Toyota Men........ Nissan Boys

Submitted: Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 19:51
ThreadID: 11581 Views:2617 Replies:18 FollowUps:32
This thread is to separate the Men from the Boys

I have been in the market for a newer 4by for some months now and have canvassed heaps of opinions here on the forum and have received lots of advice.

This week I looked at 2 x 60 Series and 1x 80 Series Toyota Wagons as well as 3x Nissan GQ Wagons. These vehicles were for sale privately and in dealerships. They were also pretty standard except for one Toyota which had a LR tank and aftermarket suspension. I have come to the conclusion that the Toyotas are Men and that Nissans are Boys on account that the Nissans would all require a body lift and larger diameter wheels to make them in to capable 4wd’s whereas the Toyotas come ready made and sit much higher and seem to have better under body clearance.

Looks like I am heading for a diesel Troopy although I wouldn’t mind one with a coil suspension.

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:00

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:00
Get the 60s .

AnswerID: 52114

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 08:36

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 08:36
Eric,

The 60 I have looked at has a twin battery set-up either side of the radiator. Are these run in parallel? I remember some years ago an acquaintance having overheating (of batteries) problems as there is restricted ventilation at the front. This was in Darwin in the heat of things. This truck also has a LR tank which could hold about 150-160 litres.....any comments? If I do get a 60 I will be running splits again and possibly with 8ply or 10ply tyres.

FollowupID: 313996

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 08:50

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 08:50
Forgot to ask.....What kind if fuel consumption can I expect from the HJ60?
FollowupID: 313998

Follow Up By: Pesty - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 09:05

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 09:05
Willem, I get between 6 and 7 kms per litre out of mine on highway travelling, better if I pull the foot off. New motor 75,000 kms ago and permanent roof rack.

Cheers Steve
FollowupID: 314000

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 09:12

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 09:12
Thanks Steve......I should then get a better consumption as I tend to not push it

FollowupID: 314001

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 07:15

Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 07:15
Willem I have not had any problems with the duel bat set up or the batteries over heating. I got the auto elec to set the batteries up and that was 3 years ago.
The bigger tank sits were the spare sat and now you have a rear wheel carrier .
Just make sure its a good carrier as there were some cheap home stlye ones that fell apart.
The splits are they the nice chrome ones I personly dont like splits but that is another story and my opinion only.
As per fuel I use on a trip with 4wd and highway with a load. 14lts per 100 thats deisel.
My 1983 60 has done about 400,000 and my 1985 after market turbo has done 185,000.

FollowupID: 314050

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 07:24

Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 07:24
Willem just another thought most people who owned a 60 always say they wished they never got rid of it.
As I call them mobile history.
The rust in them above wheel arches back lower gards around roof line thats the one to look for its a bugger to fix .

FollowupID: 314051

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 07:26

Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 07:26
Another is legends of the bush.
FollowupID: 314052

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 10:43

Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 10:43
Thanks for the info, Eric,

FollowupID: 314063

Reply By: John - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:18

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:18
Hi Willem
Jeez you know how to start a punch up on this forum don't you.
(Toyota V Nissan)

What happened to that reply on another thread to me the other day about going for the Nissan, when I said that somebody else had said you should buy a Troopy.
You have certainly confused me ?????????????????????

Buy a 78 series then you get your coil suspension. On the front anyway.
You might have no money left to put any diesel in it but hell you can't have everything. LOL.

AnswerID: 52117

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:34

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:34
Hi John,

I need to keep people confused :-)))

78 Series..Good Grief..I am but a lowly pensioner squirrling away some pennies here and some farthings there. But you never know..my ship might come in....I really have to find a rugged vehicle that can put up with hard trips into hard country.
FollowupID: 313954

Follow Up By: John - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:47

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:47
Yeah mate still wonder about that ship. Wink Wink. LOL.

FollowupID: 313956

Reply By: Member - Phil F (WA) - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:36

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:36
I have a 100 series cruiser and have never looked back...got into a nissan the other day and started suffering from clostaphobia ..he he ...Each to there own of cousre...The nissan just seems smaller inside to me and did'nt like the way the dash was set up and felt cluttered....felt like there was no room to move around...and it just did'nt appeal to me...hope i have not upset anyone...

Preference is go for the Toyota ...I still thing you started something here Willem....he he

Cheers mate....

