sure about 15" wheels, might have to retro fit some?
Reply By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Dec 31, 2014 at 23:31
Wednesday, Dec 31, 2014 at 23:31
Trev,
Having recently traveled through the Eastern States and knowing how far from WA you are I would be surprised if you had any interest in a trailer that I know and have seen in the flesh over here.
The other reason I would expect you not to be much interested in would be the price which escapes me at the moment.
Now, having said all that, if you wanted a tandem trailer, 2 tonne I think, that will almost definitely outlast you and probably the next 3 generations of your family, barring accidents of course, have I got a deal for you....lol.
Ever seen a box top trailer made totally bodywise of stainless steel?
A good mate of my son in law has a business doing all types of sheet metal from work ute toolboxes to truck body building and repair. Apparently he had a few sheets of stainless that got ordered for a job. Unfortunetley the customer pulled the pin on the job and he wound up stuck with all these sheets. They lay around for a while and in the end he decided to turn them into a trailer.
A thing of beauty? Hmmm, maybe. You certainly would need a good pair of sunnys when unloading your garden clippings at
the tip.
Follow Up By: Member - Silverchrome - Thursday, Jan 01, 2015 at 16:29
Thursday, Jan 01, 2015 at 16:29
Trev take a note of what Pop is saying. If you want the best go stainless steel. Gal will eventually chip and scratch and therefore rust if you use it for rough use to dump etc. There was a guy selling stainless steel trailers at Caboolture Sunday markets a while ago. They are not cheap but absolutely beautiful trailers and they will outlast you and your next 3 or 4 generations.
Reply By: Pattio - Thursday, Jan 01, 2015 at 17:07
Thursday, Jan 01, 2015 at 17:07
Hi Trevor G,
I live in
Newcastle and have a 7 x 4 box trailer that is now more than 20 years old and still going strong. Been towed halfway around Australia a couple of times including Fraser Island and the west MacDonald ranges. All my family and mates have also used it for countless tip runs and pick ups of all sorts gnarly stuff like broken concrete, pavers and bricks.
Having said all of that, the surface of the trailer is not scratched and corroded. In fact the only rust is a little along a couple of seams which has been kept in check with a little fish oil every now and then.The thing is made out of a heavy gauge steel and was hot dipped galvanised new and still looks better than many trailers a fraction of it's age.
I bought it from Terrace trailers at Raymond Terrace and it appears they are still in the phone book. Felk trailers here in
Newcastle also make quality trailers and are also a really nice family so if I were updating for any reason and wanted a custom trailer that would last the distance, I would start by having a chat to both of those. Reasonably close to you also.
Regards Chris.
Reply By: Trevor G - Thursday, Jan 01, 2015 at 21:41
Thursday, Jan 01, 2015 at 21:41
Thanks for the replies. I have a brother that lives in the Terrace so I will get him on to it. I think he got a trailer off one of them.
Reply By: swampfox - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2015 at 10:09
Tuesday, Jan 06, 2015 at 10:09
hi
Consider a stake body trailer .
The sides and front are not welded to the floor there by not causing any rust
[of course the tailgate is removeable] .
The sides and front are located by ""stakes ""
This type of trailer can be used as a flat deck also.
As the sides are removeable [having no sides can create a little more flex ]
The chassis should be at least 75x 50mm
The chassis should be 2.0mm thick
The floor is flat steel of choice and easy to replace
The A frame drawbar at least 3.0 prefer 4.0mm thick
The a frame should join the front spring hangers
Galvinise finish should be on the inside and outside [some steel is gal on one side only ]
mechanicals ford bearings ,ford stud pattern 1300kg capacity
Ford bearings take abuse a little better than holden bearings
45mm square axle 1300kg capacity
1000 kg springs
USE ONLY THE ALLOY TRAILER RIMS AS THEY ARE LOAD RATED
14 inch tyres last longer than 13 inch
Try and not buy cheap light truck tyres . They have no give and ride the trailer hard
Go with a 8x5 very good not to big not to small for most applications
I have a 8x6 done as above works great
camping gear /UTV/ bikes /canoes
well loaded ha ha
swampfox