opinion

It is my opinion that vehicle manufacturers have hidden behind emission regulation, and over complicated modern vehicles to the point where the only choice the consumer(with a problem in their vehicle) has is to take it to the dealer. O and that dealer is our dealer. Keep it all "in house"- dollars and cents
We have so many very qualified mechanics, who now cant fix problems because the company who manufactured the item wont let the mechanic get access to the codes, whatever, because they are not a dealer...And the dealer is nowhere close to where you break down.

Met a nice bloke in Yetman, he has an old troopie with a 350 Chev in it, and 660,000 klms on it. It barks, and it bites. And the motor has 5 wires on it...And no computers And everyone north and south of the border CAN fix it when it needs it.
OK she uses some fuel. Accepted. Not my cup of tea, but 660,000 klms on it?
But you wouldn't have to consider, for too long, to work out a commercial interest in environment legislation, compliance, complexity, propriety, etc. Smart lawyers, the top end of town. And who is paying? You and me. But only to save the environment, honestly.

Well, we afford service day? Can we afford breakdown day? Can we afford transport of dead truck day? No

Show me one...Just one new vehicle that does not fit the mould... Engine, or whole of vehicle computers, and no one who can fix it..except the dealer. And O yes, it is a bit costly as the parts had to come from overseas. Diesel motors are a simple thing, the world has been using them for years.
Lets not get conned.
Rebuild, or renew, that is the question? And a question well worth asking
Is an older vehicle well restored or modified a better vehicle than buying a new one better? Or have we been all conned?

Reply By: disco driver - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 19:46

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 19:46
Jim,
Up to a point I can see your logic but consider this scenario
I have the option to renovate/ rebuild a FJ45 Toyota ute or spend a bit more and buy the modern 4.5l V8 diesel.
Should I put up with an engine that, while reliable, was an absolute slug on the road in a vehicle with cart springs front and rear and apart from an ex-army jeep was the most uncomfortable thing on the road or should I buy a new Toyota ute, bags of power, reasonable comfort and able to tow a large caravan with ease.

With my age and back injuries, there's no way I could just keep the old FJ going.

In any case, I wouldn't buy a Toyota anyway......................I'm a rusted on LandRover fanatic, my choice would be Defender or DiscoD4.

Disco.
AnswerID: 553492

Follow Up By: Member - Jim B8 - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 19:53

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 19:53
Disco
I accept that everyone is in their situation, and my opinion, is, well, opinion. I am not talking flavours, brands, I am talking targeted complexity. Shaping legislation to suit the corporation. And turn it into dollars.
Thanks for your response
jim
FollowupID: 839358

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 20:01

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 20:01
I'm not sure about a Defender if you have a bad back? :-)
FollowupID: 839361

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 19:52

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 19:52
G'day Jim,
You are right on the money there.

Been done in the Machine tool industry for years as after sales service is big money. Special codes for adjustments & special licensed software for diagnostic checks.

Seems like the car industry has cottoned on now too. The only problem is that when you are 100's or 1000's of kms from help it costs a fortune to get help.
Ok for machines that are located in cities & large regional centres but not much good looking to get a specialized service guy out in the Simpson!

Stu
AnswerID: 553494

Follow Up By: Member - Jim B8 - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 19:55

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 19:55
Stu
everyone lives in Melbourne don't they?
Jim
FollowupID: 839359

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 20:05

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 20:05
Yep.
That's what our auto industry must believe anyway!

Worked up in the Kimberley some years back & kept the vehicle going with bush mechanic skills & fencing wire. I remember rebuilding a carby by the side of the road from bits off a wreck I found.

Not any more!
FollowupID: 839365

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 22:05

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 22:05
Well I work in the Kimberly and the minesite mechanics have no issues keeping all the modern crd vehicles going
FollowupID: 839380

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 07:44

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 07:44
The mechanics at mine sites have access to diagnostic tools to help with analysis of faults that may show up but it presents a problem for remote station owners such as where I worked.

I guess the days of bush mechanics is over.
FollowupID: 839400

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 07:45

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 07:45
get outmore

Dedicated diesel specialists are required in minesite. They pay big dollars to their workers. The average servo or outback/rural town workshop just cant keep up with all the electronic software/diagnostic tools/training and specialist tools required not only to diagnose a fault but fix it. That's if they can source a part in Australia. Then of course when a manufacturer adds 3-400% markup on cheap plastic bits and pieces. I could work on every car I have owned until now. A 2014 Pajero that has an electronic brain that I have no tools for or intention of fiddling with.

