Shaken, not stirred…

Submitted: Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 13:44
ThreadID: 130883 Views:3440 Replies:18 FollowUps:15

Happy hour around the camp fire – that time of the day when you can kick-back and reflect on a day of touring, wherever that might be, as the sun slips below the western horizon!

Being a Friday afternoon, I thought I would be bartender and take you order. Yes, it is a little early, but the sun is over the yard-arm and we’ve got into camp a little earlier than expected…

So, if you were ordering a drink to enjoy with your travelling companions what would it be?

And mind you, it doesn’t have to be alcoholic; the bar is well stocked of all kinds of beverages…!

But be warned, I am a responsible server of alcohol so you only get one drink, what’ll be?

Cheers, Baz – The Landy

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 14:19

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 14:19
Cheers Baz,

I'm not into beer so hope you might have a nicely chilled Apple Cider - lots of really good ones around these days and most have quite a kick.

I'm working in the shed making new doors for wardrobes upstairs so could use a cider to wash the wood dust away but it's only just after 2pm here so a bit early yet.

Whatever your favourite tipple - enjoy

Cheers and Thanks

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 592683

Reply By: vk1dx - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 15:39

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 15:39
Love that time of day:

AnswerID: 592685

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 16:18

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 16:18
Yep, a great place to be...

So what am I getting you Phil?

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 860852

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 18:36

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 18:36
Rick now a light beer would do fine than mate.

Last trip (CSR) it was two bottles of Brown Brothers Milawa 83 vintage and one old bottle of Glen Fittick (bought in the 90's).

That was a club training night. It was about -5 at sunup. Those chains are bloody cold.

FollowupID: 860855

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 15:45

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 15:45
I'll start with a beer thanks and whatever brand, except VB, that you've got. A xxxx will even do at a pinch.

When the sun goes down I'll have a shiraz or 3.

Thanks Muchly.

AnswerID: 592686

Reply By: Member - Terry W4 - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 17:21

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 17:21
Thanks Baz - I start with a G&T plenty of ice and lemon. Then I will have to have a look at what reds you have in your cellar.

AnswerID: 592692

Reply By: gbc - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 17:33

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 17:33
Any time I can get ice cubes to go with a bundy and Coke I am a very happy traveller ;)
If we are in a flash establishment it'll be a whisky sour if you can spare the eggs please barkeep.
AnswerID: 592693

Reply By: axle - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 18:04

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 18:04
One Drink??!,...Come on Baz, you know what its like to steer a deefer all day, then have to top all the oils up again and tie everything up that's ready to fall off!,..need at least ten!...lol.

AnswerID: 592694

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 19:33

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 19:33
Strewth, just thinking how did I ever find the time to have one drink!

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 860859

Reply By: Mick O - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 18:08

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 18:08
The usual thanks barman, delivered to the third chair on the left.

Many thanks

AnswerID: 592695

Follow Up By: Mick O - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 18:21

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 18:21
P.S. But only after the tyres are fixed ;-)

FollowupID: 860853

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 19:35

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 19:35
Beam me up...!

Cheers, Mick
FollowupID: 860860

Follow Up By: Steve in Kakadu - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 20:23

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 20:23
A 6 pack of Carlton Mid while doing the tyres, then a JD and dry in a handle around the fire Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 860863

Reply By: baznpud (tassie) - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 20:04

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 20:04
Four cubes of ice, slice or two of fresh lemon, one third of tall glass with white rum, top glass up with tonic water and sip away.
Followed by a shiraz or two or four.
the other baz.
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 592703

Reply By: Member - Will 76 Series - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 20:09

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 20:09
Dammit, I will have what ever is left
AnswerID: 592704

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 20:48

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 20:48
Baz, are your drinks cold?
If so I'll take a bourban and coke.

