Finally - Toyota delivers!!!

Submitted: Monday, May 10, 2004 at 20:59
ThreadID: 12766 Views:1944 Replies:21 FollowUps:35

I am now the proud owner of a shiny new Turbo-Diesel GXL Prado!

I ordered it on January 9, '04 and it was delivered late today May 10. Four months!

I have driven it about 40kms and so far it seems well worth the wait. Cooper Discoverer A/T hoops get fitted in the morning.

I have not even had a chance to take a decent photo yet! It was delivered at 5.15pm and it was nearly dark by the time I drove out the gate.

That's it for now! More info later in the week.

Steven

Reply By: Mrs Diamond - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:02

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:02
congratulations on the latest arival to your familly
AnswerID: 58069

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:35

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:35
Thanks Mrs D!

Geez I think I have a feeling for how Michelle and David felt in last couple of weeks!

Steven
FollowupID: 319812

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:07

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:07
Good luck with it Steven.
Hope they release you soon :)
AnswerID: 58070

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:36

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:36
No holding me back now!! Just submitted multiple leave forms to the boss......I live in hope!
FollowupID: 319814

Reply By: navaraman - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:07

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:07
With Coopers going on it I'm guessing it won't be shiny and new for too long. : ))
AnswerID: 58071

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:37

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:37
I didn't buy it for just tooling around the suburbs!

Steven
FollowupID: 319815

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:18

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:18
Steven,
What the hell are you doing tapping away on a stupid keyboard when there's a new toy to be played with???????
That's the reason I always try to take delivery of a new stead on a friday arvo; so I can get it back to the dealer on the monday morning for it's first service!!! LOL
Good luck mate; I hope it's everything you've imagined. There's nothing quite like a new truck (short of a new bundle of joy from the hospital I guess).
AnswerID: 58073

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:38

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:38
If I don't answer any posts for the next few weeks you might have an inkling why!

Steven
FollowupID: 319816

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:25

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:25
Hi Steven
Enjoy your new Prado I hope you have as much fun in yours as we have had in ours (90 series TD) they are a very capable vehicle, have a contact in SA for front recovery hooks although they may not work with the Alloy bar, and get your self a " BushHook" for the rear tow bar if you have one.

If you have not already checkout www.lcool.org/egroup.html they have a 120 group which should be a big help on the technical stuff.

Cheers & safe travelling

AnswerID: 58074

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:41

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:41
Thanks Bernie,

I have been in contact with the hook man and he assures me they are compatible with the Toyota Alloy Bar.

I've been reading the 120 Yahoo group for a few months now. Suprising how much info is available for the taking.

See you out there somewhere!

Steven
FollowupID: 319819

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:52

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:52
Hope you enjoy your new toy as much as I have (my "new" GU). Its now 6 months old and it seems only like yesterday I picked it up. Bet you cannot wait to start fitting it out. Hopefully we will see a pic of the real thing very soon.

Cheers (or should that be congratulations!!!)

AnswerID: 58080

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:12

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:12
Thanks Captain,

I'll see how I go with the camera tomorrow!

Steven
FollowupID: 319831

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:04

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:04
Big Congratulations Steven it should have mud on it this weekend if it rains.
See you at Berri if not before.
AnswerID: 58082

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:11

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:11
Ha, Thanks Steve,

Long weekend coming up for us South Australians! Perfect timing.

Steven
FollowupID: 319830

Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:22

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:22
Steven,

Have fun doing what you've been dreaming of for months.

Get it filthy with red dirt.

Spend all that other money you have fitting it out. Remember you can't take the money with you...............

See you on the road - maybe the Flinders - June long weekend?
AnswerID: 58085

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:28

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:28
No worries Rick.

Maybe just a 'easy' cruise of the Flinders over the upcoming long weekend! Get used to the vehicle. Then on June long weekend I can get a bit of advice on what I 'really' need for it.

Steven
FollowupID: 319835

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:23

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:23
Good on you Steve. Can organise some real good sticky mud for it on June L/Wend if you like.
AnswerID: 58087

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:25

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:25
Bring it on Buddy!!!
FollowupID: 319833

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:32

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:32
First accessory: a Pressure Cleaner!
FollowupID: 319839

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 23:05

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 23:05
Second accessory: tin of cut & polish for the scratches.