I agree with Jim...we are being treated as fools...
FollowupID: 839401

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 08:59

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 08:59
actually big fish the workshops look no different to any other workshop
the vast majority of work they do is stuff any mechanic worth his salt could do
brake repairs, bearings greased, CV replaced, gearbox, diff repacements etc
FollowupID: 839406

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 09:57

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 09:57
Most of the mine site sheds I have been to are far bigger than the average servo found in rural or outback areas. However the mine sites I have been to(and quite a few as a remote comms tech) all had access to computers with their machines specific details, part numbers, diagnostic programmes and ready access to the manufacturers field rep or the company main store. The average rural/small town garage is not in the same league. All mine site mechs also have to be familiar with hydraulics and the electrical systems. Constant updating of their knowledge via courses and training is relentless. They also have the luxury of having a work colleague to consult.
FollowupID: 839412

Reply By: Member - batsy - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 19:56

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 19:56
Two good questions Jim B8 & I am unsure of the answer to either.
I have a good friend now retired as am I. He was the service manager of a large Holden dealership & I recall him saying many years ago after a state conference with Holden that they had been advised that their role in service, maintenance & warranty would be increasing dramatically as a result of more complex 'systems' on the vehicles, not just for emission control but a whole gambit of 'aids' to the driver for safety & ease of operation. This role of the 'dealer' would be cost prohibitive to the non 'dealer' & new vehicle owners would be coerced (read compelled) to have all work carried out by the 'dealer'. This has been proven so very correct .
We have an 80 series turbo multi valve auto Land Cruiser with 375,000km on it & still in very good condition. We would love to upgrade to a new 4x4 but complex
electronics that I have no way of fixing when in the middle of the CSR or the like make me shy away.
It will be interesting to follow this thread & see the replies.
Batsy
Every day vertical above ground is a bonus.

AnswerID: 553496

Follow Up By: Member - Jim B8 - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 20:01

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 20:01
Batsy
Touché
Jim
FollowupID: 839362

Reply By: wholehog - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 19:58

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 19:58
Member - Jim B8
Related Article
Vehicle CareVehicle Care
This article outlines options for prolonging the life and looks of your vehicle - especially one ...
View Article...
It is my opinion that vehicle manufacturers have hidden behind emission regulation, and over complicated modern vehicles to the point where the only choice the consumer(with a problem in their vehicle) has is to take it to the dealer. O and that dealer is our dealer. Keep it all "in house"- dollars and cents.

"So very true, and when they realised they were losing services to free thinking consumers, enter the fixed price servicing."

We have so many very qualified mechanics, who now cant fix problems because the company who manufactured the item wont let the mechanic get access to the codes, whatever, because they are not a dealer...And the dealer is nowhere close to where you break down.

"That code issue was recently resolved. If you buy an non common product like Landrover, and strange Korean/Thai/Euro brands then maybe expect resistance and distance to servicing needs, factor that into their pricing and your operational needs."

Met a nice bloke in Yetman, he has an old troopie with a 350 Chev in it, and 660,000 klms on it. It barks, and it bites. And the motor has 5 wires on it...And no computers And everyone north and south of the border CAN fix it when it needs it.

" Plenty of petrol engines run more than that with regular servioce and long interval running"

OK she uses some fuel. Accepted. Not my cup of tea, but 660,000 klms on it?
But you wouldn't have to consider, for too long, to work out a commercial interest in environment legislation, compliance, complexity, propriety, etc. Smart lawyers, the top end of town. And who is paying? You and me. But only to save the environment, honestly.

"Thats a politics dealio...saving the planet initiatives in a fossil fueled vehicle...and we are operators of such for say 50 years in a billion years environment."

Well, we afford service day? Can we afford breakdown day? Can we afford transport of dead truck day? No

Show me one...Just one new vehicle that does not fit the mould... Engine, or whole of vehicle computers, and no one who can fix it..except the dealer. And O yes, it is a bit costly as the parts had to come from overseas. Diesel motors are a simple thing, the world has been using them for years.'

"modern diesels with electronic everything are efficient, clean, and longevity is better with some engine and placebo pollution management propaganda removed. Are you a plumber, electrician, tiler, IT technician, cabinet maker and builder at your house?"

Lets not get conned.
Rebuild, or renew, that is the question? And a question well worth asking
Is an older vehicle well restored or modified a better vehicle than buying a new one better? Or have we been all conned?