If not warm vodka and orange will be great thanks :-)

AnswerID: 592706

Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 21:32

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 21:32
Thanks Baz, a very cold VB please. If you do not have one, no worries I have plenty.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

FollowupID: 860870

Reply By: Idler Chris - Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 21:33

Friday, Nov 13, 2015 at 21:33
Thanks Baz, a very cold VB please. If you do not have one, no worries I have plenty.

AnswerID: 592709

Follow Up By: Member - Blue M - Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 03:53

Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 03:53
Baz ,
Now I know why I never seemed to fit in with the happy hour bunch.
I would be the only one that asked for a black tea, no sugar, Thanks.

FollowupID: 860875

Follow Up By: The Landy - Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 07:52

Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 07:52
Hey Blue

No problem, often my choice of beverage as well...even at happy hour!

Cheers, Baz

FollowupID: 860877

Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 09:22

Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 09:22
Cheers Blue,
You would not be the only one at the camp fires I frequent. Have been known to do it myself, but not very often.

FollowupID: 860881

Reply By: Member - Allan L2 - Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 10:46

Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 10:46
I'll go an ice cold Carlton Draught thanks Baz. Prefer a stubby but will settle for a can if necessary.
AnswerID: 592715

Follow Up By: The Landy - Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 10:58

Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 10:58
Geez, you're not messing about today Allan, only 10:45am, for sure coming right up!

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 860882

Follow Up By: Member - Allan L2 - Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 16:33

Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 16:33
Yeah it is a early, don't tell anyone.
FollowupID: 860886

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 11:47

Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 11:47
Don't mind a couple of XXXX Gold of an evening Baz, but as we're only allowed one drink, can you knock me the following please?

In a chilled large glass, preferably a handle, add 6-8 ice cubes, then top with rum to top of cubes, add a finger of Bickfords Lime Juice cordial, and fill with chilled tank water.

If you haven't any comfortable seats, I'm happy to sit on the ground, leaning up against my swag.......sigh!

Here's luck, Baz,

AnswerID: 592716

Reply By: Ozrover - Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 14:46

Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 14:46
Bundy & lime with a dash of rainwater for me Baz, that's after I've had a couple of cold Mids to wash the dust out...

AnswerID: 592718

Reply By: Member - sparra - Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 22:25

Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 22:25
Thanks Landy, A xxxx gold can please.
no good being the richest man in the cemetry

AnswerID: 592725

Reply By: Member - WBS - Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 23:00

Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 at 23:00
Not the biggest of drinkers but! A nice cold beer at the end of a hot day goes down very well. Just one mind you. I'm not fussy what brand as long as its cold. After dinner, a nice cup of tea with lemon thanks.
WBS
AnswerID: 592726

Reply By: Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 15:30

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 15:30
Well, Friday has segued into Sunday. It's been a long, hot, dusty drive. A nice, cold, hoppy India Pale Ale for me, thanks Baz.

A Little Creatures IPA or a Feral Hop Hog would hit the spot perfectly.

And if the nibblies are coming out and we're going another round, could I please have an Evans and Tate Sav Blanc to follow.

Now, how do you like your steak cooked - R, MR or WD?

Cheers!

AnswerID: 592750

Follow Up By: The Landy - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 17:47

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 17:47
Coming up, and medium are for me...!

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 860923

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 18:36

Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 18:36
Medium Rare Scotch Fillet please.... Numnumnum...
FollowupID: 860958

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 20:09

Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 20:09
Ah, yes, Jeff, just about my favourite meal. Early days in the trip there'd be a salad to accompany it. Later, baked or steamed veges. Either way, yummmmmm.

I do confess, though, that after the IPA and the Sav Blanc, a nice shiraz to go with the meal is a must. I suppose if Baz the Barman is too responsible to serve me a third drink, I could raid my own stocks.

But that's ok, it will be a memorable night anyway with good company, good wine and good food in the billion star restaurant :-)

Cheers and bon appetite

FollowupID: 860962

Reply By: Member - Judy and Laurie - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 22:21

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 22:21
A nice cold scotch and coke thanks Baz
Cheers Judy
AnswerID: 592765