FollowupID: 319842

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 23:44

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 23:44
Hey Guys,

Just got back from another spin 'round the block now that the initial adrenalin hit has scaled back a bit!

It may sound uncaring or harsh but I won't be too worried about a few scratches from passing bushes, stone chips etc as I bought it to be an offroad vehicle. I intend keeping it about eight years so resale would be much the same by then than if I was ultra careful . I might as well enjoy it while I have it rather than stress about it.

It is similar to buying a new ute. It hurts the first time you throw some tools in the back or fill it with gravel but then you come to terms with the fact that that is what you bought it for.

I will look after it, have no fear, use the touch up paint to stop any rust getting in, keep it reasonable clean and serviced but at the end of the day it is just a car. A nice one I grant you but still just a hunk o' metal parts.

Just wait till the first time I scratch it - or wash it (apparantly this is when you "bond" with your car) and I'll let you know if I still feel the same way!!!!

Steven
FollowupID: 319845

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 00:05

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 00:05
Hi Steven
I'm with you Steve brought it to use it, not necessarily abuse it
but they do scratch and strange there is usually some happy memories of where or why it got scratched, and yes I think my Ar** is bonded to the seat.

FollowupID: 319847

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 12:50

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 12:50
It only took me 4 days to scratch the new guard the other week. Damn Liggy bushes. But that's what it's made for.
FollowupID: 319878

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 12:50

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 12:50
It only took me 4 days to scratch the new guard the other week. Damn Liggy bushes. But that's what it's made for.
FollowupID: 319879

Reply By: perf - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:57

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:57
I have a 4.0ltr 120 and am interested in the front recovery hooks you mentioned I also have the alloy bar. If you can advise any details of these hooks I would appreciate.
AnswerID: 58092

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 23:58

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 23:58
Hi perf,

A member on this forum is doing some early sales of these and I am not sure where he is up to in terms of a general offering as yet. He is interstate at the moment but I am sure he will post/reply shortly. I'll be trying a set when I can get them and will let people know how they go.

I'm not holding out on you! Just not sure where he is at in terms of availability etc. Stay tuned!

Steven
FollowupID: 319846

Follow Up By: DrewT - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 10:59

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 10:59
Hi. I have just purchased a pair of the front recovery "hooks" from David sheridan (CMI Toyota adelaide) .. dsheridan@cmv.com.au. $100pr incl postage. He supplies the hooks and also emailed me some good pictures showing where/how it is installed. You only need to buy the appropriate bolts/nuts which David specifies. A little effort to install (uses existing holes but need to drill the top one out to 12mm & this also involves swinging the lower half the radiator out of the way to get the top bolt in). Doesn't matter whether you have original bumper or toyota alloy bar. Also comes with a test certificate (failed at 13t)

cheers ... Drew
FollowupID: 319994

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 11:40

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 11:40
Perf,

As Steven said I have been away interstate. Back now if you want more info the details are in DrewT's response.
FollowupID: 320004

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 07:08

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 07:08
Hi Steven...

glad you've finally got it....didn't want to have to read that you'd "released the hounds"..ahha...ENJOY !

Lyn
AnswerID: 58113

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 07:34

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 07:34
It is shiney and new hey, and a manual a real car and a real driver, ahahaha, good luck with the new stead mate many years of happy 4being.

Manuals are for real men !!!
FollowupID: 319853

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 21:46

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 21:46
Thanks Mrs Al !!

Reason prevailed in the end (I would have been the reason for their END! hahaha)

Baz,

Done a few clicks now, I can feel that gearbox coming together nicely. People with autos don't realise the fun they are missing out on!

Steven
FollowupID: 319943

Reply By: GaryW - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 07:49

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 07:49
Good for you Steve - Have heaps of fun. Spare a thought for those of us still waiting. I ordered my LC 100 T/D 1 month ago - I hope I don't have to wait another 3. *fingures tapping*

Gaz
AnswerID: 58115

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 21:47

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 21:47
Mate, I did my time! 16 weeks in the queue waiting for the ship to come in.

Makes it all the more worth it when it finally gets here!