"You have been conned if you believe and subscribe to global warming in your short time here, and paying for dealer servicing, and not self educating as to the positives and negatives of modern engine systems.
AnswerID: 553497

Follow Up By: wholehog - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 20:00

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 20:00
Due to the infantile posting and editing availability on this forum, my comments are between "..and ".. ;o(
FollowupID: 839360

Reply By: Member - mike g2 - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 20:27

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 20:27
HI Jim, agree that modern vehicles seem to have 'maker only' fixing manufactured into the car. emission controls are a legislated requirement now. more modern engines are requiring engine management chips ( black box) to monitor and control all the various parts of driving process mainly for fuel economy. My previous Fiat Jayco M/Home had such a control. problem is when engine light comes on, you don't know what fault is without diagnostic laptop! ( nearest one is capital city)
Almost all manufactured goods would have a life span that allows the maker to stay in business giving you the next model. If things lasted too long only the initial run would sell, then bankruptcy?.
After market care/servicing is indeed a big business, I frequently get servicing reminders, longer I wait, the more they offer- 20% off etc...to service with us.

its old news that to build a car with parts will cost you a lot more than the original car.

My Volvo repair man friend often threw out the 'black box' rather than spend time on fault finding the old way. mechanical vs electronic. take your pick.

PS: almost all modern passenger aircraft run on computer controls- pilot programmes in weight ( pax + baggage), computer picks ideal parameters, then later.. heading, altitude, cruising fuel usage, etc.... auto pilot is put on within a few mins of takeoff.
MG
AnswerID: 553500

Follow Up By: Member - Jim B8 - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 20:36

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 20:36
I'm no technophobe, just a sceptic. With a wallet
I love complexity but hate getting conned
Jim
FollowupID: 839373

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 21:19

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 21:19
Yes, these vehicles are complex to reduce emissions, and improve fuel consumption. Low fuel consumption sells cars.

I've always serviced my own Landcruisers ...and will continue to do so. I service my 2012 200 series purchased from new - it's never been back to the dealer (I don't trust the apprentices) ....there is no need to do so. Its the simplest Landcruiser ever to service - simply oil changes, filter changes, brake fluid change, and inspections. No need to hook up the magic computer. No timing belts, no valve clearances to adjust, no wheel bearings to grease. I have a scangauge so can read and delete codes should they arise, but they haven't arisen!
And when you analyse the problems people have, the majority are caused by aftermarket fitments. These vehicles are very reliable from the factory.
So yeah, I'll continue to DIY....I'll use the genuine parts because they are the best....I'll use the best oils.....and if I were to have a problem....heck take it to the dealer and have them fix it. If it was my fault, then take it on the chin; if it was a warranty issue then claim it.
AnswerID: 553503

Follow Up By: Member - Jim B8 - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 21:30

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 21:30
Thanks for your reply.
Jim
FollowupID: 839376

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 21:48

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 21:48
Jim, I have the same attitude with my wife's Tiguan. People are scared of VW's but they are as simple as Toyotas. Same deal - do your own servicing - filters/507.00 oils/Haldex oil/etc are all simple. The odd job (eg rear brake linings) for some strange reason require a reset of the computer ...so just need to know about this and leave it to a VW mechanic or dealer. And use the genuine parts.

People say I would void the warranty....not the case in my experience - I had a new Prado where the motor was trashed by a dealer's air cond installer who left rubber grommets in the air filter. Once it was proven that they were at fault, we reached a settlement. My 79series had a fuel dampener installed under warranty even though it had never had a dealer/mechanic service. Also the recalls still get done. The Tiguan had a fuse recall done, and the 79series had a brake bolt recall done. The Tiguan also had a code go off and they replaced the throttle body even though VW hadn't done the servicing.

Sure vehicles are more complex, but I think the vehicles, from the factory are more reliable. It is uncommon to have a Toyota/Mazda/Nissan/Subaru problem in the first few years.
FollowupID: 839379

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 07:35

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 07:35
Have to agree there Phil.
I service our 3 family cars which are late model. I just keep all the fluids & filters changed & find they keep their tune vey well. Never had any warranty claim issues either.
Gone are the days of constantly tinkering with distributors to keep the timing spot on.
Just don't get me started with the difficulty of getting at spark plugs & various other service items though!

Having said this I think that a simple check engine light is not good enough. For example my Falcon computer shut the engine down for a minor sensor issue which required an expensive tow. It turned out to be a minor fix & had the computer given me a location to investigate it turns out I could have fixed it by the side of the road.

