Upgrading to a camper trailer

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 07, 2015 at 22:01
ThreadID: 119422 Views:6018 Replies:18 FollowUps:12
This Thread has been Archived
I know this has probly been asked before but im new to this and am some what lost.
Im looking at upgrading from the tent to a camp trailer and know very little about them.
Why can i get one brand new for 50k?
I know you get what you pay for, but what exactly are you getting and paying 10x more for at 50k than 5k?
Anyway, i'll be looking at 2nd hand around the 5k mark. Any brands in particular that I should avoid or look for?
A big point for us is ease of set up and pack up.
Any features that make things better, essier, more comfortable etc?
Doesn't have to be any extreeme 4x4 model, only towing with a commodore for now. Plan on getting a 4x4 in future but still wont be doing anything extreeme with it. The ability to handle some light offroad in future without having to upgrade camper when the 4x4 comes would be good.

Any suggestions appreciated.

Thanks.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Shane H9 - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2015 at 22:05

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2015 at 22:05
*some text missing there.

Ment to say why can I get one brand new for 50k.
AnswerID: 556763

Reply By: Shane H9 - Tuesday, Jul 07, 2015 at 22:06

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2015 at 22:06
Less than 5k
AnswerID: 556764

Reply By: Crusier 91 - Wednesday, Jul 08, 2015 at 00:49

Wednesday, Jul 08, 2015 at 00:49
Second hand Australian built soft floor. Regardless of budget, but you still need to check the quality of canvas, axle, hubs, bearings, tyres etc.
Best to spend as much time as you can researching and going to physically see new and used campers for sale prior to parting with your hard earned cash.

You could pick up a second hand Mars hardfloor with kitchen from someone who has already done all the hard work eg: strengthening, dust proofing, 12 volt batteries, lighting etc.

You may also get some good info for a $5K budget at "myswag.org".

Cheers