Comment: Donkey Orchid - help identify please

Submitted: Monday, Jan 12, 2015 at 16:39
ThreadID: 110700 Views:1797 Replies:3 FollowUps:9
This Thread has been Archived
Can any of our orchid gurus identify this donkey orchid please?
J and V
"Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted."
- Albert Einstein

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Barry H (WA) - Monday, Jan 12, 2015 at 17:03

Monday, Jan 12, 2015 at 17:03
John and Val,

I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but going by the geography and the time the photo was taken, I would hazard a guess at Diuris "south coast", the South Coast Donkey Orchid.

I can't see any other species that match up with the geography or timing.

But then again I could be completely wrong.

Regards

Barry H

AnswerID: 544131

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Jan 12, 2015 at 17:20

Monday, Jan 12, 2015 at 17:20
Thanks Barry, can you give me a species name?
Cheers,
Val
J and V
"Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted."
- Albert Einstein

Lifetime Member

FollowupID: 831227

Follow Up By: Member - Barry H (WA) - Monday, Jan 12, 2015 at 17:25

Monday, Jan 12, 2015 at 17:25
Val,

According to my book (Field Guide to the Orchids of Western Australia) it is listed as Diuris, the sp is "south coast".

Regards

Barry H
FollowupID: 831229

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Jan 12, 2015 at 17:30

Monday, Jan 12, 2015 at 17:30
Thanks Barry, yes there are plenty of plants in that category.
Cheers,

Val.
J and V
- Albert Einstein

Lifetime Member

FollowupID: 831231

Reply By: pop2jocem - Monday, Jan 12, 2015 at 17:14

Monday, Jan 12, 2015 at 17:14
Hi guys,

Certainly no guru, just fascinated by the huge variety found in the orchid group.