The scan gauge is a good idea but often they are model & make specific so in my case you have to have 3 of them.
Stu
FollowupID: 839399

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 21:33

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 21:33
I wondered why i still have my 2003 PATROL 12 years on, had since new and the 4.2 is a slug but with 400,000ks and still going strong. I still haven't set a date to change the original clutch! If and when i decide to change to a new vehicle, it will be a new LC diesel but is hard to stick my hand into my pocket for >$70k when i have a reliable vehicle. I guess it will have to happen eventually. Michael

AnswerID: 553505

Follow Up By: axle - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 11:42

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 11:42
Long pockets and short arm problem Mike!..lol.....Bit like me.

FollowupID: 839418

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 15:37

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 15:37
Bit of Scotsman in me I guess Axle!:)

FollowupID: 839425

Reply By: swampfox - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 21:33

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 21:33
hi
DO NOT think for a minute that dealers are the experts .
Very very code diagnostic tool dependant .
This makes for a very very poor mechanic
Diagnostic codes are a symptom/ indication of an issue in most situations.
Vehicles do run perfectly with water in the tank cracked spark plugs faulty throttle position sensors . Seen this first hand . Customer typically complains of some distantly related issue .
Talking about reprogramed vehicle computers ECU. Changed many of these due to go fast mods being misguided .

First check air fuel spark
check fuel pressure and flow
compression wet and dry
leakdown test
change plugs check high tension leads
check coil resistance
failed plugs can cause a failed injector
check for all mechanical issues blown head gasket etc
Check all earths and power supplies
Check for correct voltages at inputs and out puts of ECU
Diagnostics tools do not typically check during start up

After u have done all that some times u just use your best guided thoughts
eg idle motor only fails at traffic lights yet idles for hours in the workshop
faulty ecu with no other indications
Some times u get water in cylinders overnight also

Dealers donot retain there experienced people and dealers are not allowed to think out side the box at all . Eg overheating north of Brisbane. Aircons that donot work in the north of aust..

Dealers are generally zombie robots [a slave to the dealer principle and the almighty dollar ]

swampfox
AnswerID: 553506

Follow Up By: Member - Jim B8 - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 21:38

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 21:38
Swampfox
Thank you for your reply
Jim
FollowupID: 839377

Reply By: 671 - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 21:44

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 21:44
Jim

What we have now is what the motoring public want. You can see examples of that as far back as the 1920s.

T Ford sales peaked at 2 million a year in around 1922. The nearest competitor was Chevrolet at 500,000. In less that ten years Chev was outselling Ford. The reason was Henry stubbornly hung onto the T for far too long. It was well and truly obsolete by the mid 1920s but he said it was very reliable and did the job so there was no need to improve it. In the meantime many of his competitors had moved on to more powerful and efficient OHV engines, distributor and coil ignition systems, brakes at the wheels instead of the T’s one single brake at the transmission and so on.

It got so bad for Henry that he had to close his factories for a full six months in 1927 and quickly design and build the Model A to replace it. He lost a lot of sales and dealers during that period.

I got my first taste of performance from that era when I drove a customer’s 1928 Essex at work one day a few weeks after getting my licence. I thought wow a big six cylinder so I put my foot down to the floor and virtually nothing happened. I immediately understood why people found the need to start hot rodding way back in those days. Even the Chevrolet brothers were making speed equipment for T models and no doubt many other cars.

Today you could frighten the living daylights out of yourself if you held your foot flat to the floor for more than five seconds on any new car that had an engine with the same cubic capacity of that old Essex.

I reckon you would be lucky today to find 1% of motorists who would want to return to the way cars were even as little as 20 years ago.

As for fixing them in the bush: I have seen conventional diesel fuel pumps fail. The only way to repair one in the bush would be to replace it. The same applies to an old ignition coil. You would not cut one of those open to fix it on the side of the Canning, you simply replace it.

The same applies to any current car. A lot of electrical parts are repaired by replacement but how many of them fail?

I left the motor industry while working for a Toyota dealer in the late 1980s. We had EFI, computers, diagnostic codes etc back then but I can’t remember ever having any problems with them.

I also had a very good apprentice working under me at that time. He still works for the company today. When I bought my computerised diesel Hilux a few years ago, I asked him about its electronics and if there had been any problems with any part of it. He said only with the electronic accelerator pedals and only after they had been submerged in water.

That was 102,000 ks ago and I have not had to replace anything. I wish I could say the same thing about all the other non electronic cars that I have owned over the years.

I have also never taken the car to any dealer of workshop during that period.. I gave it a wheel alignment myself when I bought it with a digital angle finder that I bought at Bunnings and the tyre wear is still even. I keep an eye on electrical connections , engine earths etc but nothing has gone wrong.

