Unusual and rather funny car audio problem - help required

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 31, 2015 at 17:55
ThreadID: 130751 Views:2399 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
This Thread has been Archived
Howdy All

I purchased a 1996 Mitsubishi Delica as a project to turn into a campervan. Everything has been moving along nicely until a couple weeks ago when I had a double din head unit Radio / CD, with GPS, Bluetooth, DVD, Reverse camera and Ipod connection I bought off ebay installed. I had a mobile auto electrician come and do some other work on the van and while he was here I asked if he could help with installing the new unit as I'm not that good with electrics.

We got the old unit out and the new one in and it was pretty much plug and play apart from one lot of wires which we had to cut and shut as the plugs didn't marry up. Turn the unit on - all good, radio works, cd works, dvd works, gps works, synced my mobile phone in under 30 seconds - unbelievable for a non techo like me - didn't fit the reverse camera as I will do that later so I'm happy. Pay the auto eleccy and he goes home.

An hour later I thought I would go for a drive and test the gps out - start the van and straight away the volume goes to max volume - play with the buttons and can't turn the volume down. Turn off van take key out, put key in and turn on accessories - everything fine - volume button works, all good. Start the car and volume goes to max in 3 seconds. Turned it off and sat there playing when I realised that each time I touch the brake pedal the stereo increases one number with each tap of the brakes or if I hold my foot on the pedal it just steadily increases until it reaches max volume - I hope you are laughing by now coz it's soo funny !