12 volt air compressor

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 11:47
ThreadID: 110778 Views:6952 Replies:15 FollowUps:54
Im in the market for a couple new air compressors and are looking at some of the no name brands on ebay. Can anyone shed any light on good or bad brands?
Im after something around 150lm as I air up and down a few times a week and usually from about 4psi.
Has anyone had a good run out of a cheapie?

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 12:10

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 12:10
Mate

Remember the old saying ... "Ya buy for peanuts ... ya get monkeys".

For what it's worth I've had a genuine Maxair for over 10 years and it's still going strong. I can think of nothing worse than a cheap compressor giving up the ghost when you're out in the scrub and really need it.

I reckon this is a good example of going for quality, regardless of the brand.
AnswerID: 544468

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 12:27

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 12:27
So if someone marks up a $100 compressor to $300 it will improve reliability?
And rubbing the ARB sticker off the Chinese built one will cause it to fall apart.
Im not quite sure about your theory of expensive is always better?
Not all big names make there own compressors.
My current compressor is a Terain Tammer........a complete no name brand back when I bought it and about 1/4 of the price of some of the others........its gets lots of use, and has just started sounding a little old.
I personally prefer to buy quality produced products rather than popular names.
FollowupID: 831627

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 12:30

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 12:30
Oh.....and I can think of something worse...........a really expensive compressor packing it in when you really need it! LOL
FollowupID: 831628

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 12:52

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 12:52
There are some good cheap copies out there's no denying that but maybe the internals of some of the cheaper copies aren't of the same quality and quite often they have a lower cut off temp and longer cooling down time than dearer brands. I have also had a Bushranger max air for 10 yrs never let me down yet and came with a 5yr warranty which tells me it's a quality product some other big name brands like ARB which do make a good compressor still can't be that confident in their product because they only offer a 1 yr or 2 yr warranty go figure . My neighbour bought an Iron man which looks ok and still has a reasonable 3yr warranty. Personally I wouldn't skimp on a compressor if you want it for reliability and peace of mind knowing it won't let you down when you need it unless you're happy to breathe a sigh of relief if it starts when you turn it on good luck with your choice.
FollowupID: 831629

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:02

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:02
No worries cobber .. go with the cheap crap. No skin off my nose.

As I understand it the Chinese copy of the Maxair uses a plastic piston (as an example).
FollowupID: 831632

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:07

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:07
The Maxair compressor is actually made by Viiar and Bushranger have added the base, handle, hoses etc to it.
I must say you can hear the quality difference between my EBay cheapy and my good more expensive units
FollowupID: 831634

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:18

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:18
I think you misunderstand my question??????
Im not looking at buying "crap".......hence the question.
Im not looking at remote travel in the vehicle it will be kept in, it only needs to pump small tyres to low pressures and will not be in any life threatening situation if it fails. I'm just after a middle of the range, reasonably priced compressor to put in my Suzuki Sierra fishing bus.............why are things so hard????

I assume your answer to my original question is NO.........you don't know?

FollowupID: 831635

Follow Up By: Member - Tony F8 - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:22

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:22
2x the maxair, 10+ years and has never let me down.
$36 a year, now to me thats cheap.
FollowupID: 831636

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:52

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:52
Perhaps if you had included the above it your original post your question would have been clearer, rather than adding it as a postscript.
FollowupID: 831642

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:04

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:04
Possibly...............but I thought it was a simple question?
FollowupID: 831647

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 18:33

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 18:33
How old is your Terrain Tamer compressor
FollowupID: 831677

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 19:24

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 19:24
I really can't remember when I bought it, but it would have to be about 10 years old.
FollowupID: 831683

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 00:36

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 00:36
I have the TT3 Terrain Tamer Compressor - bought new about 6 years ago - It's the 150 L/min single cyl job. Had a lot of use - has not missed a beat and pumps up tyres way quicker than the Blue Tongue 3 I had for the previous 8 years. Draws best part of 40 amps, so I run it thru an anderson plug. Looks identical to the specials for $119 these days, but cost me twice that when I bought it. If ever it were to fail, I'd buy another one.
FollowupID: 831728

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 07:07

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 07:07
Hairy
I just read your Followup 1 of 12, this needs a bit common knowledge about products, what I mean is... you don't have to be an expert, here's an example.... I lived at Mt Bundy Station for 4 years, while I was there we used a Pump down on the edge of the river to get water up to a tank near the Caravan Pk area, it was run by a Honda engine, I have no idea how long it had been in use before I got there...anyhow a few months after I left it died, so he went to Darwin and got a new engine for the pump, he told me it was made in China and copy of the Honda, it lasted 2 months, so then he had to go and get another engine at extra cost....get the idea Hairy.