I have driven it over some seriously remote desert tracks and was not worried about it. I did not carry spare computers, pumps etc. Your biggest threat out there is failure of parts like the chassis, axle housings etc due to taking the car up to its maximum carrying capacity or beyond when you should reduce loads and speeds in rough conditions.

Car technology is never going to go back to the way it used to be and thank heavens for that. If you are concerned about reliability in remote areas then buy a workshop manual and study it. You will find they are easier to work on than you think.

AnswerID: 553507

Follow Up By: Member - Jim B8 - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 22:32

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 22:32
Fool I am not
jim
FollowupID: 839383

Reply By: Batt's - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 22:45

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 22:45
Happy to keep driving my 1993 GQ with 437,000 km on the clock I'm not a fan of electronics and fancy emissions control that can potentially cause damage to a motor and shorten it's life. My wife has had 2 new cars in the past 7 yrs and both vehicles different brands have spent a lot of time at the dealer with mechanical and electrical problems glad it was all warranty work because it I probably could have bought another GQ for the amount of money spent on them. On the fuel economy side of things the modern motor has improved but the vehicles are getting heavier so that will counteract the full benefit of trying to improve econ for example an old 4x4 single cab hilux weighed 1270 kg the modern equivalent 1680 kg that's a third more yes their safer but most of the extras they fit don't get used there just there to boost sales and are novelty items we can do without.
AnswerID: 553510

Follow Up By: Member - Jim B8 - Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 22:52

Saturday, May 09, 2015 at 22:52
Keep keeping on
FollowupID: 839387

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 08:27

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 08:27
Just a thought for those in favour of all the electronic wizardry in vehicles. They may be interested in a conversation I had with a defence aircraft mechanic a few years back.
I asked him why he was repairing a very complex mechanical fuel pump for one of our fighter jets & not using an electronic fuel system.
It seems that many weapons can cause havoc with electrical systems so even though the pilot could lose all electronic navigation aids the plane can still be kept in the air as the mechanical system will remain functional.

So I wonder how many of our modern cars would just stop dead in their tracks in this situation. Mind you in a war situation I guess there would be more pressing issues.
Food for thought.

Stu
AnswerID: 553522

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 11:23

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 11:23
Depending on what part fails like in the case of my wife's Holden Barina we bought new in 2008 it wanted to keep running when the throttle sensor failed and it started to rev it's guts out she was stationary at the time.
FollowupID: 839414

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 11:32

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 11:32
I also give owning a modern 4WD ago in 2003 I bought a 2001 model disco and it ended up with numerous electrical problems etc which convinced me old is better so I traded it in on a 10 yr old patrol that had not electronics and have been happy since.
FollowupID: 839416

Reply By: Michael H9 - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 09:08

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 09:08
The logical thought progression for this issue is that there is a market for expedition style vehicles and a smart manufacturer should meet the demand. I'm not sure it will happen though, evidence being that manufacturers are making their models more urban and leaving the off road accessories to the likes of ARB. Wouldn't it be nice to buy a vehicle designed to have larger tyres, more ground clearance, winching capability, uhf and greater wading depth as standard? Much like the starship Enterprise, this vehicle would also need to have a full diagnostic readout available on the onboard sat nav display. After all, when the Enterprise needs repairs in another galaxy, it can't call the road service equivalent. I look forward optimistically to this mythical vehicle. :-) Retreating back to old clunkers from the past isn't the answer, they are all dying out anyway.
AnswerID: 553527

Follow Up By: The Landy - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 11:25

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 11:25
Michael

Perhaps there is a market for such a vehicle and for those who visit EO or involved in this style of expedition touring we can easily believe the demand is huge.

The reality is that the market is so small, minuscule would better describe the market, that if a manufacturer were to build such a vehicle the cost would be prohibitive, possibly to the point that it might be 2 times (plus) the cost of the next best alternative.

"The Enterprise" these days would look more like Henry's T Model Ford...

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
FollowupID: 839415

Reply By: TomH - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 10:23

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 10:23
It is not manufacturers who enforce emission standards. They are imposed upon them and the manufacturers have to comply.

Im sure they wouldnt be putting expensive DPF's and other thing into vehicles just because they can.

They have to, whether they or us like it or not.

I have a VW with all the fruit and so far it hasnt given any grief. Would I go back to an old Holden or Ford No.

In saying that the best run I got out of any of my 40+ cars was a 1971 Hillman Avenger 1500.

Thrashed it to death with a boot full of tools, towed trailer loads of concrete till it died.
Chucked a s/h motor in it and away it went again.

