Advise on buying a 4WD for camping

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 18, 2015 at 20:56
ThreadID: 130626 Views:1868 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
I am Johannes from Germany and I stay in Melbourne at the moment. My dream is to travel trough australia with my own 4WD and I need some advide on finding the best car for my needs.

1. Please do not kil me, but I do not have much money. This will be the biggest issue on finding a good car, but I can not afford more than 5000$ - but with rego and a running car with RWC. I know this isn´t much money, but it is all I can afford atm. Another option would be to work in Melbourne and earn some extra money, but I really want to get out of here and start travelling as soon as possible...This is why I also need a car that is economical to drive. I know that 4WDs are not economical at all, but I just want the best price/performance ratio.

2. I have no experiences in driving offroad yet, but I still want a serious 4WD. I do not want a AWD Subaru Outback etc., it does not have the "4WD-feeling", you know? :lol:

3. It would be nice if I could sleep in the car. I am 1,88m large. I have no problem with removing the back seats as I am travelling alone anyways or build a wooden platform to put the bed on.

4. I am a fan of DIY, but I am limited: I have no workshop here, no hoist and not even tools at the moment. I will buy them when I have the car, but just some basic stuff. If there is something with the engine(transmission/drivetrain I probably wont be able to fix this on my own for now.

Hope you can recommend me some cars! I guess the best option would be to buy a car with Rego and RWC? As I said I am in Melbourne now...I have to stay here for the whole next week and maybe a few days more. In this time I want to get a car, I think looking for cars in Melbourne is better than leaving Melbourne and look in the smaller towns?

Thanks, Johannes
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: TomH - Sunday, Oct 18, 2015 at 22:46