AnswerID: 52121

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:36

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:36
Willem,
You have seen the light.
From what you have said in the past you have had Toyotas before so it will not be a big shock.
Paint it orange and no one will know the difference.
Even Tom Kruse changed his truck a few times.
AnswerID: 52122

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 23:09

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 23:09
Wayne,

Yeah I had a Bundera..now there was a dog!. Later I went back a few years and bought the very last edition of the FJ55. Bought it with 300,000 on the clock and it passed away at 550,000 mainly due to rust and electrical problems. My old G60 Nissan is also a bulletproof truck and is a specially imported Heavy Duty model. It has 479,000 on the clock and still goes well. But I am getting soft and need power steering and aircond. Found an '89 Tojo 60 ($9000)during the week with the old 2H, 260,000 on the clock, Large LR tank and spare wheel carrier. No rust and aftermarket suspension. The current owner is still deliberating whether to sell. He also has an '81 60 series 2H($2000) which is a bit buggered but can use it for spare parts. Still looking. Should know where I am at by the end of April.
FollowupID: 313974

Reply By: D-Jack - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:42

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:42
Get a TD Jackaroo - more power and torque than a standard troopie diesel, a lot lighter and has coils on the rear. Don't discount Holden from the heavyweights - I saw a video recently which was toyota vs nissan vs holden in the desert - Jack came through with flying colours! I know you will not take my advice but I got to blow my trumpet now and then!
AnswerID: 52124

Reply By: Pesty - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:47

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:47
It takes a while but people with poor mans toyota's (nissans) finally wake up as you only get what you pay for. Have you looked at the current influx of 61 series toyota's being imported from Japan as they are excellent value for money with most being turbo deisels and low milage. Mate has on vx sahara, new susp, PTO winch, 140k, alloy wheels, and all the regular trimmings,around 12 grand give or take a little. I have fitted coil springs to the back of mine, from a company in wilaston, and SWMBO said without prompting "It rides like a limo" They do suprise us sometimes.

Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 52127

Follow Up By: Roachie - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 21:59

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 21:59
Hey Pesty,
Your just feeling off colour cos you had a ride in a "proper" 4x4 at lunchtime today!!!! LOL
FollowupID: 313964

Follow Up By: Pesty - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 23:49

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 23:49
Yeh roachie, pushed to its limits 2kms down the black top then a rest and then back again, yeh real impressed!!! LOL
FollowupID: 313983

Reply By: ToyMotor - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:54

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 20:54
As a proud 78 series Troopy owner, and a former 60 series owner, I'd say.... get a 60! The last bulletproof Toyota, I still miss mine. Just check for rust around the roof. I still reckon the 2H motor is one of the best around, no namby-pamby timing chains or belts to worry about, an inline injector pump that lasts pretty well forever, I could go on.... but I will spare you!

Have fun picking one out!!

ps Too true about the Nissans ;-)
AnswerID: 52132

Reply By: Janset - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 22:14

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 22:14
Just a little more cement to help the set.

If a Toyota breaks a rear axle, you can just remove it, seal off the hole in the axle housing so you do not loose all the oil, remove rear prop shaft and drive home on the front axle after selecting 4WD.

Break a rear axle on a Nissan and you have to go out a rob a bank to pay for the tow home (unless you have their super duper road side cover......Does that apply to 4WD's stuck on top of 'Big Red' ?

AnswerID: 52146

Follow Up By: Davoe - Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 15:07

Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 15:07
Why so much hard work? you can still drive them with the rear tail shaft in!
FollowupID: 314195

Reply By: Member - Ray - Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 23:52

Friday, Mar 26, 2004 at 23:52
YOU BAG ME! I'LL BAG YOU.
Happens all the time so buy what YOU are comfortable with and the best of luck in your choice.I am more than happy with my patrol but who am I to say the tojo is no good.

Definition of an expert.
EX equals the unknown factor.
SPURT equals a drip under pressure.

I rest my case.
AnswerID: 52161

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 00:16

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 00:16
The case you are resting is a sad case

It is only an observation with a bit of humour thrown in.

I too drive a Nissan
FollowupID: 313987

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 01:21

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 01:21
Masochist
AnswerID: 52169

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 08:44

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 08:44
Now, now cobber....none of that !!! lol
FollowupID: 313997

Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 09:19

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 09:19
Good luck finding the best you can within your budget whatever it is. I won't add my bias just see photo (he; he)
AnswerID: 52178

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 11:41

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 11:41
What about an exploder willem the're comfy and roomy got all the mod con's traction control, ABS, air con ,CD + much more, you can't limit yourself to just 2 make's lol.

ps, has'nt exploded yet.
FollowupID: 314007

Reply By: Mad Dog Morgan (Victoria) - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 17:28

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 17:28
onya Willy, go the Troopy mate, anything else and ya just pretending. I'll be joining you when the tyres on the Rodeo are worn out.
AnswerID: 52203

