KIA Sportage ehh !

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 21:15
ThreadID: 12491 Views:4933 Replies:5 FollowUps:19
I recently had an experience with a KIA Sportage while camping .
We had accessed our camping spot which required descending a rough and steeeeep hill , I was driving a Toyota Hilux and towing a trailer laden with gear as it was a family weekend . A friend drove in a KIA Sportage and was leaving after spending 1 night ,but had reservations about getting back up steep hill . We followed him back to the hill but the Kia could not make it to the base of the real rough stuff . I thought that he (a . had not engaged 4wd (b had not locked in the hubs (c was playing a joke on me . After finding that there was no provision for manually locking the hubs in I thought ok auto locking hubs , the driver assured me he had engaged 4wd and sure enough there was a green light on the dash showing all wheels were engaged but thats where it ended . It appeared suspension travel may have been trouble as it would rock on 2 wheels while negotiating ( trying to ) rough ground . I had to tow him up the hill so he could go home . Is there something I'm missing or are they a very softttttttt ! 4wd ?

Reply By: Bush pig - Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 21:31

Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 21:31
I have been on a trip with a bloke that had a kia sportage and it went suprisingly well up and down hills, as well as through the mud. I thought it would have had no chance.

The only thing we had trouble with was finding somewhere to tow it from at the front if needed.

AnswerID: 56627

Follow Up By: kenny - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 13:48

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 13:48
Bushpig
There was no trouble finding towing points as there was one either side at front .
FollowupID: 318609

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 21:55

Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 21:55
Kenny,
What tyre pressures was he running in it? In my experience, it is necessary to lower pressures to mid 20's to allow the tyres to gain enough purchase on steep/rough terrain. If he was still running with 30+ psi, he'd have buggar-all chance.
Dunno anything else about the drive-train on these cars though.
AnswerID: 56632

Follow Up By: kenny - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 13:51

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 13:51
I have no idea as what tyre pressure he was running but having lived in the western side of blue mountains all my life travelling many mountain tracks I don't think tyre pressure was his problem.
FollowupID: 318611

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 14:04

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 14:04
Roachie were are the photos taken iof your rig.
Are they on the way to mount Dare.

FollowupID: 318613

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 09:36

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 09:36
Eric,
I wish I could say "yes"......it would be a lot better than saying they were taken just across the road from our place here at Kadina!!
Unfortunately, that is exactly where they were taken; about 500 meters from my front door. I suppose I shouldn't complain though, because that is the view I see every day. I'm a lot luckier than most......at least I don't have to live in the urban jungle.
Cheers, mate
FollowupID: 318746

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 22:19

Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 22:19
This guy had a failed vacuum hub assy. As an owner of a Sportage, I can tell you that is a common problem (and common to all vacuum operated hub mechanisms). There is a design flaw in some of the very early ones and it was not successfully addressed in the two following redesigns. The only effective solution is to replace the vacuum operated hubs with Warn manual hubs. (Who wants to draw water into the hubs anyway?)

Suspension travel 9" at the front, 13" at the rear standard.

Your friends problems may have also been to do with driver experience.

As to being soft......There are a few people on this list who have been out with me who may wish to contribute to the discussion.

Firstly I have a 2" spring lift and 31 x 10.5 tyres. LDS standard in the rear.

I went out to Bunyip State Forrest for a "slip and slide" day with the Suzuki 4WD Club of Victoria last weekend. There were two Hiluxes, a Suzuki Sierra, a Vitara 4Door, and me with all but one of their total number of axles having lockers. The vehicles that had the probs (worst to best) was the IFS Lux (clearance, front wheel travel), the Solid axle Lux (turning circle, torque), the Vitara (clearance, power), with the Kia and the Sierra matching each other, but only with the Sierra fully locked (mud and rocks).........Raised a few eyebrows.......
AnswerID: 56637

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 22:58

Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 22:58
All vehicles had tyres between 30" and 33", mud/snow tread.
FollowupID: 318395

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 23:05

Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 23:05
A few pics
FollowupID: 318397

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 11:15

Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 11:15
An interesting thread...

I think this would make the Sportage the match or better of any small/medium sized IFS 4WD on the market in terms of capability (Vitara/GV, Pajero, Jackaroo, most 4wd utes, etc).

Guess who will (probably) be the first in Australia to have them.........
FollowupID: 318432

Follow Up By: kenny - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 14:08

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 14:08
Gary
Yeah I think you may be on the right line about 4wding experience and possibly with the vacumn hubs . I also have a Subaru 4wd dual range sports wagon which is magic in muddy / sandy roads etc but I refrain from taking it through extreme mountain tracks etc as there are too many rubber boots underneath which are susceptible to rocks .
Great to travel to the Snowys , Across the nullarbour , and along beaches etc , a rural agent at Cooma told me he prefers Subaru's over Toyota's / Nissan's etc as they will float across boggy paddocks where the heavier vehicles break through the surface crust . I must say I am biased as I have been around cruisers,land rovers ,hiluxes ,stockman all my bush life . I must say I was amazed at the KIA but it was extreme conditions
FollowupID: 318614

Reply By: John - Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 23:34

Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 23:34
Kenny
I have to agree with Garyinoz about hte capabilities of the Kia.

