Turbo Lag

Submitted: Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 21:02
ThreadID: 12121 Views:2949 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
Hello all , Been having an argument with the guys at work regarding a definition for turbo lag. Here are the options . Dont be scared to say if we are way off line . Thanks 1. The dead band at the low end of the rev range before the engine is on boost. 2. Loss of power between gear changes due to backing off the throttle , stalling the turbo impeller due to loss of exaust flow 3. Being too scared to fit an after market turbo ( ha ha )
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - TonyG (NSW) - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 21:17

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 21:17
Hi Glen,

I am no expert but I thought it was the dead band at the low end of the rev range before the engine is on boost.

On my navara, the turbo kicks in about 1800rpm

Thanks

TonyG
AnswerID: 54611

Follow Up By: Glenn D - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:02

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:02
Thanks Tony!
FollowupID: 316280

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 21:53

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 21:53
Turbo lag is the turbo dropping below the maximum boost, which means the engine cant make max power, anti lag items include things like a fuel injector which uses fuel injected into the turbine to stop lag on wrc cars when the throttle is backed off, which is why you hear them pop pop pop out the exhaust on over run.

Another anti lag device is using gas, co2, air pressure injected into the turbo to keep it on boost during gear chnages, or for low down rpm, or where the exhaust gases arent sufficient to get the turbo on max boost for max power.

So lag can be during gear changes, or before the turbo has built up maximum boost from low rpm.
AnswerID: 54616

Follow Up By: Glenn D - Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:10

Friday, Apr 16, 2004 at 22:10