Advice for loading roofrack?

Submitted: Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 19:17
ThreadID: 11772 Views:1885 Replies:11 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hi there, heading off at Easter with the whole gang, hence the new ARB roofrack, I have never used one of these before, it says it is rated for 150kgs, all the gear I plan to put on rack comes in at 140kgs, any advice, tips on stowing and how driving is affected would be greatly appreciated.

Have a safe Easter all.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: duncs - Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 20:38

Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 20:38
Wanger,

As I reply to your question I feel I must state at the outset that I hate roof racks. I understand why people use them but I won't. I have had two near misses directly attributable to the excess weight on the roof. I have used them extensively in the past and so i write with some experience to back me up.

I'll start wiht the last part of the ? Open the luggage space of the car and climb in. Now move from side to side as violently as you can and note how the car moves on the suspension. Now climb on the roof rack and do the same. Feel the difference. Now try to imagine driving through your favourite corners with you on the roof. This will give you some idea how the load will affect driving.

Now for loading. Buy a good quality poly tarp that will completely wrap your load. Lay this in the tray of the roofrack and load you gear into it. Fold in the back tehn teh sides and finally pull the front over the top and tuck inany loose corners. Hold it in place with one of those elastic nets and then tie it down with some good ropes or tie downs rated to carry the full load. Should keep everything clean and dry.

Finally, pray that it is not raining when you get to the camp site, cos if it is you are going to get a very wet tail.

Hope you have a great Easter
Duncs

AnswerID: 52984

Follow Up By: Wanger - Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 21:02

Friday, Apr 02, 2004 at 21:02
Thanks Duncs,