Reply By: Jen & Geoff - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 20:56

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 20:56
Willem, Go for a Mav, you could buy 3 Mavs to one old man Toyota. The old man is more expensive in medical repairs. No comparison, Don't go for Toyota or Nissan go straight for a Ford Maverick. We had a Mav from new, traded it in on a new Nissan. Geoff was very sad fora couple of years until he sold the Nissan and bought another second hand Mav. We know you are going to say the Maverick is a Nissan, but.................................but we reckon that Ford put the pressure on Nissan and more effort went into this 4by. They are a great beast!!! You could run a Mav on your jam, less fuel than a Toyota.;>) Jen
AnswerID: 52217

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 21:07

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 21:07
Sorry Jen....I have a mental block when it comes with a FORD badge...even though it is a Nissan. Have had quite a few Ford products over the years. 50' and 60's ones were Ok but after that I had nothing but grief, my last four Fords being disasters....never again!
FollowupID: 314027

Follow Up By: Jen & Geoff - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 21:34

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 21:34
Truly Willem, that is so sad you have bad dreams. We have had such a good run with not a problem, or a minor problem that Geoff cannot fix. But I understand, if you have had a bad experience with some names etc. you tend to steer away. I did that when we named our kids, one feral kid to a great name, wasn't fit for our newborn. Willie's not bad though, I am about to get new bull, how do you think he will rate with a name such as that??:>))) Jen
FollowupID: 314029

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 21:56

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 21:56
I don't have bad dreams...just hassles with products performing badly

"But I understand, if you have had a bad experience with some names etc. you tend to steer away. I did that when we named our kids, one feral kid to a great name, wasn't fit for our newborn. Willie's not bad though, I am about to get new bull, how do you think he will rate with a name such as that?? ".............

What are you on about Jen...or what are you on? :-)
FollowupID: 314033

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 22:07

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 22:07
OOOOK !! I want what ever it is.
FollowupID: 314034

Follow Up By: Jen & Geoff - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 22:18

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 22:18
Willem, Names, what's in a name. Didn't you see the Nightmare Nissan v Toyota Ad??? I ain't on nothing, only drinking out of the happy tank and not the whinging one. See, even our water tanks have names:>) What I should have said up top was "we have only had minor problems that Geoff CAN fix" . I will say no more, Jen
FollowupID: 314035

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 22:22

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 22:22
Sorry, ignore my last comment, it was a bad dream. I think.#&*#!#^*$

FollowupID: 314037

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 22:52

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 22:52
I'm with you Jen. Buy a Maverick. If you want any sort of comfort it's got to be coil sprung & at 2 to 3 grand less it's cheaper than a GQ but really the same truck. I think it's the DX model that has the split rims & 7.50/16 tyres that you're after.
More people upgrade Nissans than 'Toys' for winching challenges because they're strong & reliable and who's won more offroad championchips in the past 20 years. Nissan.
Butttttttt, if you want a quieter, smoother easier to drive car you can't go past an 80. All you need to do is find a few more penny's to pay for the inflated name.
Anyway Willem when did the troopy come into the picture? It's a totallly different class of truck that Nissan don't even build. Maybe then you should look at a Landrover esspecially if you have a goaty beard & a silly hat.
Good luck on your choice, Craig.....................
FollowupID: 314039

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 23:23

Saturday, Mar 27, 2004 at 23:23
Where are we going with this?

Jen......I didn't understand what you wrote and still don't.TV ads?Do watch and therefor don't see. We only have 2 channels ABC and Central. Names...yes I give everything names as well. The orange Nissan is Rosie, The Valiant is Old Girl' and the Commodore Wagon is Nick(short for nicks and scratches). Didn't mean to come across nasty with you..that I reserve for others..hahahahaha

Crackles...... I am going to do some remote travel over the next few years and I need a diesel 4by. I am only looking at Nissan or Toyota. I would like to have a vehicle with a coil suspension but I have a limited budget. The Troopcarrier is only an option if it has dual fuel tanks. Toyota parts are more readily available in remote areas so that is a plus for the make. I want to buy a vehicle that I do not have to spend another $2-$3000 on to make it bush-worthy. I am not saying that Nissans are't but they tend to sit too low and invariably if I bought one I would have to do some work on it. Had a few Landrovers in the past but mainly oldies. They were good but not great. And YES I do have a scruffy beard and wear a leather hat........true

Baz....Go back to sleep
FollowupID: 314042

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 00:04

Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 00:04
"on account that the Nissans would all require a body lift and larger diameter wheels to make them in to capable 4wd’s"

you been to diamonds on the piss or something?
AnswerID: 52234

Follow Up By: Mad Dog Morgan (Victoria) - Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 01:12

Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 01:12
haha..I dunno but the whole thread cracks me up, better than Stich and Stretch..hahaha. Maybe you guys should join me at the NFI 4X4 club
FollowupID: 314044

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 10:42

Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 10:42
Truckster...Then why all the mods to your vehicle or is it just for "Show"?
Sorry Diamond is MIA

Ray...I can imagine what NFI stand s for :-)))
FollowupID: 314062

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 20:34

Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 20:34
Willem,
When my truck was stock with just AT's on I did 4 weekends in a row up the high country, and also Toolangi, and Menai in SYdney.. NEver had a problem.

