More red Deserts

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 01:29
ThreadID: 11402 Views:1499 Replies:4 FollowUps:9

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 07:18

Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 07:18
truckster I had a look. Were do you reckon you can buy that drawer system for $330 from.
I have putchased a far few things from ebay and as with most thing that you are buying you must do some reserch.
gps saved $100
tv saved $40
satallite phone saved $1400
Batteries saved $ 20
laser pens 10 of saved $ 20 I use these for kids gifts
solar garden lights saved $24
priter ink cartridges saved $ $10
So if you do your research you can save.
Some things go for way to much but whos fault is that.

AnswerID: 51125

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 09:06

Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 09:06
Hi Eric
They are a copy of the "Outback" drawers, & were liquidated
(spelling) about 18 months ago for $330 with pick up at Lawerance & Hansen stores Aust wide. Brawn 4x4 had stacks of them & some people brought to sell of later. I got 2 sets & If you check "Outback" price
at $850 thats still a good price I think, someone also designed (home made about $50) a fridge slide for them.

PS 5 Hours to go & no buyers!!
FollowupID: 312881

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 09:48

Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 09:48
Bernie so If you had forsight you could have made money on them.
Where they a good unit did you see them are they still avalible for $ 330.
As per most things if coppied are they as good as the outback drawer units.
Boy there were some questions and thoughts in those sentances.

FollowupID: 312884

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 10:04

Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 10:04
Eric I chased Red Desert around for ages to no avail, it's been well over 12 months now. I finished getting a set through Brawn 4x4 they modified the base and anchor points to fit the GU. They shipped them up and I did the fitting. Good solid draws & perfect fit.
FollowupID: 312885

Follow Up By: Leroy - Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 10:08

Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 10:08
Cocka,
Is there much involved in modifying them for a GU?

Leroy
FollowupID: 312887

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 10:16

Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 10:16
cocka how much did you end up paying for the drawer system is the $ 850 still a good buy.
FollowupID: 312889

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 11:26

Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 11:26
Leroy mine came with the mods done + the bits that enabled correctt location. The modifications were all in the base frame and a few extra holes had been drilled, there were a couple of little bits welded in to extend the frame to suit existing bolt down points plus some spacers. The spacers sit the frame just above the level of the carpet and the unit bolts onto existing tie down points and seat belt attachments, the dickie seat belts are disabled. There is also a small side bracket each side that locks them in. When fitted they are absolutely snug against the back of the back seats and give the max draw width against the archs.
FollowupID: 312893

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 11:31

Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 11:31
that's a good price I think, depends if they are the real m'coy or are modified. Check with Brawn.

http://www.brawn4x4.com.au/
FollowupID: 312894

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 19:03

Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 19:03
Firstly, if anyone DOES by any sets of these, be careful, there were SOME sets MISSING PARTS. Mine was missing the bolt set, called up and they sent one that afternoon.. But some people missed out cause when they were all sold, 2 weeks later there was no answer on that company phone line.

Anyway, cut 3inches off both sides the fit straight in a GQ.

As Bernie said, they liquidated 3000 units in 2 weeks. I know several people who bought 10 sets or more which is amazing, they took up most of the back of a ute when new in boxes. So taking 10 sets .. would have been more than a car garage! If you saw how much room 1 set took up, you will understand what I mean!

They have been filtering thru Ebay, and Tradingpost ever since gaining upto $1400 PER SET!!! They were even on Ebay while still selling for $330!

One person bought 100+ units, they turned up on a few semi trailers and he had to arrange another site to store then at...
FollowupID: 312911

Reply By: Member Eric - Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 17:05

Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 17:05
Had a look at these draws a while ago , couldnt realy tell them apart from the real thing . I think major diffrence is that out back are custom fit for a model were the import ones are one size fits all .
AnswerID: 51171

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 19:05

Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 19:05
Trust me Bloke, for $330 they are the bargain of the Eon. Some still sell for $1400 on Ebay!
FollowupID: 312912

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 20:02

Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 20:02
Gday modern day explorers..
I had my name down for a set but didnt end up getting them...feel free to line up and kick me because a friend did and they were in my opinion excellent quality and fit. As you all have seen, they are worth whatever people are willing to pay, i kept my 330 because i had heard bad reports of things missing in the kit. Made my own in the end for less.
AnswerID: 51198

Reply By: Jarrod - Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 23:52

Saturday, Mar 20, 2004 at 23:52
A bloke at work bought these exact same draws on Ebay, for $700. He has an 80 series, and was gunna upgrade to a 100. He decided to keep his 80, and I bought the drawers off him for $700, we spent an arvo at work installing them, probably the best money on accesories i ever spent. One small problem, the whole system is supported on 4 bolts, and the rear support frame "arm" is welded onto the side of the "side arms" if this makes sense. Well after a few bone shaking thousand k's, the weld has cracked. - No major problem, just re welded, but have also added small wooden blocks under the supporting frame, to take the weight. The draws weigh a fair bit, + whatever is in the draws, + everything top of draws, so im not surprised the weld tore. But if you wanted my opinion on whether thier worth it - BUY BUY bUY !!!! - I can send photos of my draws in my standard 100 if anyone's interested.

Jarrod
AnswerID: 51221