Advice on Buying

Submitted: Saturday, May 15, 2004 at 13:24
ThreadID: 12900 Views:1993 Replies:11 FollowUps:3
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all,

I'm looking at buying a four wheel drive, with a budget of around $15 000, and have come up with a few options, and thought I would try to research these as best I can before parting with my hard earned dollars. Firstly, I am looking for a vehicle that will mostly sit in my driveway. I public transport it to work, and most of my driving will still be done in my other car. The 4WD will mainly be used for a bit of towing, limited off roading and carrying a great dane....

My only prerequisite is that I am a manual transmission driver, and of course, I like a few of the finer things in life, ie air con and power steering.
Thus far I am weighing up a V8 Land Rover Discovery and Mitsubishi Pajero V6 - 1992 - 1995 models of each. Both seem to be well featured, but both have pros and cons.
I found that a couple of Disco's out there are 2 door, albeit orphans on a used market - as a lot of people will want a 4WD for the "family" advantage they offer, so a 2 door may very well be a better car for the price, and 2 doors for me is no problem. So far I have found many more manual Disco's out there opposed to Pajero's. That being said - I live in Melbourne and feel I have a greater chance of finding a Pajero that has seen zilch off road work than a Disco.

I will be happy with either vehicle, but I think I will be happier with a dsicovery, but am concerned about overall bad faults / traits of each - though figuring a disco will be more expensive to repair than a Pajero.

I am not limited to either vehicle however, so please feel free to mention other vehicles, but I am trying to keep within a 10 year age bracket.

All in all, the price of purchase cannot be the main issue - vehicle ownership extends far and wide to maintenance, insurance, accessorising etc, and like all people I am trying to get the most bang for my buck.

Cheers,