We tend to hang a bit of Sh-t on Gary's Kia, which he take in his stride I have to say that I have been on a couple of trips with Gary in his Kia and I was in my Troopy and Gary has shown to me that the Kia is quite a capable vehicle.

I guess as he quite rightly points out driver experience and indivdual modifications to vehicles make each make, model more or less capable.

But the Kia went everywhere I did and did it quite well with little problem, In fact due to lower centre of gravity than the Troopy it probably did some things easier.

I would not call them a soft 4wd.

AnswerID: 56651

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 07:22

Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 07:22
Who has got that photo of the Kia snatching out your troopy? Kia is an awesome little machine! Have you taken the angle grinder to the wheel arches yet Gary?
FollowupID: 318407

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 07:57

Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 07:57
I am starting to feel ill .

I would love to say heaps , but I wont , I also have you on video Gary lol

and it aint good lol
FollowupID: 318410

Follow Up By: John - Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 10:53

Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 10:53
Yeah Andrew, Who does have that photo ?

Come on Eric tell all.
I remember Diamond telling the story about Gary snatching Truckster and himself out in the snow? I think it was.

Lets hear the stories guys.

FollowupID: 318425

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 10:55

Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 10:55
Yes Eric, one indiscretion due to too much air pressure in the standard tyres, and being in the middle of the group as we entered a sandy track..........Remember this though: How well does a troopy handle with a flat tyre? (for ~ 5 km in sand) About as well as it does with all tyres pumped up!!! Not mentioning names, but there was one seriously stuffed tyre on that same trip......
FollowupID: 318426

Follow Up By: John - Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 11:23

Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 11:23
The Troopy with a flat handles about as well as any other vehicle with a flat.

Gary whats the snow story with Truckster and Diamond ?
Didn't you have to recover the mighty Nissans ?

FollowupID: 318434

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 11:27

Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 11:27
Andrew and Jen,

The nip and tuck has been done, and if you can find that photo email it to me :)

John,

Being totally honest, the only time the snatch strap came out that day was to pull me over some deep snow (total distance of the 2 snatches was about 100m). Truckster had 33" MTR's, Diamond had 31" Cooper H/T's, and I was on the standard 205/70's (26"), so yes, I bottomed out following their wheel ruts.
FollowupID: 318435

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 17:04

Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 17:04
The nearest thing that I came to recovering the Nissans was providing a somewhat more useful shovel than they had so they could dig themselves out! LOL One of the advantages of being tail-end-charlie........
FollowupID: 318478

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 18:40

Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 18:40
This is how i recall the Kia event . Main road came up to a track , evryone is sitting on the side of the road waiting for a Kia type vehicle to get him self out of the sand , track in now clear , Glen drives in aprrox 100 meters , myself up Glenns rear , 5 seconds later , voice comes over the radio , stop guys im stuck . Glenn and myself get out of our cars to see Gary(in his Kia ) stuck 1 to 2 meters into the track , I have camera rolling within 4 seconds , Gary words , ^*&^*&***&%*% and your *&%*%*^(^(* camera , do you really need to tape this? My answer , sorry gary but yes I do . Gary's words : ^%^&** *^^^(*^^$ . Kia is now clear and ready to go forward . 1 Km up the road , Garys voice comes over the radio , Could you all please give me more room, I need momentum to get up all these hills ., My reply : we havent come up to eny hills Gary ., Gary is quiet now .......

End of the day Gary redeimes himself by lending everyone his max air compressor ........

I dont think I left anything out lol
FollowupID: 318493

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 19:14

Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 19:14
That was in little desert wasn't it, very strange as I've done nearly every track there 99.9% 2 wheel drive 25psi. Gotta be something wrong with that Kia.
FollowupID: 318498

Follow Up By: kenny - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 14:24

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 14:24
It seems we have a few conflicting stories here , thanks for the follow ups
I must say that that I am very 1 eyed when it comes to 4wds but so then are a lot of gov departments that use vehicle that are required to operate in extreme conditions eg NPWS , Forestry Commision , RFS , Ambulance Service , yes there are plenty of depts that use 4wds but most run on city black top . I wonder what the favourite vehicle is amoung the farmers in Australia ?
I did not intend to offend any one by calling their vehicle soft , sorry .
FollowupID: 318616

Reply By: ianmc - Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 00:13

Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 00:13
Surprised a lot I would think.
Does the bigger wheels make the not overpowered 2litre donk struggle a bit with
significantly larger wheels.
Understand a newer one is on the way with bigger donk too!
AnswerID: 56659

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 11:06

Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 11:06
You tend to notice it more in the city than out in the bush. 5th gear is now strictly for >80 km/h. In the bush the gearing is still good enough, but you really notice the extra clearance. This allows you drive at more moderate speeds (no more bottoming out over obstacles).

The new Sportage shares the same platform as the Hyundai Elantra, yes, a softroader :((((
FollowupID: 318430