Caravan suspension

Submitted: Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 20:42
ThreadID: 12119 Views:3661 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
I am new to caravanning after having had a Koala camper trailer for the last 15 years. I have just purchased an old (25 YO) Capricorn 14" Pop-top which I tow with a Pajero. Stabilizer bars are fitted. (I think that's what they are called.)
The Pajero is stock standard - no fancy springs, etc.

I have noticed that the van is down at the back when loaded despite moving much of the the internal gear to the front of the van. Related to this, I would like to have a bit more ground clearance and I notice that the springs are located under the axle.

Questions -
Is it expensive/legal/advisable/possible to place the springs on top of the axle thus increasing the clearance?
To fix the level problem, is obtaining a lower towbar tongue the way to go or are there other suggestions?
Any advice would be appreciated....................

Geoff
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: The Banjo - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 20:58

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 20:58
Geoff....I've recently been into this subject area while researching load issues with camper trailers..... drifted into the van technical issues area .....this whole issue of trailer/van configuration and loading, with attitude, control and stabilising of vans etc is big .... your very safety while mobile hangs on it....I reckon you would be wise to get a van pro to advise you on the steps to take......a coordinated and pro approach from the start.....might be able to do the actual work yourself, but it has to be right.
AnswerID: 54606

Reply By: David N. - Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 13:04

Saturday, Apr 17, 2004 at 13:04
Yes it is legal/possible to put the axles under instead of on top of the springs.
Common sense is required- obviously this will raise centre of gravity and therefore increase your chance of a roll-over.