4x4 LEVY

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 08:38
ThreadID: 11722 Views:1898 Replies:17 FollowUps:20
4x4 LEVY

I could not believe my eyes this morning when I collected my mail from my post office box. As I was expecting my new rego papers to come in I was not disappointed as they were there along with other mail and the usual supply of junk mail.

Looking at my papers to see to what degree the rego on my old truck had gone up by I saw that this time there was an attachment to the papers. Boldly printed at the top of the page is FOUR WHEEL DRIVE LEVY.

Our Government, in their wisdom, have introduced a bill into the Parliament, to collect in the form of a levy, a further $50 per year, from the owners of four wheel drive vehicles. This levy will apply to ALL Residents of South Australia and ALL Travellers passing through this State whether on holiday or just in transit. Exemptions do apply to In Transit 4x4’s but a Statutory Declaration has to be made by the driver or owner of the vehicle to state that. Four Wheel Drives registered with Government Licence Plates are also to be exempt.

The levy will be collected by Service Stations or Fuel Outlets if they notice that your vehicle is not displaying a window sticker with the relevant year stamped on it. As an incentive to facilitate this new ‘IMPOST’, the government is offering the collectors of the levy a 10% discount to collect the levy. In other words when you go to fuel up, the servo will be getting a once off $5 extra from you every year. Imagine how much money they are going to make!

The letter goes on to explain that due to the incredibly high number( according to them) of four wheel drive vehicles using the State roads on a regular basis and during peak holiday seasons, our outback bitumen roads as well as dirt roads and tracks are suffering enormous damage and the upkeep on them has risen by 200%. An example given is the new Orroroo to Hawker road in the Flinders Ranges where the bitumen is now breaking up despite the fact that Road Construction Company who built the road, having received an Engineering Best Practice Award from their peers for the quality of construction in 2003. The data on four wheel drives had been collected in the 2002/2003 financial year by those Vehicle Counter wires which are placed across the road and by a team of government employees who sit on the side of the roads counting vehicles and making notes. They have stated that the Orroroo-Hawker road had been used by 326,014 four wheel drive vehicles during the time of the survey.

The letter waffles on about other things as usual but at least there is body to which comments or representations can be made. Don’t know if this will help as the government states that it wishes enact the legislation by 1 July 2004.

You may write to The Chairperson, Four Wheel Drive Transport Levy Committee, G.P.O.Box X03, Adelaide, 5000, South Australia or ring Freecall 1800 846 980. But you have to be quick as no submissions will be entertained after 1 May 2004. I rang the number but got put in to a queue listening to inane music and every short while a voice would say “Your call is important to us………etc”. I gave up after ten minutes. Will try again later.

My rego is already $550 per year. I don’t know if I can afford another $50 on top of it. But then again it is only just under a dollar per week extra. Nothing is mentioned of the thousands of semi's, B doubles and Road Trains which ply our outback roads. Maybe we are just a soft target ready for milking.

Reply By: Member - Eskimo - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 08:59

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 08:59
Crap!!
its the 1st today willem!
AnswerID: 52755

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 19:32

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 19:32
Some times Richard you do show intelligence
FollowupID: 314649

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 07:45

Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 07:45
Gee!!! Thanks Willem!
FollowupID: 314689

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 09:01

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 09:01
how long were you up thinking up that one Willie....ahahhahahahaha
AnswerID: 52756

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 19:26

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 19:26
I woke up at 1.45am after going to bed early. Was a hard dayb yesterday setting up the the exhibition and today has been even harder but a long hot bath and a couple of bottles of red has soothed things...but I digress.....so I thought what can I do for April Fools Day?

No, it did not catch many beacuse youse are too smart but it was fun. I had a good giggle reading all the replies.
FollowupID: 314644

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 19:30

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 19:30
I initially thought..geez is that for real..then I thought, what's he doing going to his PO box that early...then I rememberd the date...ahhahaha
FollowupID: 314647

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 19:34

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 19:34
I was going to say that I was taking Jeddah for a walk but then I thought that too many people knew that I have difficulty witrh walking....hehehehe
FollowupID: 314651

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 19:40

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 19:40
you could have walked her for physical therapy
FollowupID: 314653

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 09:02

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 09:02
Hmm ' your call could not be connected' - nice try buddy.....
AnswerID: 52757

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 09:03

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 09:03
its true!
got mine also and hell i am really shiety about this!!!
AnswerID: 52758

Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 09:05

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 09:05
Hi willem,
Its a sad state of affairs knowing that we (the public) will all arc up after reading what you just noted here. But unfortunately, reality is, that's as far as we go. I cant remember the last time a group actually got together to protest something like this. To be honest, I cant see it happening again.
I remember way back in the 70's when the truckies blocked the main hwy's. It was the last time they ever did stand united, but they sure got what they wanted.
I have always agreed with unions when it came to reasonable protests, have been a member of the TWU for god knows how long. But sometimes they too seem to think they are god.
On this occasion i believe it can be stopped before it spreads into all other states. But it will take alot of organising and support, and that i'm affraid is where it all falls apart...no support when needed by us..the end users.
Just my opinion guys....but if something positive is organised with numbers backing it....count me in.
Regards angelo
AnswerID: 52759

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 09:29

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 09:29
About time the rego in S.A became as dear as hear in N.S.W.

FollowupID: 314583

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 20:07

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 20:07
Some of us are very pleased we do not live in NSW
FollowupID: 314655

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 21:03

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 21:03
Hey Willem,

If you are retired and getting an age pension in NSW then your rego is FREE! One per person. My parents even got a refund backdated to the date the pension started (took Centrelink 8 months to sort it out).

