Latest in the Cruiser Oil saga

Submitted: Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 20:50
ThreadID: 11471 Views:1609 Replies:6 FollowUps:15
G'day all,
Okay; dumped my oil on Saturday and chucked in 10 litres of Cruiser Oil. It's a funny colour....looks black at first, but on close inspection it's actually a dark purple colour. It seems quite thin when pouring.
My 2000 model GU 4.2 T/D has done 117,004 klm and has consumed a total of 18,284.89 litres of diesel during the past 3.5 years. That works out at 15.63litres per hundred klicks OR 6.40 klicks per litre. Bear in mind that I have slightly larger tyres than standard (265/75 R16 v 265/70R16 as standard) so my speedo is out by about 5%. Nevertheless the figures I'm working off are off the odometer, so that's what I'll continue to use.
I will post again in the future (about 4 months) to update y'all on whether my consumption has been affected.
Wish me luck.
BTW.....it's probably just the placebo effect, but I tend to feel the truck has a bit more get up and go under the right hand pedal. It seems to rev a little easier.......but as I said; maybe it's just wishful thinking???!!!???

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:20

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:20
Roachie,

Started to read "dumped my oil on Saturday..." and thought that you are going to need some cement powder.

The thin oil would make the motor rev easier.
How often are you going to change the oil? Have you also thought about sending the oil filter away after the next change to have it check out?
One more thing, do you have a oil prussure gauge that will show the oil pressure in psi.

AnswerID: 51475

Follow Up By: Roachie - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:28

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:28
G'day Wayne,
I do the oil and filters every 5000klm but wasn't going to worry about getting the filters checked. Do you know what that'd set me back? I'd probably have to send it off to Adelaide etc.
I don't have an oil gauge, but would like to get one. I've always been a bit concerned because as far as I know, they require a oil line to enter the cab to the gauge, which leaves the possibility of a split or some other catastrophe which could be expensive &/or embarrassing. Do you have one? Standard or aftermarket?
Look forward to any further advice.
FollowupID: 313198

Follow Up By: Goran - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:42

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:42
Just run electric oil pressure gauge. Install sender unit where yout low oil light one is and wire it to VDO in cab unit. Easy.
FollowupID: 313210

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:44

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:44
Roachie,
I got a second-hand sender and a guage from a GQ, not the best choice considering the reliability of said unit so I've ditched that now and I'm going to fit a VDO one I have in my workshop, same deal it's electronic so the burst pipe syndrome doesn't come into play. The pipe into the cab deal is fraught with danger especially when it drips on the brake pedal.
Keep the shiny side up

FollowupID: 313211

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:47

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:47
Roachie,

I was hoping you had a oil gauge. A small oil line has to enter the cabin, but what I have seen they are a thick wall , very much like the air line they use on the air lockers. Age would be the biggest factor in the oil line splitting and by that time you would have your self a Cruise.

I will do some more asking around, but I think Castrol will do it for free.

FollowupID: 313213

Follow Up By: Roachie - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:54

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:54
Thanks blokes,
I will investigate the electronic version.
FollowupID: 313215

Reply By: Pesty - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:25

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:25
Roachie when you said it seems to have more get up and go you must have been dreaming again about driving a toyota!!!!!
AnswerID: 51478

Follow Up By: Roachie - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:31

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:31
Pesty,
No worries, mate....I'll save a few of my under-bonnet neddies so that I can snatch your old 60 out of the sand at Coffin Bay at Easter.....LOL
PS: Give us a call on the HF if you need me to come up and drag you out of the Warburton next week.
FollowupID: 313200

Follow Up By: Pesty - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:42

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:42
No worries mate if i need assistance i will be in Ruth country and i am sure a toyota could be found to assist and if by some stroke of genius a nissan did assist a toyota i wouldnt admit it to you.
FollowupID: 313209

Follow Up By: Roachie - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:53

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:53
Pesty,
You seem to forget that only Nissan is game to add a recovery point to the back of their trucks (GU) because they know there are millions of Tojo's that need recovering. Mr Toyota hasn't put one on the back of the cruiser because he knows they couldn't pull the skin off a rice pud.....But Mr Toyo WAS smart enough to add 2 recovery eyes to the front of the 80 series for the Patrol's to hook on to.

