PERTH TO BROOME trek... help wanted

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 16:59
ThreadID: 119255 Views:3202 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
Hi guys and girls.. just want some feedback on doing a holiday from perth to broome..

Im going to go inland and was thinking of travelling perth to cue, cue to newman , newman to sandfire and sandfire to broome..

We have a 4wd with camper trailer and 2 kids and the other couple have a 4wd also with 24 foot caravan and also 2 kids.

The problem i have is i would like to do the trip in 4 days however the other couple reckon they can do it easy in 3 days...

What do u reccomend. As we will be doing only overnight stops...

Reply By: Richard and jem - Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 17:32

Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 17:32
Gday David you could do it in 3 days but you may as well take your time and do it in 4 days. long time for the kids to sit in the car all day may as well take your time and enjoy the out back.
AnswerID: 556200

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 18:23

Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 18:23
Don't know any of the area you wish to travel, David, but would comment on your travel plans.

Think you would have to decide just what YOU want out of the trip, and go with that. It maybe possible that you would easily do the trip in 3 days, but if you're missing out on Kodak moments, or some sight seeing, just to keep up with the 24' 'van, then your journey is getting short-changed.

Perhaps organise to meet the others in Broome. If he travels too quickly, you might be picking up pieces of his 'van on the way? :-)

AnswerID: 556203

Reply By: steved58 - Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 19:42

Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 19:42
Hi David please research the trip a little its a long way to travel seeing just the sides of the road at least one day in Karinjini national park is a must if you have never been there so to rush the trip if not necessary is a shame coming back along the coast is also worthwhile calling in on Exmouth and coral bay monkey mia etc Please do consider However saying that 3 days is enough to cover the distance all the best
AnswerID: 556205

Reply By: disco driver - Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 20:07

Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 20:07
According to my maps Perth to Broome is around 2300km by the shortest route.
Driving it in 3 days means 760odd km /day. No time at all for looking at anything except what goes past the car windows at around 100kph.
That would be hard to do solo but towing a 24ft van would be bloody hard work and more than just tiring on the drivers.
Even at 4 days you would have to cover around 570km/day Still not much time for looking around.
Even worse with small kids.

Personally, and if it was me, I would go up one way, either the inland way (Gt Northern Hwy) or the coastal road (NW Coastal Hwy) and come back the other and I would take at least 5 days travel each way, and preferably with an extra rest day somewhere as well .

That would be a much easier timeframe (unless there is a pressing reason to rush to get to Broome).

Hope this helps in your planning.

Disco.
AnswerID: 556208

Reply By: 08crd - Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 20:22

Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 20:22
Towing a 24ft caravan, with kids aboard, I doubt you will do better than 600 - 700k's per day. That's on bitumen, the Newman to Sandfire leg is gravel.
To do it in three days would be a real push, four days is mor realistic, but still a challenge.
My guess would be, Mt Magnet day one, once you get out of Perth. 540k's
Newman day two. 600k's
80 mile beach day three via Marble Bar, Shay gap, boreline road 600k's approx.Day three.

Broome easy drive day four.

Three days, towing a camper and pushing along, four days with 24ft caravan.IMO
AnswerID: 556209

Follow Up By: steved58 - Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 20:26

Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 20:26
Perth to broome is bitumen all the way Newman to sandfire has been sealed for quite some time
FollowupID: 842347

Reply By: 08crd - Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 20:52

Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 20:52
It is only bitumen the long way, via Port Headland. That adds another 300k's to the trip.
AnswerID: 556211

Follow Up By: Member - MARIC - Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 10:30

Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 10:30
Sealed all the way inland and coastal routes been up and down both ways, having lived and worked in Pilbara and the Kimberly.
Three days pushing it, best wear earplugs to drown out the "Are we there yet...ohhhhh" We have 4 kids so been there done that, used to chuck them on a plane.
Good luck and enjoy yor holiday, only a couple 100 k,s difference either way, probably nicer camping spots on coastal route
It is only when you see mosquito land on your testicles that you find another way to solve problems without violence

FollowupID: 842363

Follow Up By: 08crd - Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 12:41

Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 12:41
The road through Nullagine, Marble Bar, Shay Gap is bitumen?

