EGR horror!

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 05, 2015 at 11:42
ThreadID: 110999 Views:7157 Replies:9 FollowUps:8
This Thread has been Archived
Hey guys just thought I would share my experience of removing my intercooler (install a new one) on my 2011 2.5TD D22 Navara, and too my horror the black crap that was hiding in my intake actually scared me, now I am no mechanic and don't pretend to be but have basic knowledge from playing with my R32 skyline.
When I initially pulled the cooler off there was a light coating of black sludge around the piping which didn't surprise me too much but i thought id stick my finger in a see whats actually a bit deeper in the pipe and wish I didn't, but glad I did, very thick black sludge.
I had a block off plate that I bought a while ago and was tossing up whether to install it, there are a lot of contradicting stories and ended up just leaving it off.
But I can tell you know do not listen to what you read, go right now and remove your intake/check piping and if its the same as mine you will not believe your eyes. Now this could be an isolated instance but my car is relatively new, never missed a service and has 80,xxx kms, but have also heard of many people having the same issues.
Now I'm not telling you to do anything, but after what I just saw I will not think twice about installing my blocking plate.
Cheers

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: zimbo FOX - Thursday, Feb 05, 2015 at 11:43

Thursday, Feb 05, 2015 at 11:43
AnswerID: 545396

Follow Up By: cruza25 - Thursday, Feb 05, 2015 at 13:20

Thursday, Feb 05, 2015 at 13:20
Hi,
the oil is from the rocker cover vent , not the egr.

on a prado the experts recomend to fit a genuine (beware of the cheap chinese copies ) provent 200 catch can with filter . This takes out all the oil. The soot from the egr mixes in the intake manifold with the oil and eventualy blocks the air flow over time.

By filtering the oil out , the soot goes right through and gets burnt as per design.