FollowupID: 831729

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 07:12

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 07:12
In answer to reply 6-13... MADE IN USA......MADE IN UK.....MADE IN GERMANY....MADE in AUStralia....made in china.

FollowupID: 831730

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 10:30

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 10:30
Gday Doug,
Not quite the same mate.
Mt Bundy NEED there pump for buisness........I dont
Mt Bundy is little further from Darwin than my place is from the beach.........I have to travel less than a km on bitumen to get home and use my 240v compressor if it failed, and as I keep saying.........I dont plan on buying bleep .........just not top of the wazza.
Its just to go in my new toy.....

FollowupID: 831747

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 10:51

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 10:51
Hey Doug.............there is no "REPLY 13"??????????lol
FollowupID: 831748

Reply By: Bigfish - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 12:45

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 12:45
Try this out...

http://www.4wdaction.com.au/sites/default/files/4WD169%20036-054%20FEATURE%20air_2.pdf
AnswerID: 544470

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 12:57

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 12:57
This is the comparison Alby is talking about..
FollowupID: 831631

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:06

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:06
Cant get the link to work?
FollowupID: 831633

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:25

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:25
Try this Hairy:

PDF link
FollowupID: 831638

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:38

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:38
Cheers.....that's worth a read.
FollowupID: 831641

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:02

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:02
The Dr Air Pro 150 (5 yr warranty, has won a couple of these tests in the midprice category) can be had for under $200 on ebay.
FollowupID: 831644

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:07

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:07
Yeah....I was just reading about them.
Might be alright for the Cruiser and take a gamble with a real cheaper for the Suzuki.

FollowupID: 831648

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 10:13

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 10:13
Hairy and any others that have trouble with links that are not fully underlined and don't work.

Maybe something that you can try when a link like the one above does not work. Take a copy (select and right click then select Copy) of all the link right down to the end, past it into a new browser tab/window and see what happens. In the case above get all from "http" to "2.pdf"
FollowupID: 831744

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 12:45

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 12:45
Hairy I have a Maxair II which is rated at about 72 litres a minute and also bought a EBay special for my son with a cylinder head about double the Maxair unit ( there are many of this shape available with various brand names) and it is rated at 150 litres a minute.
It is power hungry and works fine but is no quicker than the Maxair so would be dubious about their capacity claims

I have the big ARB twin unit mounted in my ute and it is a ripper. I had an ARB single in my last ute and it was still faster than the first two I mentioned

A lot of the hoses and fittings are poor quality as well and by the time you upgrade them at Pirtek etc your cheap compressor may not be so cheap anymore

There was a compressor comparo done a few years back in a 4WD mag with all the big names and some cheapies and as I recall the Projector Typhoon got a good wrap for being reliable and cheap with reasonable performance so offers excellent value for money if you can grab one on special at supacheap etc
They also pulled down some units that looked identical externally and found that the components and build quality varied between the brands

Hope that helps
AnswerID: 544471

Reply By: cruza25 - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:14

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:14
For someone that air up 4 times a week from 4psi with big tyres I would go for an engine mounted belt driven unit.

If your going to put a cheepie Chinese thru such use then don't stray too far from a servo.

Unless you buy 2 at a time so you have a spare.

Why try a save a few bucks if it means you have to drive home at 4 psi and wreck a $1500 set of tyres.

Can't see the logic.
AnswerID: 544473

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:29

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:29
Sorry.......the 4psi was a typo....its 8psi.
My tyres are worth more like $600 not $1500......and driving them home at those pressures wont hurt them on the tracks I can take if needed.
Im not pumping up big tyres.........
engine mounted compressors are too expensive, big and heavy for my need.
I just want a reasonable compressor for my fishing bus........

FollowupID: 831639

Reply By: Ron N - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:30

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 13:30
I bought a Chinese cheapie last October - a $99 special where I beat them down to $89 (local Chinese tool flogger - Mondis, they sell on eBay, too).
I wasn't interested in anything expensive or heavy, I just wanted reasonable air output and some appearance of reasonable construction.
It's one of the pretty standard double-ended Chinese jobs that appears under 50 different names and colours.
Supposed to be 150psi/150L/min and bulletproof, according to the sales blurb.

What I found;

1. Like all Chinese stuff, output is horribly over-rated. Displacement is NOT Free Air Delivery (FAD).
2. Cables get as hot as buggery after 15mins of pumping.
3. Output is possibly restricted again by small hose and fittings.
4. Plastic end cap for air filter cracked as soon as I assembled it.
5. Rubber mounting feet are cheap and nasty, and probably short life.
6. Case is cheap and nasty and compressor is poor fit in case. Stood it upright for travel, and compressor bashed holes in the case on corrugated gravel roads.
7. Can't imagine it would have a long life if I kept it, and worked it regularly.