Eventually sold it to a wrecker who used it for the shop hack as he said it went to well to wreck LOL
AnswerID: 553530

Reply By: Crusier 91 - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 10:44

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 10:44
I have a 1991 4l carby petrol 80 series, its never let me down and is still going strong. Its very cheap for parts. I do my own servicing.
It may not be as quick on the highway as modern 4wd's, but I'm touring and in no rush. It has everything that a modern 4wd has, power windows, power steering, cold air, heater, stereo etc except for the expensive price tag, parts and problems. I even believe my driver seat is more comfortable than modern vehicles.

I'm not one for keeping up with the Joneses, I'm into value for practicality.

As far as I'm concerned I'm way out in front compared to those poor buggers with $30k plus computerised vehicles.
AnswerID: 553531

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 11:52

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 11:52
Yeah that's the stuff couldn't agree with you more I sold a perfectly good 1986 Sahara in 2003 to keep the banker happy because she wanted something less tractor like and more modern a 2001 disco biggest waste of $38 grand. After putting up with that for 3 yrs I traded "UP" to a 1991 carby patrol then later on to a 1993 diesel which is my daily driver can't beat the old stuff you can work on at home and once you have started it you can disconnect the battery and keep driving I'd like to see a new car try that.
FollowupID: 839419

Reply By: The Landy - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 11:18

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 11:18
Perhaps part of the appeal of electronic vehicles is that it provides monitoring and alerting prior to have a major problem, versus the old of potentially failing without any warning.

There are plenty of older vehicles out there that can be purchased for next to nothing for those inclined to go the rebuild route and no computerised controls. I did this sometime ago, cost a fortune and as an exercise it wasn't the success I would have hoped for.

I now have a LC 79 Series dual cab that to date as not caused any issues, but being mechanical I suspect that day could come at anytime.

Going back to non-computerised vehicles these days puts you behind the wheel of a vehicle that is probably a minimum of 25 years old.

There have been many advances in vehicle technology unrelated to the engine, but you'll only enjoy these with a new vehicle.

Then there s the ongoing cost of sourcing parts for older vehicles, and not to mention insurance...older and less expensive doesn't mean cheaper rates, quite to the contrary.

My point, I guess you can't just look at one aspect of a vehicle in isolation...

Cheer,s Baz - The Landy
AnswerID: 553533

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 12:45

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 12:45
People blame the electronics when it is just the means of communicating a mechanical problem - usually long before it actually fails.

I don't miss having to adjust tappets, adjust carbs, change oil every few 1000 km, adjusting points, changing condensors and all that.

I service my Range Rover Sport myself - just oils and filters nothing else on a routine basis. I dont miss the good old days at all and the RRS is the most reliable vehicle I have owned.

I also own a couple of older vehicles and spend most of my time doing their tappets, adjusting carbs, changing oil every few 1000 km, adjusting points, changing condensors and all that yet it is my RRS that covers the most kms.
FollowupID: 839420

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 12:58

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 12:58
Just on the electronic monitoring side of things in older vehicles the main things that could fail is the motor the brakes, fuel filter which usually have warning lights for. Some older diesels even had relay that shut the engine down when it lost oil pressure protecting the motor from damage some modern vehicle never had this basic system and the warning light can be overlooked or ignored and the motor can be kept running till if is damaged. New vehicle have monitors to monitor the electronics they have fitted in case they fail and some mechanical parts because everything has become so complex. And when they break down you end up on the side of the road with the rest of us but usually with a much bigger repair bill. The modern diesel engine has all the fancy pollution gear that recycles oil vapour which is suppose to be good for the environment but it shortens the life of the motor causing problems along the way and chocks up the intake manifold like my neighbours Navara at 100,000 km the manifold was around 40% blocked causing power loss and econ problems and it is blowing more smoke than it should because these contaminants have caused internal damage but that's the same with most modern diesels which is a big step backwards so lots of people are modifying their system to protect their motor. Lots of people are having problems with common rail diesels especially if you get some dirty fuel because the factory filter is inadequate another down fall and the repair bills can be astronomical. Private insurance for my 1993 GQ is $270 for agreed value and CTP is only $40 more than our 2011 Hyundai. which won't break the bank. Most parts are not that expensive and are readily available in a lot of cases because quite a few people are still driving older vehicles there seems to be more places supplying parts for older vehicles than there was 10yrs ago and it's growing especially for the older 4WD's. When a vehicle is 15-20yrs old or more replacing some parts that wear out in of the norm and expected do you reckon you'll get 20 or 30 yrs out of your current fuel injection system without spending a pile of cash on it my 1993 troll has never been touched same injectors and pump.
FollowupID: 839421

