bigger exhaust on turbo diesel

Submitted: Monday, Mar 08, 2004 at 13:31
ThreadID: 11094 Views:17902 Replies:9 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hello Everyone,

Im thinking about putting a new exhaust on my SD33T patrol - but I dont know how a turbo diesel goes with a bigger exhaust.

I know from experience with petrol turbos that a 3" exhaust generally sees about 2-3 psi increase in peak boost (give or take a bit) - of course the Air Flow Meter picks this up on a EFI car and corrects for it in fuel and (where applic) ignition maps.

So what happens with a diesel - do i need to get it re-timed for the extra 3psi of boost? or do I just run it a bit leaner and not worry? does it somehow compensate?? (i cant see how it would but then im no diesel expert). I just dont want to shorten the life of my engine by leaning it out (400k kms and still going strong).

Oh and are diesels any quieter/louder than a petrol? I am still debating whether to go 2.5 or 3" (thats if i go a bigger exhaust at all in the end). Anyone notice a big difference with a bigger exhaust?

Thanks!
Dave.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Monday, Mar 08, 2004 at 13:54

Monday, Mar 08, 2004 at 13:54
I have a 2.5 inch system on the MU and I don't think it has made a notable difference, a little louder and it has not increased the boast at all. I had it checked after winding out my waste gate. It is not a mendrel bent system though, but it is still pretty straight. MY system cost $180 I've seen the mandrel's costing $600 and more. Hope this is of some help.
Bruce
AnswerID: 49520

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Mar 08, 2004 at 14:36

Monday, Mar 08, 2004 at 14:36
Dave,