Mazda T3500 4X4 Light Truck Camper

Submitted: Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 01:12
ThreadID: 12528 Views:15338 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
I have a 1988 Model with slide-on camper mounted on/within the tray and have been advised to replace the dual wheels with singles, to allow me to go bush/fishing in WA, I have been told duals are not recommended for bush or beach driving, what do Members think, does anyone have experience with this modification and can advise me. Thanks and regards from a new chum.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 01:33

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 01:33
What sort of weight is the unit all up?

Is that the reason for the dual wheels, for legality on weight?
AnswerID: 56805

Follow Up By: Luck1 - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 01:48

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 01:48
G'Day Truckster, Its a standard Mazda T3500 4X4 Small Tabletop Truck, off the Rego Papers G.C.M. 7285, Tare 3280, Agg. 4490, Diesel, 5 Speed Manual, dual wheels standard, hope you can help, thanks for your interest, regards
FollowupID: 318565

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 23:45

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 23:45
Sorry, was thinkin of the ute one, not the small truck one.

FollowupID: 318666

Reply By: Stonebreaker - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 03:29

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 03:29
Especially when driving on loose sand, dual wheels are a hindrance. The wheels carve through sand, and so dual wheels tend to build up a mound between and before them, and as a result you continually have to climb this mound they throw up. Also, if there is not much room between the tires, ypu cannot lower pressure very much when driving on loose sand. I'ld recommend replacing them with broader rims and tires if you can. On my 5,5 tonne truck I've replaced dual 6" rims, 7.5" tires with single 9" rims, 10.5" tires, 12-ply rate, and have travelled thru Africa on these without trouble.
AnswerID: 56808

Follow Up By: TonyT - Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 09:31

Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 09:31
Stinebreaker- what sort of truck was that?
FollowupID: 318685

Follow Up By: Stonebreaker - Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 20:51

Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 20:51
That's a 1958 Hanomag AL 2.8. It's a Unimog like truck from the Mercedes family that out of production since 1970. You can see three of them on http://www.osiris.be/topaz/efrhano.htm I'm talking about the yellow one and the white one, the third had the broad rims and wheels originally.
FollowupID: 318724

Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 14:15

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 14:15
The duels are for the weight but you might be able to get singles for it. Go to a truck tyre place as they will know what your options are.
AnswerID: 56839

Reply By: Luck1 - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 16:22

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 16:22
Thanks to Members for your responses, helps a new chum a lot. I have noticed in Forum pages refrence to "Engineers Certificates" for vehicle modifications, can anyone recommend an Engineer in Perth WA for this work? Regards
AnswerID: 56846

Reply By: Peter 2 - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 18:18

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 18:18
A friend of mine has a Canter 4x4 and was faced with the same problem.
Here in NSW if he fitted singles to the rear it was illegal and could not even be engineered as the manufacturer did not make a version that had singles on the rear. He did actually drive it with a single wheel on the rear until the RTA inspectors defected it!
AnswerID: 56866

Follow Up By: Luck1 - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 19:44

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 19:44
Hi Peter 2, Thats interesting because over in WA one of the outback tour operators uses a Canter 4x4 truck rebuilt with bus body and modified to single rear wheels for aprox 20 passenger tour bus, I asked them for wheel info but they did not respond, I guess for comercial reasons? This is the reason I'm seeking info. Regards
FollowupID: 318643

Reply By: Eric Experience. - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 20:53

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 20:53
Luck1.
The duals are not realy that bad in sand, the low gearing of the mazda can easily overcome any build up in front of the wheels. you can make things a lot better by changing your rims to the wider ones used on the 4 tonne model, because the tyres are wider [8.25] there is more offset on the rims so when you fitt the 7.5 you get more space between the tyres this makes it possible to run at much lower pressures which will make sand driving very easy, having towed out plenty of vehicles using a tow truck with duals I say stick with the duals and keep it standard and legal. The road trians that carry cattle out of outback stations use duals and tow up to 4 trailers over sand,
Eric.
AnswerID: 56876

Follow Up By: Luck1 - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 21:03

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 21:03
Hi Eric, Thanks for your advice, how are duals for picking up rocks between them and damaging walls, is this a problem or am I being too cautious. Regards
FollowupID: 318652

Reply By: Eric Experience. - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:32

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:32
Luck1.
The rock throwing problem is the main reason the wider ofset wheels are better, if the tyres are far enough apart the rocks wont stay in there long enough to be a problem. The wheels on the mazda are a world standard wheel as used on a lot of trucks from about 1950 onwords, the Internationals and Dodges used by the PMG in about 1975 used them with 8.25 tyres, there is plenty of these wheels around because those trucks were rust buckets. Eric.
AnswerID: 57089

Follow Up By: Luck1 - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:43

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:43
Hi Eric, Thanks very much for your advice. Regards
FollowupID: 318827

Reply By: Brad and His Disco - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 22:28

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 22:28

Having single wheels setup on a truck this size, with a load as high as the camper would be extremley dangerous. I would compare it to having cheep retreads on the steer tyres. Avoid singles on these types of trucks at all costs.

Friend of mine had singles on a truck like this, rear tyre blew out on the free way, only way the truck was going was over on its roof.

Would strongly advise against this as a safety issue.
AnswerID: 57105