Follow Up By: Batt's - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 13:12

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 13:12
Also forgot to mention the delay some vehicles have in their fly by wire throttle systems when accelerating or decelerating compared to the old cable which gives you instant response either way more control and a smoother drive at slower speeds. 2 of the vehicles we've had with fly by wire were jerky to drive around shopping centres and in traffic both were manuals our current auto seems more suited to the system another fancy system with faults that can be rectified with a good old cable. All of what I have said is just my experience with modern vehicles and not a personal attack just my argument towards older being better or what I prefer.
FollowupID: 839422

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 13:36

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 13:36
".............one aspect of a vehicle in isolation....."

An unintentional pun, Baz? :-)

FollowupID: 839423

Follow Up By: The Landy - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 16:26

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 16:26
Batts,

You may well be right on some of the points you raise, but when you've got a month up your sleeve, pop around and I'll bore you to tears on the woes of a 1995 Landrover Defender...

But that is another story not for the feint hearted....

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
FollowupID: 839428

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, May 11, 2015 at 07:31

Monday, May 11, 2015 at 07:31
Batts. Just a correction. The low oil shut off is to prevent the motor running backwards .. NOT to prevent damage .. thats just by the by
And why you only see it on vehicles with inline fuel pumps like the 2H
FollowupID: 839452

Follow Up By: Batt's - Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 00:37

Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 00:37
I've owned a landrover what a waste of money that was I would have been better off giving it to the mormons who walk the streets knocking on people doors.
FollowupID: 839700

Follow Up By: Batt's - Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 00:47

Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 00:47
Well as far as I'm concerned when my motor ran low on oil and shut down it protected it from damage so it done it's job. Not sure how the motor was going to suddenly decide to change directions due to lack of oil and being driven at 60 kph in gear with 2 ton pushing it forward.
FollowupID: 839701

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 12:36

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 12:36
Don't get me wrong I think computerized engine control systems are great but the car companies need to stop being so protective about trying to keep all the service diagnostics in house.
Does not help me with lousy on board diagnostic systems out in the remote areas.
Lets face it modern engines hold their tune better, start easier in extreme climatic conditions & get some great fuel economy & horsepower figures from less cubic capacity than in the past.
However I am not impressed with having to pay huge towing fees because a stupid sensor disables the vehicle.
AnswerID: 553536

Follow Up By: TomH - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 15:45

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 15:45
Perhaps then you would help finance your friendly mechanic into maybe $10,000 worth of diagnostic gear to troubleshoot the problems.

Has been mentioned on the VW forum as being about the starting point for that, plus training, software and updates.etc.

FollowupID: 839426

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M - Monday, May 11, 2015 at 09:31

Monday, May 11, 2015 at 09:31
Good points Bushranger.

Maybe we are not there yet, but if the broader IT industry is anything to go by, it is very hard to be too protective when there are plenty of people willing and able to 'backdoor' anything you can try to protect. Unless you are Apple of course; beware the iCar!

Perhaps the revolution (and the answer to Jim's original question) is that we will see tools (apps, appliances) emerge that are cheap, simple to use and allow us (and our mechanics) far greater access to a manufacturer's systems to diagnose and repair when and where required. Noting that most electronic parts (sensors, etc.) tend to be repair by replacement, but the reality is that so are most traditional 'mechanical' parts anyhow.

FollowupID: 839461

Reply By: Geepeem - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 18:24

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 18:24
The increased complexity is here to stay whether we like it or not. But I believe what will happen is hand held diagnostic tools will become more powerful. I noticed that even super cheap are selling then Actron Auto Scanner-U Scan, Smartphone, OBDii for $135. It erases codes and allows user to diagnose problems when the check engine light comes on using a bluetooth phone. This is just the beginning.

I believe these self diagnostic tools will get better and better and soon we can maybe even connect with dealers technicians via bluetooth (for a fee of course) to resolve breakdowns in the bush after we have self diagnosed the problem. My SIL recently had a problem with his V8 Audi and he has a OBDii scanning tool that told him the code error and through the internet he found the cause of the error. He solved the problem himself using available technology. I prefer to embrace modern technology and benefit from the modern vehicles with increased safety, power and efficiency. Don't fear technology and complexity. Embrace it. Learn about it. Get the best auto scanner/diagnostic tool you can afford and learn to use it. Knowledge is power.
AnswerID: 553545

Follow Up By: 671 - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 19:40

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 19:40
"Don't fear technology and complexity. Embrace it. Learn about it. Get the best auto scanner/diagnostic tool you can afford and learn to use it. Knowledge is power."
-----------------------------------------------

That is the only way to go in this world. Nothing is going to go backwards to suit a miniscule minority that don't like or can't understand anything new.