FollowupID: 313214

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 22:30

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 22:30
In other words the Cruiser have two recovery points on the front and Nissan one the back. That is so the Cruiser can pull two Nissans off the track at one time. This saves a lot of time when trying to get past a convey of stuck Nissans.

I hope I don't have to regret what I have just said.

FollowupID: 313228

Follow Up By: Roachie - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 22:40

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 22:40
Onya Wayne.........I'd like to see that......LOLOLOL
FollowupID: 313236

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 23:08

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 23:08
And there was me thinking that my old juice guzzler was doing bad at 5 klicks per litre....... not much point in upgrading, eh?
AnswerID: 51505

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 00:00

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 00:00
Hmmm , that's what this bus does....
FollowupID: 313247

Reply By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 00:01

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 00:01
Do you mean that the new oil was a dark purple colour? .. or are you talking about the old stuff?
AnswerID: 51511

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 08:25

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 08:25
Royce,

The way I read it is that he is using the purple oil for the first time and has "dumped" the normal??? black oil

FollowupID: 313264

Follow Up By: Roachie - Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 09:20

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 09:20
Royce & Wayne,

Sorry if I've been a bit confusing.....the new Cruiser Oil is a dark purple colour as I poured it from the container.....the old oil is, as always, as black as a .......................(you fill in the rest; I tried to put something in there that would make sense and wouldn't offend anybody, but gave up after about 5 different attempts. Ah you gotta love this political correctness shyte).
FollowupID: 313276

Reply By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 13:31

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 13:31
Okay, so what brand is the purple stuff? Is it supposed to have some different properties?
AnswerID: 51568

Follow Up By: Roachie - Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 14:06

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 14:06
G'day Royce,
You may have missed all the bullshyte a few weeks ago about this stuff. It's a Queensland made oil product. Company name is SYNFORCE and the particular oil in this case is called "CRUISER OIL" (but it's not just for landcruisers).
The controversy stems mainly from the company's claim that using this oil can increase power/torque at the wheels by up to 30% as well as giving you improved fuel economy.
Have a go at a search and read all about it. There are some definite knockers who were not backwards about putting their views forward.
I am prepared to give almost anything a go (maybe I'm gullible). This stuff is fairly expensive with freight added on, so that's why I've undertaken to give the forum my own experiences in due course.
FollowupID: 313301

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 14:46

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 14:46
So, Roachie,
Did ya give the 'trol a run on a dyno 'fore ya dropped the old oil?? & will you be doing same with the um, "good oil"??
(best / easiest way to check before & after power/ torque figures, I would have thought)...
Must say I'm rather sceptical about their claims (re power/torque increase), but hats off to you for giving it a go... I'll be very interested in your findings, particularly with regard to hot/cold oil pressures (throughout the rev. range), & time taken to get pressure up (cold start) ...

BTW, what oil had you been using to date??
I'm on Castrol GTX (formerly GTD) Diesel...

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 51579

Follow Up By: Roachie - Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 15:22

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 15:22
G'day Ed.C>
No mate; no fancy dyno's around this part of the state. I did go to Adelaide about 6 months ago and got HiTech Diesel to do a full tune up etc and that included a dyno check. I've kept the records but will have to find them in my "filing system". The bloke was probably just trying to make me feel better as melted my credit card down in his eftpos machine; but he reckoned mine was the "best Patrol he'd ever had on the dyno"....(I thought to myself.....bet he says that to ALL the boys!!!!).
Up til now I've been using Valvoline XLD or Shell Helix etc. However, I did go through a phase for a long time when I was paying about $60- for 10 litres of Penzoil. That was a couple of years ago when it was new and up until it'd done about 60,000klm.
I am wondering if I should just give away the idea of fitting a oil pressure gauge as it'll only give me another bloody thing to worry about. At the moment, I don't know whether I have any oil pressure or not, & I couldn't give a monkeys!!!

FollowupID: 313310