1988 Jayco Jayswan

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 16:30
ThreadID: 111276 Views:2789 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
Just got home from buying 1988 Jayco Jayswan
Was winding it up and as it got to the top the front right strut collapsed and now won't wind up
Help me please I'm new with these thing
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - John - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 16:32

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 16:32
Maybe ring the place/person you bought it from, they maybe able to help you? Good luck.
John and Jan

Lifetime Member
My Profile  Send Message

AnswerID: 546734

Follow Up By: Sam S6 - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 16:34

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 16:34
Just tried to ring her funny not answering her phone - I just going to have sort it out myself
Going to ring caravan repair dude
FollowupID: 834503

Reply By: Member - John - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 16:36

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 16:36
Sam, as the say in the Toyota ads, Bugger.................................. Again good luck fixing the problem
John and Jan

Lifetime Member
My Profile  Send Message

AnswerID: 546735

Reply By: Keir & Marg - Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 17:11

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015 at 17:11
At the front of the van where the wind-up winch is, there is a large cable coming off the winch; the cable runs across the front of the van inside the front compartment. This cable is attached to a plate with four hooks on it. To each hook is attached a smaller cable. Each small cable runs through pulleys to each of the four corners of the van and lifts a strut. One of your cables has broken. If you bought the van from a dealer, then you should immediately take the van back and demand it is fixed, as the van is defective. If you bought from a private seller, caveat emptor!!!