The greatest disappointment was the poor air output. It took 25 mins to inflate a double air mattress, and 6-7 minutes to inflate a tyre.
You get what you pay for, and you don't get much for $80 or $90. This one did the job that I wanted it to do, and I'm going to quit it again, soon.

Most people only appear to use their 12V air compressor just a few times a year and it appears a lot are happy with the Chinese cheapies.
However, there's also a lot for sale on Gumtree and in pawn shops, thus showing they are either stolen a lot - or people are unhappy with them.
Being the trusting soul that I am, I prefer to believe the latter.

If you want a decent 12V compressor that will do what it says it will do, spend $250 or more.

AnswerID: 544476

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:02

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:02
Actually, it looks like you can now get a pretty good little unit for less than $200.

The Dr Air Pro-Flow rates highly in a 2011, 12V air compressor test, and it's currently selling on eBay for $199, with a 5 yr warranty.

The only shortfall that I can see is that it only comes with a soft carry bag.
My preference is for a more robust case, but everyones preferences are different.

12V Air Compressor Comparison - 2011

FollowupID: 831645

Reply By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:13

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:13
We purchased the CKMA12 from ARB and installed it in the void to the right of out Outback drawers. The air outlet is mounted in the void cover. I also installed a 12V fan to ventilate the void when the compressor was running (pump on = fan on). We have used it up to 4 or 5 times a day when touring the Vic High country. Have towed a T-van and used it on 6 wheels without a problem.

Power is run to the comressor via a heavy duty cable from a dedicated fuse (30A) in our accessory fuse box (my install) near the auxillary battery through a 30A switch in the cabin.

Sample on ebay:
ARB AIR COMPRESSOR CKMA12 on ebay

AnswerID: 544480

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 18:35

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 18:35
For those who contacted me on PM. If you want to change the direction of air flow then simply swap the wires. They are DC motors and reversing polarity = reverse direction. I believe the one that I recommended is not earthed so reversing polarity isn't a problem.
FollowupID: 831678

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:26

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:26
G'day Hairy

What about the ABR Sidewinder MK5 twin cylinder for about $220 from Derek who is a business member on here ? I have one and it's as good as the $500 ARB one I also have ! You can check out the specifications on his site - www.sidewinder.com.au

Gazz
AnswerID: 544483

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:31

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:31
I would definitely look at them for the Landcruiser but a little dear for the Suzuki.
FollowupID: 831651

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 18:31

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 18:31
$220 a little dear for a zuk I don't get that it's an odd statement but it seems to me like you're determined to be one who will be buying several cheap compressors over the next few yrs just to prove a point instead of taking good advice and buying a quality product in the first place Good luck with your choice which will cost you and not me in the long term.
FollowupID: 831676

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 20:02

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 20:02
Thanks for your concern Batt but your completely wrong in your assumptions?
My last cheapie compressor lasted me around 10 years and is only just starting to sound a little tired.
The reason I am doing a little research is to avoid needing to continually replace compressors.
My current compressor runs for a total of 6mins to inflate all four tyres to about 18psi to get home which hardley warants a huge unit.
Just because something doesnt have a well known and expensive label doesn't mean it is crap for all needs and a waste of money. Not everything needs to be the ducks nuts.
Lastly, if you would like to come and argue the point with my Mrs. That the $129 Tigerz11 thumper that Im currently looking at is not suitable because its cheaper than some of the well known brands well root your boot......................while your there can you tell her I need a couple of grand to finish my Harley im building......a new rear tyre on the one I currently ride, and remind her both registrations are due.............a new compressor for the Landcruiser.........four tyres for the quad and new suspension on the Suzuki.........
I think then you may understand why Im looking for the cheapest, suitable compressor to go in my fishing bus that she bought me for fathers day..............
Thanks for your help.....LOL
FollowupID: 831688

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 08:18

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 08:18
Too many toys Hairy....lol
FollowupID: 831735

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 11:16

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 11:16
Shh.......the Mrs might be listening!
FollowupID: 831751

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 13:08

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 13:08
Not my problem nor do I care if you have spent beyond your means and have put yourself in that situation too many toys for your budget. I did originally mention that there are some good cheap copies out there but you might be better with a $25 hand pump it will also help with your anger management issues.
FollowupID: 831763

