Stock springs and aftermarket shocks compatibility?

Hi all,
I'm still pretty new to 4WDing and I know little about the technical side of everything and need some advice.

I am planning to replace the suspension on my '09 Nissan X-Trail. I have found the shocks that I want (gas magnums from Monroe) with a larger bore than the stock to handle the corrugated roads I travel on.

My question is about the springs. Should I also replace the stock springs? I don't have a whole lot of money to spare, but I'm willing to fork out just a bit more for new springs if that's what I need.

What are the implications of keeping the stock springs and just getting new shocks? Is it doable?

Thanks,
Holly
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 20:12

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 20:12
Nothing wrong with using stock springs with new shocks, Holly, as long as the springs are not sagging badly. Worn springs, especially coils, can eventually damage suspension, as well as increasing harshness if you're rattling over corrugated roads.

Any of the suspension outlets, King Springs, TJM, ARB, & others can supply you with new coils to match your driving, and the new shocks. Think coils are usually about $160-180/pair, plus fitting.

You'll notice a big difference with new coils, and Monroe shocks,

Good luck,
Bob

Seen it all, Done it all.
Can't remember most of it.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 553552

Reply By: Member - Andrew - Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 20:37

Sunday, May 10, 2015 at 20:37
Springs keep the vehicle off the ground. Shocks control the springs.
If your vehicle is at normal height when loaded, that is not sagging at either end, then the stock softish springs will give you the most comfortable ride and best traction on dirt.