And that is no fools day joke either!!!!!

I'd like to see Mr Foley allow THAT one here in SA.

Steven
FollowupID: 314664

Reply By: Topcat (WA) - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 09:48

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 09:48
I wonder how much Telstra will make on the phone enquiries!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Good one Willem. Have a good trip to Adelaide & hope your teeth don't hurt too much.
AnswerID: 52762

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 19:30

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 19:30
Thanks mate...teeth are a bugger!
FollowupID: 314648

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 07:47

Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 07:47
its just clicked...how come you got your own teeth at your age hehehe
FollowupID: 314690

Reply By: Paul's lot - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 10:49

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 10:49
Maybe the gov. in S.A. figures that if its residents are silly enough to try and con everyone with such rubbish on April Fools day the they are probably silly enough to pay a levy such as that.

Just kidding!!
AnswerID: 52777

Reply By: Pesty - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 11:29

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 11:29
Looks like you got one cokeadict!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 52786

Follow Up By: Pesty - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 11:49

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 11:49
Sorry, post directed at willem, ( looks like you got one, cokeadict!!!!!)
FollowupID: 314603

Reply By: tim - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 11:57

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 11:57
Looks like no stopping in Sth Aus anymore.
Can only be a good thing hahahahaha
AnswerID: 52791

Reply By: Big Trev - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 12:00

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 12:00
Don't laugh. Don't you remember the days when Jeff (the hair) Kennet hit us Victorians with a $50 levy to go to maintaing the State Reserves. Payable with our Rego.
AnswerID: 52792

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 13:16

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 13:16
gotta get up earlier than that to catch us here Willem!!
AnswerID: 52801

Reply By: Bazza - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 13:46

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 13:46
G'Day Willem,
** Excellent!! ** ( if you use the right bait ... you'll catch fish! )
I wonder why the regulars havent responded yet ... maybe their still checking out your info?
LOL,
Bazza.
AnswerID: 52805

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 11:23

Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 11:23
Bazza, being one of the regulars, I hadn't responded as I've been too busy to check the forum out for a couple of days.
We would have seen through Willie anyway.
FollowupID: 314710

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 14:55

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 14:55
Beliveve it or not but the 4wd association of Vic is all FOR THIS LEVY!!!

Even our club, the sheep they are, are dumb enough to be agreeing with it since the association "GOD OF ALL PEOPLE" to them, are saying we should do it... doesnt help when pres and vice pres are association reps...
AnswerID: 52818

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 21:48

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 21:48
The 4x4 association are all for it because last time they were paid quite a few thousand $ out of the kitty which helped immensly with the huge financial costs they had and kept our association fees down. This money was fairly well spent and went along way to saving track closures in the high country. Many tracks were repaired, sign posts and toilets were installed. The money was mainly spent in the bush and didn't go into consolidated revenue. At $40 you could even say it was good value.
If our association aren't well funded we risk being over run by the greens. & what's $40 today? Not even 1/2 a tank of fuel.
Unfortunatly we have to pay to keep our tracks open. Craig.......
FollowupID: 314667

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 23:44

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 23:44
"Unfortunatly we have to pay to keep our tracks open."

Horsebleep.. You dont already pay Tax thru the ass?? I pay enough tax thanks to do my bit, if the Gov cant manage it thats not my problem, but Im against it..

then there will be a $40 walking levy if you get out of the car, then a $40 levy to use your winch.. then...

WHERE DOES TAXING THE WORKER STOP? cause all the levy is IS another Tax.
FollowupID: 314682

Reply By: Davoe - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 16:43

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 16:43
Thank goodness I live in Kalgoorlie, being a mining town and surrounded by 100s of ks of remote bushland the anti 4wd losers dont get a look in..................yet!
AnswerID: 52831

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 17:16

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 17:16
well done willem
AnswerID: 52840

Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 17:24

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 17:24
Only got 1 willem, The 4bys passing thru blew it for you.
AnswerID: 52843

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 19:00

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 19:00
Bob and Lex,

Win some lose some. Was a good story though?
FollowupID: 314638

Reply By: Diesel Do - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 18:46

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 18:46
Willem,
Just stop whinging and pay up. This levy is entirely justified. Based on the stated figures there have been at least two 4wd per minute passing over the Oororoo to Hawker road every minute of every day for the 1 year duration of the survey.

Given that this is a relatively minor road, and must be fed from other main roads throughout the state I guestimate that there must have been more than 5 million 4wd travelling around on SA roads 24 hours per day for that whole year. I didn't personally notice them - but I've got to sleep sometime. Buggers must have waited till the lights went out at my place.

No wonder the roads are going to crap.

Bloody 4wd!

regards,
AnswerID: 52860

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 20:40

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 20:40
Mrs Palm and her five daughters must have a special attraction for you.:-)

FollowupID: 314659

Follow Up By: Diesel Do - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 21:53

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 21:53
Not nice Willem.

A quick check reveals that your namesake "Willem III Prince of Orange" married his cousin and had at least two male lovers.

Personal stuff doesn't seem to fit with the intended humour of this thread does it?

;-)

regards,
FollowupID: 314668

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 23:45

Thursday, Apr 01, 2004 at 23:45
The levy is NOT justified in ANYWAY.

You already PAY tax... Dont you?
FollowupID: 314683

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 15:06

Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 15:06
Diesel Do,

Yes personal stuff distracts from humour intended or unintended. Unfortunately I react to most smart comments...some I leave alone. I can't equate your Diesel screen name with anything. But what is wrong with marrying your cousin and having male lovers? I won't go in to that on this forum but judging fro0m what we a dished up daily in the media it is A OK.

FollowupID: 314726