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 13:58

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 13:58
I really wish you would stop making judgements on a situation you know absolutely nothing about and stick to the post topic..........my fiancial situation has absolutely nothing to do with you.
I didnt post on here asking your permission to purchase nor do I give a rats whether you think l need an expensive compressor or not..............I asked a simply question to people who have tried some of the cheaper not so well known brands about their experiences.
So if you have nothing constructive to add go anoy someone else.
Your surnames not Off by any chance is it? It kinda suits Bwahahahaha
FollowupID: 831772

Follow Up By: Batt's - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2015 at 00:32

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2015 at 00:32
Your the one that started whining about your finances short term memory loss got you as well all I wondered is how someone could figure out you need a dearer compressor for a Toyo and not a Zuk because their not labelled that way. Why go fishing when you're here.
FollowupID: 831845

Reply By: Rangiephil - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:32

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:32
I have an ALDI 150 l job which cost $99 and is identical in appearance to a dr air. I had cause to pull it apart recently as I had reverse polaritied it and burnt out the relay.
I was impressed with the quality of the motor, and alloy piston.
Weak points are the reed valves, and the wires are only twisted in the end cap, but mine has given no problems with hard use filling a 10 l tank to 120 PSI. And used for tyres for 3 years now.
If they failed the reed valves could be replaced by a bit of feeler gauge.
There are similar ones now advertised in 4WD Australia for $119.
The dr air has long warranty, and that is the only difference that I can see.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 544485

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:49

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:49
Hahaha......I had an old compressor pack it in out bush one day and fixed the reed valve with a piece of a beer can for the valve, until I got home and used a feeler gauge too.

FollowupID: 831652

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:56

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:56
Rangiephil - It'd be interesting to pull apart a Dr Air and compare.

The Chinese aren't stupid, you generally get exactly what you pay for.

You buy the cheapie for $119, it would have plain steel reed valves, the more expensive units "that look the same", generally have different quality internals, such as stainless steel reed valves.

That's why they offer a 5 yr warranty on the more expensive brands and less warranty on the cheaper brands.

However, it certainly pays to be careful that you are getting exactly what you pay for.
A lot of Aussie sellers seem to think that selling Chinese stuff is a licence to print money.

FollowupID: 831653

Follow Up By: ian.g - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 18:42

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 18:42
I also have a Aldi 150 compressor that I paid $99.00 for, has been a excellent unit with no problems as opposed to the ARB one that I had before which I think was made by Thomas in the USA, this unit was useless and ARB refused to replace because I had won it in a Raffle run by our 4X4 club, it was a donation from ARB and I think they were quitting this particular model and I can see why, however my brother has a newer model ARB and in my opion its not a lot better than the one I had. Hairy if you want a cheep compressor buy one and if it fails buy another, you will still be better off in the long run
FollowupID: 831812

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 19:50

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 19:50
Cheers Ian.....Ill look into it.
FollowupID: 831817

Reply By: Jos - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:44

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 14:44
I noticed in an email from 4WD Action that they've got an offer on at the moment for the Tigerz11 Thumper compressor plus 13 issues of the magazine delivered for $129. You should be able to see this deal at magstore.com.au.

You should also be able to find the Thumper compressor on sale at the moment for about $120. The Thumper sale price at around the $120 mark is probably a better deal than the $190 I recently paid out for my Dr Air.

By the way, I haven't used a Tigerz Thumper, but reviews seem good.
AnswerID: 544489

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 15:13

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 15:13
Gday Jos,
I cant find that offer on magstore?
Any links or ideas?

FollowupID: 831655

Follow Up By: Jos - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 15:18

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 15:18
Here's a link - hope it works.

http://shop.magstore.com.au/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=WM440p

FollowupID: 831656

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 17:41

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 17:41
Yep......that worked, Cheers
FollowupID: 831674

Reply By: Member - Wide ranger - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 17:43

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 17:43
Get the engine driven one that is based on an air conditioning compressor .
You will only buy it once and be long dead before it is worn out .
just ensure it only gets to take in clean air .

AnswerID: 544500

Reply By: get outmore - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 19:08

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 19:08
I have a Projecta Typhoon
very fast and I wouldnt say i use it heaps but ive certainly used it as much as ive needed. had it at least 4 years i think

replacing the fuse with a maxi blade is a common mod and Ive done this

meh if it craps itself ive still got my original compressor a truck air which will slooooowly get me out of trouble
AnswerID: 544507

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 20:09

Sunday, Jan 18, 2015 at 20:09
I reckon thats what I got the daughters boyfriend for christmas a couple years ago. ?....Seems to be doing alright.
FollowupID: 831690

Reply By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 07:23

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 07:23
Does anyone remember the Spark Plug pump, (Haaa not for diesels) , My Dad had one in the 1960's , carried it in the Vanguard Spacemaster , take 1 spark out, screw the fitting in where the Spark plug was and start the engine, it worked a treat.