Steven
FollowupID: 319944

Reply By: Member - Gajm (VIC) - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 09:55

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 09:55
Congratulations Steve, I was actualy wondering if you had got it yet, been a long and interesting wait, and it's great to hear you aren't going to worry too much about a few scratches, no one wants them but it's inevitable. Mines a rough 97 GQ, and although dents won't break my heart I sure try not to let it happen...enjoy your new beast, and altho i love being able to hose out the mud inside the GQ i sure wouldnt mind some of the comfort you have now!
AnswerID: 58126

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 21:52

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 21:52
Hi Gajm,

Took it for a decent run tonight out to Tailem Bend and back to Adelaide. Rides fantastic. The wait is finally over.
Thanks for your comments. Hopefully I can at least keep the interior dry!

Steven
FollowupID: 319945

Reply By: Wombat - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 11:11

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 11:11
Congratulations Steven,

Nothing like that new car feeling - especially if it's a vehicle which you have aspired to. At one stage I thought it was a competion between Toyota and Michelle to see who could delay the delivery of the new baby the longest. Enjoy you new toy!
AnswerID: 58129

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 21:56

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 21:56
Mate, I was pacing around the Dealers office all last week like an expectant father wearing out the lino at the hospital! I was almost on first name terms with every staffer they had!

I wonder how long that 'new car smell' will last. I think you can actually buy it in a spray can now so you can extend the enjoyment!!!!!!

Steven
FollowupID: 319946

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 06:53

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 06:53
hi Steven

you can get a product called "new car smell"...and it's not bad....

Lyn
FollowupID: 319970

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 11:29

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 11:29
what a lucky bugga
AnswerID: 58131

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 13:01

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 13:01
speaking of luck
didnt you miss out when they were handing heads out.
hahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 319882

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 15:32

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 15:32
No I didnt miss out as you rightly say! Its a head? ? ? and i am proud of it....mum is too!
FollowupID: 319894

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 17:57

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 17:57
well i guess your right it is a head.
a head only a mother could love.
hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 319908

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 19:50

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 19:50
err I am ......
better stil ....Nick off ya old tart :-)
FollowupID: 319920

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 21:58

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 21:58
Guys, guys, guys!

I am supposed to be the one with the big head around here - this week at least!

Lucky it's a wagon. Can still get my head in!

Steven
FollowupID: 319948

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 07:50

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 07:50
Thanks for the support steve,
But that old tart wasnt refering to me having a big head...but a rather "strange" one....I think ?
I have put on sunnies to disguise myself so he wont be able to harass me anymore...
FollowupID: 319973

Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 18:09

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 18:09
Happy chappie at last Steven. Hope all goes well for you
AnswerID: 58189

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 22:01

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 22:01
Thanks guys,

I hope you get that new feeling too this week with the new motor. Hope you are not out of pocket at the end of the day. If it is only a bit of inconvenience then it should be well worth it in the long run.

Steven
FollowupID: 319949

Reply By: PradoBoy - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 21:14

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 21:14
Way to go Steven! Enjoy your new "Toy"ota... Keep us informed of how the new 120 Series goes. Being a proud and very happy owner of a 2001 90 Series TD RV I can vouch for them being a very good unit.

Good luck with getting time off from the boss! And enjoy your forays away - the Toy will make them fantastic fun.

Ciao,
PradoBoy
AnswerID: 58230

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 22:05

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 22:05
Thanks PradoBoy,

One of the guys at work has taken to calling me "prado boy" with just a hint of sarcasm. Given he drives an 80 series Sahara, is 6"2' and is a 4th level Black Belt I guess I'll just let it ride.

I'll have to tell him that you already have first dibs on that moniker.

Steven
FollowupID: 319952

Reply By: Member - StevenL - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 22:23

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 22:23
Thankyou everyone for all the great messages.

It has been a busy few days.

The Cooper A/Ts went on this morning and they look and feel fantastic. Just a slight increase in the noise level at 80-100km/h but this may increase as the wear I suppose.

Only one minor niggle so far that should probably have been addressed during the dealer delivery. The power windows needed "normalizing" before the auto up/down function would work and they could be all controlled from the drivers control pad. This involved starting with the windo in the up position, power it down halfway the power it back up to the top again and hold the switch up for another 1 second. The Auto function now works. This has to be done for each window and is apparantly a standard thing after a battery disconnection. Only found it because I was flicking thru the manual.

Went for a drive from Adelaide out to Tailem Bend this arvo, partly because it is a nice drive on the freeway to help bed in the engine, and partly because the diesel is about 5c a litre cheaper out there than in Adelaide! With a 180 litre tank you start to think about this a little more! That is a $1 saving every 20 litres.