That's news to me.
FollowupID: 842368

Follow Up By: Member - MARIC - Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 14:00

Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 14:00
08crd, hi to you,
You are correct the road through Nullagine Marble Bar is gravel, however Highway 95 known as the "Great Northern Hwy" from Newman north comes out just west of the Turner River onto Highway 1 also known as the North West Coastal Hwy is "sealed" and has been since before 2006.
Cheers and happy travelling
It is only when you see mosquito land on your testicles that you find another way to solve problems without violence

FollowupID: 842370

Follow Up By: 08crd - Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 23:30

Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 23:30
I know, I've installed diesel generators at Nullagine and Marble Bar, also played interschool sports against Shay Gap in the late 1960's.
When I was at school in Dampier, before Karratha was built.lol
FollowupID: 842383

Follow Up By: Member - MARIC - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2015 at 10:56

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2015 at 10:56
Good on yah,
I worked in Dampier before the mermaid motel was built and lived in the SMQ and watched movies under the stars, bring your own chairs and drink beer that was preserved with arsenic, then my mates and I would knock off a bottle of spirits from the wet canteen ..... showing my age aren't I? ........ and yours too,
So where do you reside now?

FollowupID: 842392

Follow Up By: 08crd - Tuesday, Jun 23, 2015 at 16:39

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2015 at 16:39
You certainly are.
I was there when the Mermaid was built, but was in first year high school.
Remember the Poon Brothers camp and the walk in movies, Fat Harry the cop, happy days.
Fishing from the service wharf, the rocks and the mangroves you always caught a feed. It is a shame to see the place now.
I live in Perth these days, but always like going up that way. I also worked for a company installing and commissioning diesel gen sets in remote locations.
FollowupID: 842407

Follow Up By: Member - MARIC - Wednesday, Jun 24, 2015 at 07:52

Wednesday, Jun 24, 2015 at 07:52
I remember fat Harry and his huge mate from Poon Bros, they were both going to Perth together via Mickey Mouse Airlines (MMA) and were sitting together and were asked to sit either side of the aisle to make the F28 more stable ;o)) I was with the PMG and worked in those hot sheds down at the water front near the de salination plant, bloody hot there. Do you know where fat Harry ended up he always ware sandals because he couldn't fit into shoes. LOL
take care, might catch up one day

FollowupID: 842434

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 22:58

Sunday, Jun 21, 2015 at 22:58
How long do you intend to spend in Broome David? There is most to see along the way and as suggested travel one way on the Great Northern Highway and the other on the North West Coastal Highway. Karijini is the jewel of the Pilbara and deserves two or three days. I suggest it is the journey to and from, not Broome that holds the most attractions.

We find towing tiring on the driver compared to non towing. How much experience have your friends had in long days towing their big caravan. 400 kilometres a day is enough for us with a smaller caravan (and with NO children), although 700 can be done as a one off if really necessary.

You may also meet a lot of trucks and possibly wide loads on the Great Northern Highway.

Will you or your friends be looking to reach a town with a caravan park, or can you both just stop roadside when you get tired?

AnswerID: 556217

Reply By: TomH - Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 14:20

Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 14:20
Might as well fly as you will pretty close to doing that anyway. May see more as well.
AnswerID: 556228

Reply By: David M51 - Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 16:43

Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 16:43
We have been to karinjini few times but never been to broome.

We are spending 8 nights in broome and 5 nights on the way back at point samson.. we were thinking of splitting up broome and spending some time at 80 mile beach...

We were going to do the 1 nighters at either roadhouse or caravan park. .

Thankyou for all comments.

We would love to spend more time but unfortunately due to kids school holidays, we are very limited.

The other couple have finally agreed to do road trip in 4 days.
AnswerID: 556230

Follow Up By: Member - MARIC - Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 18:09

Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 18:09
hi Dave
if you have time have a look at Barn Hill Station not a bad spot and quite sociable, another spot is Port Smith, although I haven't been there for a while.

Take care and enjoy the break, the kids and you should have a ball

FollowupID: 842374

Follow Up By: Member - tommo05 - Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 19:13

Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 19:13
+1 for Port Smith, mind for the sandflies. Mind you I suppose you get them everywhere up there.

FollowupID: 842378

Follow Up By: 08crd - Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 22:51

Monday, Jun 22, 2015 at 22:51
If you decide to do the Newman, Nullagine, Marble Bar, Shay Gap, Boreline route.

Lower your tyre pressures and travel at about 80klm/hr with the van.

It is well worth the effort as the kids will see some unique Australian towns.
FollowupID: 842382