Solar Panels - Kickass and Aussie Solar

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 04, 2015 at 21:48
ThreadID: 129861 Views:7314 Replies:3 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
Like so many others I am looking to buy an efficient solar panel system and find it is not a straight forward process. However, my searches here suggest that both Kickass and Aussie Batteries and Solar might provide good outcomes.

Would those folks who have purchased either of these two please share their experiences with us on the forum as they have had ownership for a reasonable period of time now. Thank you.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Aug 04, 2015 at 22:58

Tuesday, Aug 04, 2015 at 22:58
Hi Ian

Yes it is a real nightmare when you are not sure what is out there, and do they perform as good as the supplier claims.

I am the first to admit to I am no expert when it comes to solar, and took the sound advise given by those that know what they are talking about here on the forum.

A friend purchased an eBay special from Outbax camping that were selling the Maxray. From what I know and saw....do not touch them with a forty foot barge pole, as it was just pure crap. Thin cable that was a joke, panels that were out of square and when closed, there was a quarter inch gap, both hinges were broken when he unpacked it, the regulator failed, all from a brand new unit.

I have the 200 w Kickass and it is fantastic. If you watch the promotional video, it just how they are, from the heavy duty latches, ultra heavy duty cable that are very heavy compared to the ultra thin ones on the Maxray, and heavy duty bag to keep it safe.

In the full sun, it charges up my battery on the Ultimate camper with ease.

Just make sure that you compare apples with apples, as all solar panels are not created equal.

Just my thoughts from a very happy and satisfied customer of the Kickass.