The mods on my truck make it MORE capable. Just like your truck, is that stock? didnt think so...

A troopy? Narrow wheel track, nice and tippy.. go for it..
FollowupID: 314116

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 20:50

Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 20:50
Truckster,

My truck is stock standard apart from a LR tank

But if you never had a problem, why the mods? You obviosly thought that a stock standard GQ could do with modification by lifting. That is my point of this thread. The GQ does have a wider wheel track which is good.

Anyway the jury isn't out yet on what I will get. Need a capable diesel truck for remote travel. My truck is capable but where I want to go I need to carry a lot of petrol and that commodity is not always available.

FollowupID: 314118

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 20:55

Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 20:55
Your truck is stock? No mods what so ever, no spotty, no radios, no laptop mount, GPS, other interior mods etc etc??

Why does anyone modify their car?bleepeven Ray is lifting/lifted his Rodeo...

1) Personalise it
2) So I can go places stock cars can't go.
3) Less chance of damage on rocks by being higher.
4) Cause I can

I don't like firetrails could do that in a 1927 Ford Tutor... I like to do some more serious tracks, like Rankins, areas of Toolangi, The Steps, and Vic Range, etc. and some tracks that NO stock truck would stand a chance of doing.

Its the challenge of making it thru that makes it fun, suppose its almost like when I did enduros and trials, its like a challenge to me.

Same reason you modded yours, you modded it to go touring.
FollowupID: 314283

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 21:12

Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 21:12
I thought this thread was dead.

You are missing the point and making an issue out of something else.

Twice in this post I have stated that the run of the mill Nissan is too low for my liking and will have to be modified to raise the body and the diff clearance. Whereas the Toyota products sit much higher off the ground. Thats all. It is just an opinion.

Interior mods have nothing to do with the post.

I was talking about suspensions and my G60 has a stock standard one with resprung rear leaves and new front leaves.

So lets give it a rest ,eh. I am not critisiizing your vehicle or what you have done to it just the fact that suspension mods have to be done to stock standard GQ's if you want to go in to the rough stuff..

FollowupID: 314284

Reply By: ianmc - Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 23:41

Sunday, Mar 28, 2004 at 23:41
T.T.H. & N. Stands for Toyota Troopie Topheavy & Narrow!

This was exemplied a few years back in a mountain trek with numerous other makes & the tail end charlie was a troopie loaded with a bit of camping gear & people. When we all got to the top of a hill which was considered fairly easy going the troopie was missing,
After waiting for say 15 minutes & about to send out a search party it appeard on the scene.
Seems when it went around corners on smoothish gravelled dirt & dry the inside rear wheel kept losiing traction & they had to have a number of attempts to do a few corners which others fouind easy.
Effect I think of top heavyiness , stiff springs & narrow track.
AnswerID: 52351

Reply By: Davoe - Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 15:11

Monday, Mar 29, 2004 at 15:11
Check the 2h for a cracked head as they will do it especially if they have been overheated- almost bulletproof. Driving a 10k 60 down a tight track would be much more fun than bullocking a barge arse 50k 100 series---- ouch!
AnswerID: 52414

Reply By: Troopie - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 12:27

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 12:27
G'day Willem
If you were after a good 78S Troopie - I have a good one for sale right now (2000). It also includes many of the extras you seem to have indicated an interest in. Then again - from some of your other comments I may be out of your range....

Anyhow - check out my add in the trader section. Search for 4wd in the ACT - I think I'm the only listing in there at the moment.

AnswerID: 52547

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 19:51

Tuesday, Mar 30, 2004 at 19:51
Thanks Troopie....A bit out of my reach though.
FollowupID: 314405

Reply By: toymn8r - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 18:31

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 18:31
Willem

You sure got some bights.
If you are still looking for a troopy I have a 75 series for sale, dual tanks, steel bar,HD suspension very low ks. If you are interested you can contact me on this forum. I just posted a question re trailblaza fridges. Post reply there if interested.

Bart
AnswerID: 52856