A Yank's perspective on Australia

Submitted: Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 15:42
ThreadID: 117872 Views:3123 Replies:12 FollowUps:10
David Mason is a Writer,

a Professor, and a Poet Laureate of Colorado

There's a lot to admire about Australia , especially
if you're a visiting American, says David Mason.

More often than you might expect, Australian friends
patiently listening to me enthuse about their country
have said,''We need outsiders like you to remind us
what we have.'' So here it is - a small presumptuous
list of what one foreigner admires in Oz.

1.. Health care.

I know the controversies, but basic national health
care is a gift. In America , medical expenses are a
leading cause of bankruptcy. The drug companies
dominate politics and advertising. Obama is being
crucified for taking halting baby steps towards sanity.
You can't turn on the telly without hours of drug
advertisements - something I have never yet seen here.
And your emphasis on prevention - making cigarettes
less accessible, for one - is a model.

2.. Food.

Yes, we have great food in America too, especially
in the big cities. But your bread is less sweet, your
lamb is cheaper, and your supermarket vegetables
and fruits are fresher than ours. Too often in my country
America , an apple is a ball of pulp as big as your face.
The dainty Pink Lady apples of Oz are the juiciest I've had.
And don't get me started on coffee. In American small
towns it tastes like water flavoured with burnt dirt,
but the smallest shop in the smallest town in Oz can
make a first-rate latte. I love your ubiquitous bakeries,
and your hot-cross buns. Shall I go on?

3. Language.

How do you do it?
The rhyming slang and Aboriginal place names are
like magic spells. Words that seem vaguely English
yet also resemble an argot from another planet.
I love the way institutional names get turned
into diminutives - Vinnie's and Salvos - and
absolutely nothing's sacred. Everything is an
opportunity for word games and everyone has
a nickname. Lingo makes the world go round.
It's the spontaneous wit of the people that tickles
me most. Late one night at a barbie my new mate
Suds remarked: ''Nothing's the same since 24-7.''
Amen to that.

4.. Free-to-air TV.

In Oz, you buy a TV, plug it in and watch some
of the best programming I've ever seen - uncensored.
In America , you can't get diddly-squat without
paying a cable or satellite company heavy fees.
In Oz a few channels make it hard to choose.
In America , you've got 400 channels
and nothing to watch.

5. Small shops.

Outside the big cities in America corporations
have nearly erased them. Identical malls with
identical restaurants serving inferior food.
Except for geography, it's hard to tell one American
town from another. The ''take-away'' culture here
in Australia is wonderful. The human encounters
are real - people love to stir, and stories get told.
The curries here are to die for. And you don't
have to tip!

6.. Free camping.

We used to have this too, and I guess it's still free
when you backpack miles away from the roads.
But I love the fact that in Oz everyone owns the
shoreline and in many places you can pull up a
camper van and stare at the sea for weeks. I love
the ''primitive'' and independent camp-grounds,
the life out-of-doors. The few idiots who leave
their stubbies and rubbish behind in these
pristine places ought to be transported in chains
to the penal colonies.

7.. Religion.

In America , it's everywhere - especially where it's not
supposed to be, like politics. I imagine you have your
Pharisees too, making a big public show of devotion,
but I have yet to meet one here.

8.. Roads.

Peak hour aside, I've found travel on your roads pure
heaven. My country's ''Freeways'' are crowded,
crumbling, insanely knotted with looping overpasses - it's
like racing homicidal maniacs on fraying spaghetti! I've
driven the Hume Highway without stress, and I love
the Princes Highway when it's two lanes. Ninety minutes
south of Bateman's Bay I was sorry to see one billboard
for a McDonald's. It's blocking a lovely paddock view.
Someone should remove the McDonald's Billboard.

9.. Real multiculturalism.

I know there are tensions, just like anywhere else,
but I love the distinctiveness of your communities
and the way you publicly acknowledge the Aboriginal
past. Recently, too, I spent quality time with the
Melbourne Greeks, and was gratified both by their
devotion to their own great language and culture and
their openness to an Afghan lunch.

10. Fewer guns.

You had Port Arthur in 1996 and got real in response.
America replicates such massacres several times a year
and nothing changes. Why? Our religion of individual
rights makes the good of the community an impossible
dream. Instead of mateship we have ''It's mine and
nobody else's''. We talk a great game about freedom,
but too often live in fear. There's more to say - your
kaleidoscopic birds, your perfumed bush in springtime,
your vast beaches. These are just a few of the blessings
that make Australia a rarity. Of course, it's not paradise -
nowhere is - but I love it here. No need to wave flags like
the Americans, and add to the world's windiness.
Just value in Australia what you have here
and don't give it away.
Back Expand Un-Read 9 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 15:50

Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 15:50
Still just as true...... as the first time I read it a couple years ago
Insanity doesnt run in my family.... it gallops!

AnswerID: 553831

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 15:59

Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 15:59
Nice find Bill, and helps to remember why we are so very lucky still.
Going to put that on another favorite forum of mine to share.
(Found this was originally an article in The Age, Aust day 2014.)
AnswerID: 553833

Reply By: Member - bill j (VIC) - Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 16:03

Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 16:03
Yes a reminder now and again doesn't hurt.
AnswerID: 553834

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 16:30

Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 16:30
Thank you for that Bill. Not so sure that it fits EO's forum rules but I hope the moderators allow it to stay.

It is fascinating to read a visitor's view and sobering to be reminded of what we posses in this country.

I really appreciated David Mason's expressions of "....the blessings that make Australia a rarity" and "...don't give it away".

