Nissan - New Titan Goes V8 Diesel in USA

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 14, 2015 at 14:04
ThreadID: 110736 Views:2991 Replies:5 FollowUps:16
Just thought this might be of interest.
Nissan (USA) revealed at Detroit auto show today the new 2016 Nissan Titan.
The XD model has a 20inch longer wheelbase and is powered by a Cummins 5 litre V8 Diesel (231 kw and 752 Nm torque). This is the first diesel Titan ever built.
This will be another contender to the big 3 USA trucks (F trucks, Chev Silverado, Dodge Ram). It will have a tow capacity of over 5 tonnes.
It will probably find its way to Australia via the RHD conversion people I guess. But another consideration....now that Nissan (albeit USA) has done a deal with Cummins will this engine find its way into the Patrol in the future??? Just dreaming...

http://www.autoguide.com/auto-news/2015/01/2016-nissan-titan-packs-555-lb-ft-of-torque.html

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2015 at 14:17

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2015 at 14:17
Nice and about time! If more diesels were available in the USA, more people would buy them but they seem to have a petrol theme going on over there. Michael

AnswerID: 544238

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2015 at 15:33

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2015 at 15:33
That is because the Americans have put in place rules that essentially do not allow imported diesel vehicles on the road bit allow home grown diesels - even though the foreign vehicles are more fuel efficient and have better emissions.

None of the Landrover diesels are allowed to be sold there and I believe (but not sure) that none of the other standard European and Jap diesels are sold there yet US diesels are sold.
FollowupID: 831346

Follow Up By: Slow one - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2015 at 16:55

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2015 at 16:55
This might be worth reading as Euro diesels are allowed in the US.

The Japs have not been keeping up with the times and have fallen behind the Euro countries regarding the design of modern diesel engines for light vehicles

US diesels
FollowupID: 831363

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 06:50

Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 06:50
Lots of european manufacturers sell diesels. I think it has more to do with emissions that locally manufactured.

FollowupID: 831402

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 07:19

Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 07:19
The Japs have always been behind the Europeans with regards to modern diesel engine design. They used to build noisy, low powered, relatively fuel inefficient with high service costs diesels that were very reliable...but who really wants that any more? Their efforts with CRD's have thrown the reliability factor out the window, even after tuning them down to around half the torque output of the same size Euro motor.
FollowupID: 831403

Reply By: Member - John - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2015 at 14:27

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2015 at 14:27
Geepeem, I will keep dreaming and continue with my Duramax/Allison conversion in my Patrol. Cheers.

AnswerID: 544240

Follow Up By: Geepeem - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2015 at 15:56

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2015 at 15:56
Sounds like a great project John. I love Nissans but I love Silverados even more! Its a great engine and transmission combination with Allison. Proabably the best anywhere available. Which Duramax have you got …. is it the LML model introduced inn 2011? Post some pictures as you progress the project.

FollowupID: 831351

Reply By: Member - John - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2015 at 16:36

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2015 at 16:36
Geepeem, I have the LBZ engine and 6 speed Allison, not sure when conversion starts, but will post pics along the way.

AnswerID: 544254

Follow Up By: PajeroTD - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 07:01

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 07:01
LBZ is a fav for many people. A crap load more power than the LLY without all the emissions crap of the newer LMM and LML.
FollowupID: 831601

Reply By: Road Warrior - Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 11:05

Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 11:05
This one will give "the other three" a big kick up the backside, by all accounts the 5.0L Cummins is a great donk, now we will see if Toyota brings a diesel in the Tundra
AnswerID: 544312

Follow Up By: Geepeem - Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 13:36

Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 13:36
Yes Road Warrior I did read that Toyota may also offer a diesel in the the 2016 or 2017 Tundra. I have not seen that confirmed by Toyota but there was talk of it. If they want competitive models with Titan etc they will no doubt go ahead with a diesel engine option.
FollowupID: 831413

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Friday, Jan 16, 2015 at 12:21

Friday, Jan 16, 2015 at 12:21
Geepeem they actually did a "concept" Tundra some years ago but it used a Toyota truck motor (what's the Toyota light truck called, the Dyna..?) and the GFC killed off any prospect of it being taken further. According to Toyota at the time. Had all the Yank "truck" enthusiasts in a lather.
FollowupID: 831468

Follow Up By: PajeroTD - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 07:04

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 07:04
Toyota is said to be considering the same engine for the Tundra, rather than the 4.5 V8 in the LC200. I believe the Cummins will be available in the Patrol in Australia at some point. The concept you are referring to is essentially a Tundra body on a Hino chassis with an 8L inline 6 diesel. There was never any real chance of it being produced.
FollowupID: 831602

Reply By: Geepeem - Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 13:32

Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 13:32
Here is a bit of background to the OP for anyone interested.