AnswerID: 544523

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 07:26

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 07:26
Just did a search for it.

Schrader spark plug tyre pump

FollowupID: 831732

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 08:21

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 08:21
Had one myself many moons ago. Simple and effective.
As you say though undoing the plug on a diesel sent you insane...
FollowupID: 831736

Follow Up By: Gramps - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 09:02

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 09:02
LOL, got one of those down the shed somewhere. Used it on trips in the 80s. Worked well.
FollowupID: 831738

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 10:18

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 10:18
Ive still got one.
FollowupID: 831745

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 10:29

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 10:29
Have you blokes still got your crank handles for your Model T? :)
FollowupID: 831746

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 11:32

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 11:32
Points file and feeler gauges?
Idle RPM and dwell meter?
Timing light?
Schrader tyre pump?

Yep, all in a box on a shelf in the shed, last used about 35 years ago :-)

Saving them up for the EO Antiques Road Show :-)

Back on topic, I have an Aldi single end 72 L/min compressor which has been used regularly for 7 years and is still going strong.

FollowupID: 831753

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 12:24

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 12:24
Aldii.......ok Ill check them out.

I had to go buy a timing light the othet day for the Suzuki. .......couldnt even find my old one. LOL

FollowupID: 831758

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 12:50

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 12:50
LOL good on you Alby. That reminds me the first 4wd I bought in 1988 was a 1975 4.2 ltr petrol shorty 40 it had provisions for a crank handle to be used which was the same handle you used for the jack but I never tried it to see if it would actually start has anyone ever tried that with this motor.
FollowupID: 831760

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 13:30

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 13:30
Batt's, when you mention Crank handles this You Tube came to mind, I drove past this Museum July 2013, I hope to visit it this time July 2015, I think one would need a week to see it all, anyhow I seen a bloke start a Tractor with the steering wheel , in this link at time 2:20 ,

Tractor

There's one at Gilgandra Museum that starts using a cartridge like a 12 Guage

FollowupID: 831769

Follow Up By: Batt's - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2015 at 00:40

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2015 at 00:40
That's excellent Doug thanks for the link a bit of lateral thinking goes a long way in some cases. Ops we've wandered of the original post of air compressors never mind I'm sure someone as nice as me will be forgiven lol.
FollowupID: 831846

Reply By: Ron N - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 11:26

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 11:26
Doug, I've still got a couple of the old spark plug tyre pumps.

They sure beat hand pumps in the old days - but you could boil the billy and have a brew, while you waited for the tyre to reach full pressure! LOL

A W.A. tyre-retreading bloke, by the name of Roy Menzel was the original inventor, and the Menzel air pump was the first of the spark plug tyre pumps.
Roy invented the spark plug tyre pump just before the start of WW2.
Here's an advert (below) from the West Australian newspaper, dated 4th September 1939.

Schrader bought a manufacturing licence off Roy and no doubt old Roy retired on a nice steady little income from Schrader royalties.

AnswerID: 544535

Follow Up By: Ron N - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 11:31

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 11:31
Let's try this link for the ad, this forum shrinks pics that it reckons are too big.

Menzel tyre pump ad - 1939
FollowupID: 831752

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 16:42

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 16:42
Hi Hairy

If you have not found one yet I saw this advert. Seemed like what you want.

No affiliations just thought you might like it.

Serendipity

AnswerID: 544560

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 19:47

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 19:47
Thanks mate.........do you know anyone whos tried one? Ill do a bit of a search on them.

FollowupID: 831815

Reply By: Ron N - Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 20:44

Monday, Jan 19, 2015 at 20:44
That's the exact same unit that I got, for $89!! - and they are still being sold under a dozen brand names at $89 on eBay!!
All that changes is the stickers, the colours and whether you get a case or a bag!

I don't reckon it puts out anything like 150L/min - and I don't know what size tyre they are using, that they reckon they can pump from 15psi to 32psi in a minute!

Mondis 12V air compressor - eBay

As I previously outlined, one of the plastic end caps that covers the air filter cracked as soon as I assembled it.
This is a bugger of an idea anyway, having the air filter virtually at ground level.
The ones with the air filter mounted on top of the head are a better setup.

Note the cheap little rubber plugs that hold the compressor to the base plate.
Some of the better versions have proper little rubber mountings with bolts and nuts in them, holding the compressor to the base plate.

AnswerID: 544586