AnswerID: 553835

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 10:03

Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 10:03
I posted this on the eo facebook page a few months ago.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 839739

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 10:20

Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 10:20
But men don't view Facebook do they Michelle? Obligatory 'lol'.

FollowupID: 839740

Follow Up By: Member - bill j (VIC) - Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 10:56

Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 10:56
Confess i don't will have to start. :))
FollowupID: 839741

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 12:08

Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 12:08
Was just trying to respond to Allan's comment re appropriateness for EO. You are better off staying off FB!
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 839748

Reply By: Racey - Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 16:55

Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 16:55
Good one Bill. We're not called the lucky country for nothing, Ha Ha Ha. Enjoy your stay.

Jon
AnswerID: 553837

Reply By: bigden - Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 18:05

Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 18:05
yes reading this does make you realise how lucky we are, although i am not sure he has experianced melbourne peak hour if he thinks we dont have traffic.
and then not everyone is happy with multi culturalism
but with whatever problems we have australia is a pretty good place to call home
AnswerID: 553838

Reply By: TomH - Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 18:18

Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 18:18
No 6 He forgot We are/were the Penal Colony.
AnswerID: 553839

Reply By: Member - Christine and Lindsay - Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 19:13

Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 19:13
Well said and agree with most points. I must say in reply that we went to the USA and Canada in 2013 . We did independent travel by a small motorhome and various plane flights. We found people to be genuinely friendly and helpful. Canadians are pretty much just like us. We found the drivers much less aggressive than in Melbourne and very patient with our sometimes hesitant and lost motorhome lane changes. Some coffee was good but of course nothing beats Melbourne coffee. If you get out on the open road and camp in forest areas it is great fun. I think the everyday stuff is usually somewhat annoying and we do see holidays with rose coloured glasses at times. Hated the tipping though and mostly cooked our own meals. Had some loud Yanks on our Alaska cruise and then the next day a loud bunch of, you guessed it, Aussies. Don't judge Americans by TV. Either. End of my spiel.
AnswerID: 553842

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 16:33

Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 16:33
Had a holiday that involved driving from San Francisico to NY
and by enlarge the biggest thing I took out of it was an Embarrasment as to how Americans are regarded and even treated here in Australia
we certainly didnt get the same treatment from them, many going out of thier way to help even before they found we were Australian.

as for coffee... dont drink the stuff, if you want a chuckle ask for a tea .. obviously not drunk much there and they seemed to have very little idea what to do with it (no saucer for tea bag, not knowing if it takes milk, for a refill just offering you hot water)

some things are streeeets ahead there. We went to yankee stadium -- now thats how a stadium experience should be
FollowupID: 839869

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 19:54

Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 19:54
G'day All

I am not a big book reader but I thoroughly enjoyed the book "Bill Bryson Down Under"

He has a very dry sense of humour and sees Australia in a way we don't !

It's worth a read.

Just thought I would add this for the people that enjoyed the above by David Mason

Gazz
AnswerID: 553843

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 20:22

Saturday, May 16, 2015 at 20:22
I can recomend all bryson's travel books Gazz (some are quite dated now). His book "A Short History Of Nearly Everything" which charts our scientific journey through time is also very good if a little dry at times.
FollowupID: 839726

Follow Up By: Member - bill j (VIC) - Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 11:04

Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 11:04
If you want to know something about Australian history read a book called "Australia's Secret War" I learn t something I never new and I recon a lot of Assies don't know about.
FollowupID: 839742

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Monday, May 18, 2015 at 11:09

Monday, May 18, 2015 at 11:09
Love Bill Bryson’s books and you can see the elements of his background in his writing

He has the sense of wonder, awe, optimism, confidence and enthusiasm of an American interspersed with the cynicism, sarcasm, love of irony and the self-deprecating sense of humour of the British.

His “voice” is remarkably Australian.

Years ago, I recommended his book “Down Under” to an American to read as an introduction to Australia. They gave it up because they didn’t get the humour
FollowupID: 839819

Reply By: Australian Landscape Jewellery - Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 07:36

Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 07:36
I'd reckon that's a pretty good list of what makes Australia a great place to live. I will not get drawn into a discussion here on this but I'd also reckon that quite a few of the areas he lists are under pressure to follow the US model.
AnswerID: 553856

Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 09:15

Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 09:15
Just back from 5 weeks in Yankie land, and I'd agree with nearly all of that..

Talking to Americans, they can't believe the amount of stuff they HAVEN'T got ......they especially can't get their head around long service leave ??

What Americans we found ( that could talk english ) were always very talkative and friendly.....but finding them was the problem....Florida for instance, was full of Spanish talking people and english was a 2nd language for the ones who were bothered..
Same in New York as well.......we found if we wanted assistance or directions, we would ask an african american....they were always polite and friendly..

But there roads are 100% better than ours......travel out into the back blocks a bit and they are all still hotmix...none of the patched up coarse chip gravel we have !!

AnswerID: 553861

Follow Up By: TomH - Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 13:48

Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 13:48
You must have been in different places to us then. In some of the southern states the roads werent too good either.

Lots of rough bits and patches in New Mexico.

Some rough ones in Canada and Northern USA after the winter as well
FollowupID: 839754

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 16:40

Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 16:40
Taking into account the size and spread of our nation together with the relatively small population, it is surprising and fortunate that Australia has the length and quality of sealed country roads that it has. Just take the Stuart and Eyre Highways as prime examples.

FollowupID: 839765

Reply By: Michael H9 - Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 19:04

Sunday, May 17, 2015 at 19:04
We hear a lot about user pays and privatization...we could be just like them if we keep trying. I heard that politics is show business for ugly people. If any of these ugly people suggest something that will make us more like America, then give them the flick. I don't care which side they are on. God bless America....... but keep it over there please.
AnswerID: 553893