In 2013 Nissan USA head hunted a guy by the name of Fred Diaz from Chrysler. Fred was in charge of the Dodge Ram group and was a man passionate about big V8 diesels. At that time Fred was negotiating with Cummins re a new generation 5 litre V8 diesel for the Dodge Ram 1500. Soon after he switched to Nissan the new Cummins diesel suddenly became “available” to Nissan. Hence the introduction in the 2016 Titan. (In USA the new release models come out the previous year…i.e. the 2016 Titan will be available for sale from the second quarter 2015 onwards, I think it is).

AnswerID: 544314

Follow Up By: Ron N - Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 15:43

Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 15:43
I really don't understand why anyone would want a 300HP, 5.0L turbo V8 diesel, unless they want to repower a 3 tonne truck.
Just having one powering a 4WD seems to be substantial overkill to me. The Cummins appears to be designed as a truck engine.

Then again, a few people reckon monstrous F250's and 7.3L V8's are the way to go. I often wonder if it's the intimidation factor that appeals to them. They pay accordingly.

My preference is the 80 series size and HP range, but that's apparently a thing of the past now. If your 4WD doesn't weigh at least 3.5 tonnes and doesn't have at least 300HP, then you're obviously a pussy.
A mate is fond of saying, "if I want to drive around in a 3 tonne truck, I'll buy a 3 tonne truck!". [;-)

FollowupID: 831422

Follow Up By: Geepeem - Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 16:15

Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 16:15
Well Ron I think you are way off the mark. Its nothing like that at all. It’s about road safety and being responsible road users without having an illegally overweight tow rigs.

The braked tow capacity of any vehicle is the Maximum that should be towed under good conditions. Under adverse conditions (steep, windy roads, high wind areas, heavy rain etc) the maximum should not be towed in my opinion. I personally have a self imposed limit of 80%...i.e. if my 4X4 is rated at 3500kg I choose not to tow anything heavier than 2800kg. Maybe I am old fashioned but I also choose to tow with a 4x4 that is heavier mass than what I am towing.

There was a recent police blitz on over weight vans and 4X4 tow rigs at Gin Gin last year. Many failed this blitz. I think you would find many 4x4 tow rigs are overweight after taking into account the towball weight of van, passengers, luggage, extra fuel, water and maybe a boat on roof racks and outboard. For many there is no real alternative but one of the 3 big yank trucks if they want to travel legally.

That’s why many now choose to upgrade to F250, Silverado or Ram. In most cases when towing they are also more fuel economical than the most common tow rig (LC200series).

Its certainly not about intimidation. That's a little bit insulting to suggest that. Cheers

FollowupID: 831424

Follow Up By: Slow one - Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 21:31

Thursday, Jan 15, 2015 at 21:31
I know they were targeting 4wd's at Gin Gin not caravans. i would just like all the caravan towers and camper trailer towers to realise those big long parking bays at the Choice servo are for big things, Bdoubles and semi's. IT would be nice if those people could park their rigs elsewhere, as Gin Gin can become very crowed for heavies.

For Ron, those big engines are very fuel efficient and a few very big Jap manufactures would like to get the same fuel figures towing as they do. 200series won't come close to them.

80 series with a 1hz was a good vehicle but when it came to towing big things forget about it. If I want to drive around in a 35 year old hack I will buy one, but I would love one of those big bangers for towing anything above 3 tonnes.

FollowupID: 831448

Follow Up By: BunderDog - Friday, Jan 16, 2015 at 20:31

Friday, Jan 16, 2015 at 20:31
They did a 4WD and caravan inspection at Childers last year and have also done a pickup inspection for things in the back not covered by a net.
FollowupID: 831500

Follow Up By: Geepeem - Friday, Jan 16, 2015 at 20:39

Friday, Jan 16, 2015 at 20:39
Thanks for clearing that up Bunderdog...that was the one I read about. I just got the nearby town mixed up. My apologies.

FollowupID: 831505

Follow Up By: Slow one - Friday, Jan 16, 2015 at 21:29

Friday, Jan 16, 2015 at 21:29
Sorry, I still doubt that happened regards weights.

Yes, licence, rego and general checks but I bet my round things there were no scales.

I don't know of anywhere the department of transport would set up scales in Childers, even the locals have trouble finding a park. Department of transport normally only set them up on approved pads.
FollowupID: 831519

Follow Up By: PajeroTD - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 07:10

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 07:10
@Ron, to have a safe tow vehicle, you need weight and stability (among many other things). Longer wheelbases add stability. Beefed up frames, engines, brakes, transmissions, axles, radiators add capability. Then you end up with something that looks a lot like an F350. For many customers, the Titan XD will be downsizing from a 6.6-6.7L 400HP diesel. When you are towing, bigger engines often get better fuel economy (they can handle operating at lower rpm). The 5L should offer a good balance of unloaded fuel economy and overall capability.
FollowupID: 831603