----------------------------------------------------
" My SIL recently had a problem with his V8 Audi and he has a OBDii scanning tool that told him the code error and through the internet he found the cause of the error."
--------------------------------------------------------

I am not sure about other cars but I can bring up the diagnostic codes on the car instrument panel by bridging two terminals on the under bonnet connector for the dealer diagnostic computer. I keep a 100 mm piece of wire with soldered bare ends in the glove box just for that purpose.

Once you count the flashes to get the number, you just look it up in the workshop manual and go looking for the fault by following a few simple tests with a multimeter. It will be either in the computer, sensor or the circuit.

This information is not shown in my non genuine manual but it is in my factory manual covering the engine electronics.

It would make diagnosing in the bush very easy.
FollowupID: 839433

Reply By: Crusier 91 - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 20:29

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 20:29
671, I have no fear of new technology, but I have absolute no need for it in a 4wd, My 1991 80 series is still perfectly good and I'll even say it outperforms the majority of new 4wds out on the track.
AnswerID: 553553

Follow Up By: Crusier 91 - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 20:36

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 20:36
So why is it necessary for me to get rid of something that is still perfectly good? For the sake of embracing new tech? or its big, better etc?

Sounds like you have fallen for great marketing.

Oh, by the way, I also own a 2013 Hyundai I30, which by the way is new tech as you call it. Why? Tax deductible.
FollowupID: 839435

Follow Up By: 671 - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 20:43

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 20:43
There is nothing wrong with driving an 80 series but how many people want a car that old? If the answer was everyone who goes bush then all the remaining 80s would be unaffordable to all but the super rich.
FollowupID: 839437

Follow Up By: Crusier 91 - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 21:12

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 21:12
I guess I haven't explained myself properly.

I just don't see the value in purchasing and owning a modern 4wd regardless if TD or petrol or the tech that comes with.

I understand the purpose of new technology, I have solar panels on my roof, I have a few laptops in our household, I have a huge big screen TV, etc and I purchased these things out right because I saw value for money. I dont see the same value in these new 4wds especially if a loan is required to purchase it unless it can be tax deductible.

I hope this explains it better for you.
FollowupID: 839440

Follow Up By: Crusier 91 - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 21:21

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 21:21
Would you trade your wife in after 10 20 years for a newer wife? for one that's a better cook, better in bed, better looking, better at everything.

;)
FollowupID: 839442

Follow Up By: 671 - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 22:56

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 22:56
Crusier 91 posted:
I guess I haven't explained myself properly.

I understand exactly where you are coming from. I have a late electronic controlled 4wd but I also own a 1991 2.8 diesel Hilux with not a trace of turbos or computers on it. I will still own that car long after I have sold my current car. Its level of technology came from my days in the motor industry. I fully understand how it works, I worked on that technology when it was new and I love it.

All I am saying is electronically controlled cars are hear to stay and the day will eventually come when they will be the only ones available either new or second hand.

Nobody is being forced to buy one but if they do then there is no need to despair because it looks like a nightmare under the bonnet. If you are the do it yourself type and you are concerned about bush repairs then take the time to study the factory manuals, not the basic non genuine type, and you will find they are nowhere near as hard to work on as you might think.

4wds do get into some out of the way places and the car manufacturers know it. The latest can be repaired in those areas just like those before them. Unfortunately many owners are turned off when they buy a non genuine workshop manual and find the engine electrical section usually refers them to a dealer due to the special equipment involved. It is easy to get the impression that that is the only way they can be repaired.

My auto accessory shop manual does that but the factory one says get a piece of wire, plug it in, read the flashes on the dash, check the code in the manual and fix it with basic equipment.

Just going back to the good old days for a moment: the first breakdown I saw in the bush was when I was driving in a small convoy in the Snowy Mountains in 1979. A car suddenly stopped and we had to drive the owner back to the nearest town to buy a new ignition coil.

It makes no difference whether it is the Snowy or the Canning. If an electrical part fails you replace it. If you are carrying spares then no problems. If not then you have to go and get one.
FollowupID: 839447

Reply By: Member - Matt M - Monday, May 11, 2015 at 09:13

Monday, May 11, 2015 at 09:13
Great discussion, thanks all. Nice to see a number of different views put forward without anyone resorting to name calling rubbish.

AnswerID: 553573