Filled the beast for the first time (resisted the urge to fill it with Unleaded!) and it took forever and cost me $142.68. I have never put that much fuel in a car in one go in my life!!! The Civic took $35 worth even when the warning light was on! (Mental note to self: put in a rag to wipe hands on after using Diesel pump).

Anyway, the drive was fantastic. The Cruise control is easy to use and excellent. The power was great, even going up Crafers it accelerated from 90 to 105 easily on the steepest sections (granted it was nearly empty with one person on board).

That's it for now.

Thanks for the good wishes and I hope to see you all out there at some stage!

Steven
AnswerID: 58247

Follow Up By: Nixon - Friday, May 14, 2004 at 00:05

Friday, May 14, 2004 at 00:05
Congratulations Steve,

Our GXL Prado has had its share of scratches well prior its 1st Birthday.

Just interested in your Coopers. Are they 16 or 17 inch?

I have just had my 3rd punture repaired in the Dunlop Grandtreks and short listing the available 17 inch tyres.

Regards.
FollowupID: 320248

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Friday, May 14, 2004 at 10:06

Friday, May 14, 2004 at 10:06
Nixon,

They are Cooper A/T 265/70R17.

They are another 5% in profile over the Dunlops but I can't tell any difference in gearing or performance.

They feel a bit stiffer than the Dunlops in terms of ride and I am sure they will be a lot tougher. They certainly look to have a much more aggressive tread pattern and the tread looks much deeper too. I was suprised how little tread depth there was on the GrandTreks. (I actually checked out a couple of other Prados in the dealers yard to make sure I wasn't getting a half worn set!). Full report in a few weeks.

There is a thread going at the moment on the Yahoo 120 group about some new tyres in the original 265/65R17 size. Obviously I have lost interest in the argument now as I expect that mine will last about two years before I have to look at this question again.

Best of luck

Steven
Best
FollowupID: 320273

Reply By: Joe - Friday, May 14, 2004 at 14:08

Friday, May 14, 2004 at 14:08
Hi Steven,
I have had mine for a year now and really enjoy it.

Just in case you have not picked up on latest at 120 yahoo, as you have a factory fitted bull bar,like I do, do not attempt water crossings without a snorkel.
Their are problems with the inner guard lining refit and 2 engines distroyed in shallow crossings.

Joe
AnswerID: 58596

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Friday, May 14, 2004 at 14:47

Friday, May 14, 2004 at 14:47
Thanks Joe,

First thing I did after reading those posts about the seized V6 was to get under mine with a torch at the front end! Yes, the gaurd liners now jut out into space a bit behind the bar but they seem to have reattached it fairly securely.

It does look like the liner could be something of a water scoop up into the guard so I think a snorkel will be a priority before and serious water work. You would think they would have thought about this issue! I could understand this issue with an aftermarket bar (maybe) but with a genuine bar you would expect them to perhaps provide a reshaped guard liner or extension. I''l have to go and stick my head underneath a standard one now to see how the guard liner meets up to the standard bumper.

Will have a good look at it over the weekend.

Steven
FollowupID: 320313

Reply By: Joe - Friday, May 14, 2004 at 14:09

Friday, May 14, 2004 at 14:09
Hi Steven,
I have had mine for a year now and really enjoy it.

Just in case you have not picked up on latest at 120 yahoo, as you have a factory fitted bull bar,like I do, do not attempt water crossings without a snorkel.
Their are problems with the inner guard lining refit and 2 engines distroyed in shallow crossings.

Joe
AnswerID: 58597

Reply By: Nixon - Saturday, May 15, 2004 at 11:29

Saturday, May 15, 2004 at 11:29
Thanks for the info on the tyres Steve.

This is a never ending learning curve. I will also chase up the info on your "hookman", as I need a reovery point on the front.

The other concern that seems to be coming up, is the water issue (not that I intend doing that much river crossing). I will have to do what you did and get under the vehicle and try to understand what you guys are talking about.

Apart from the puntures, I have had 25,000kms of trouble free fun in our Prado, so far. That's included Southern Flinders, Arkaroola & Lake Torrrens (no water).

Best Wishes,
Nixon
AnswerID: 58705