GQ Turbo

Submitted: Monday, May 03, 2004 at 20:12
ThreadID: 12578 Views:1555 Replies:9 FollowUps:12
Well I just walked in the door having driven 450 kilometres round trip to have the mighty GQ turboed.

WOW what a difference Nissan.

The thing that suprised me is that I got ever so slightlygoeshere better consumption on the way home that the forward journey. I honestly thought that their would be a marked depreciation in the fuel consumption. Why is it so.

Like chalk and cheese to drive and I am ever so glad I made the decision prior to the van arriving.

Well first day of the new era, (retirement) and the birds where still singing, the sun is shining and rose in the east as usual so I guess we just keep on keeping on.

Happy trails

Big Dog

Reply By: Big Dog - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 20:24

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 20:24
Sorry forgot to mention 6.85 km/l forward journey. 7.35 return
AnswerID: 57065

Reply By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 20:27

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 20:27
Happy retirement - only been off work one day and already blowing the budget as well as the Nissan. Half your luck! Keep spending!
AnswerID: 57067

Follow Up By: Big Dog - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 22:43

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 22:43

Wont tell you about the new camera.

Big Dog
FollowupID: 318836

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 20:45

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 20:45
Dont spend all the kids inherantance.

Have a good one.

AnswerID: 57074

Follow Up By: Big Dog - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:25

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:25
Why not ha ha
FollowupID: 318820

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 20:57

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 20:57
Which turbo system did you go with??

Amazing the difference a well tuned Turbo makes!!
AnswerID: 57075

Follow Up By: Big Dog - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:26

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:26
Truckster

Got a DTS. Seems to be powering along OK
FollowupID: 318821

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 23:57

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 23:57
I know a man with a custom made intercooler that will bolt straight onto that system.

You get the rest of the kit from DTS for about $260, GU Bonnetscoop fitted, then the IC From Anderw, and you thought you were smiling before?
FollowupID: 318852

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:14

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:14
G'day Big Dog,
Mate, I know that feeling very well indeed. In 1995 I bought an ex-Govt GQ diesel and it was a real let-down after having done 200,000 in a 1990 Maverick petrol. The thing was so sluggish I had to keep checking whether the handbrake was on.
I knew all along that it wouldn't be as perky as the petrol job, but I never thought it would be quite that bad.
So, a few weeks after buying it, I spent about $3,500- and got the hair-dryer and a snorkel (both from Safari) put on. The difference was amazing and I can still remember it. Hills I had to go up in 2nd were done in 4th etc.
As to the economy question, it all comes down to the burning of the fuel in the most efficient manner (as I understand it). With forced induction, the amount of fuel required to obtain the same (or better) output, is actually reduced. I believe the yuppies in the business world call this a "WIN/WIN" situation.
Enjoy your retirement.
AnswerID: 57082

Follow Up By: Big Dog - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:33

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 21:33
Roachie,

That was the reasoning I was thinking afterwards. I did a little trial on the way. I had the c/control set on 114 by GPS as I was running late on on a rather longish hill it cut out at 88 kphand I had to go to 4th. On the way home I could not resist so crossed the freeway and gave it another run under same conditions. Crusied over the top in fifth at 107kph. That will do me fine.

Big Dog
FollowupID: 318823

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 00:07

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 00:07
Roachie, Just amazing isnt it, you know if you keep spending money on these nissans they can actually creep up to NEAR toyota standard
eventually !

HAHAHA LOL
FollowupID: 318853

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 00:11

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 00:11
Congratulations, Bid Dog on your retirement hope there is plenty of sting left in the ol girl yet, so you can see this great country. See you on the track somewhere.
AnswerID: 57116

Reply By: colin - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 10:56

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 10:56
super charger will have given you more than a turbo. Col
AnswerID: 57141

Follow Up By: Muzza - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 22:47

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 22:47
not in my opinion. I'll swap you my patrol for yours for an hour and then lets see who's smiling col baby
FollowupID: 318994

Follow Up By: colin - Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 10:50

Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 10:50
hey muzza, i wouldnt waste my time in a swap as i have driven the turbo and own a S/C and i am the one smiling, i leave turbos behind every day even when towing my camper trailer, and in low revs still have the tourqe and power that a turbo doesnt offer untill at least 1500 plus rpm. At idle the S/C puts out 8 psi and the turbo nil, plus i can boost that by putting a smaller pully on which only takes 5 minutes. ha. ha. ha. Col
FollowupID: 319030

Follow Up By: Muzza - Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 19:36

Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 19:36
If u reckon mate, but you'd have to be running 15 pounds and a safari intercooler (dyno 110kw@back wheels) to keep up
FollowupID: 319082

Follow Up By: colin - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 10:08

Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 10:08
Hi Muzza, i think you miss the point 4wding is not about flat out top speed its about tourqe and usable power without flogging your vehicle, i have 1000 revs in the lower end of the rev range that a turbo doesnt do nothing for, this forum is full of people trying to get more power from turbo diesals in the lower rev range the S/C solves this problem, i can go down to 800 revs in top gear put my foot down and away she goes no hesitation, also the S/C takes away the chatter patrols get when they get down to 1100 1200 revs. Also i can keep the extractors which adds to the economy of the vehicle, also no need for an intercooler to restrict cooling. I take it you havent driven a S/C diesal if you get the chance take one for a drive and you will be pleasantly surprised. If a turbo blows up no more driving S/C take the belt off and keep on going. There are some compitition 4wds which run S/C and they inject lpg into the unit and they are leaving turbos in thier dust as they have a wide range of usable power which is full of torqe. Col
FollowupID: 319166

Follow Up By: Muzza - Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 22:41

Thursday, May 06, 2004 at 22:41
spose we'll have to agree to the the verdict; each to their own?
Muzza
FollowupID: 319321

Reply By: Vinnie - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 22:00

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 22:00
Well Big Dog I was thinking of doing the same to my '92 TD42 Mav, it has 140,000 k's on it and I was concerned about blowin' it up if I turboed it. Who did it for you? I would like to get out of the slow lane and keep up with the cruising lane too!!
Congrats on retirement
Vinnie
AnswerID: 57245

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 23:01

Tuesday, May 04, 2004 at 23:01
Vinnie, go for it mate,
Best thing in my opinion is a turbo. My baby has one and the difference is fantastic, like some earlier 4b's mentioned, from owning a non turbo 4.2 d to a turbo. Non turbo was 2nd and 3rd gears up hills dropping speed rapidly to staying in 5th gear now with the turbo GQ.
No regrets here as far as torbo goes.

good luck..... Angelo
FollowupID: 318998

Reply By: Vinnie - Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 22:01

Wednesday, May 05, 2004 at 22:01
Angelo
I am wondering if it is you who sold a GQ Black on Silver Diesel in January this year? If you are, I was 1 who missed buying it. Got a Maverick XL and regarded your advice on mods, only I did a 2" lift for some body clearance.
Vinnie
AnswerID: 57389