Is it a good deal?

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 14, 2004 at 16:57
ThreadID: 12041 Views:1950 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
This Thread has been Archived
I found the following deal:

NISSAN PATROL GQ, LWB, 1988, flat roof, 5spd diesel, winch, fully serviced, HD suspension, dual battery, 115,000km, 14,500$

It is a import from Japan, ex-road-assistant vehicle, which was standing around a lot for a while (thus the low kms). It is fully serviced and running fine now (has RWC).

Obviously that is a higher price than the redbook suggests ($7,600 - $10,500) but the condition it seems to be in is great and low kms is nice too.

My Question:

I am not a mechanic so is this car worth or did the time standing around do a lot of damage to it and e.g. the engine will fall apart soon or so?

Thanks for your help,

Reisender
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Roachie - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2004 at 17:20

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2004 at 17:20
Mate,
Sounds like a ripper to me. Have a look underneath to see any visible damage to underbody components from off road work etc. Maybe get the engine checked over by a mechanic for compression etc. Check for rust along bottom of rear cargo area windows etc.
But if you're in the market for a good strong 4x4, it'd be okay I reckon.

Good luck,
Roachie
AnswerID: 54201

Follow Up By: reisender - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2004 at 17:34

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2004 at 17:34
Hi Roachie,

So do you think it is only the price or do you think the car/engine is rotten deep inside?

Cheers,
Reisender
FollowupID: 315868

Follow Up By: Roachie - Wednesday, Apr 14, 2004 at 17:48

Wednesday, Apr 14, 2004 at 17:48
Mate,