Would charging my 110ah agm from multi sources cause instability

Hi all, I have a question for the techies please.
I have a 110 ah AGM battery installed with isolator in the boot of my car. When camping it is charged with either a 100w or 140 portable solar panel. One has a 10a controller and the other has a 15a controller. I suspect the current from each would not be equal. Would combining any of these 3 charging sources (car idle, 100w and 140w) cause instability in my battery? Thanks for your help. Joan

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Mick O - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 14:36

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 14:36
Joan, I'm no techie but I'd suspect that the two solar panels could be combined although I'm not sure of what the difference in controllers would mean (very little I suspect). I believe that they could not be combined directly with the input of the vehicle alternator though (I'm sure I'll be corrected shortly lol ;-) which is a much higher input rate.

The best option would be a DC-DC charger connected to the battery and have that accept and prioritise the best charging options for the battery. You could connect one or both of the panels to the DC-DC charger as 'open circuit' meaning you bypass the built in solar panel controller and just pump the raw output of each panel into the DC-DC charger. It will regulate it appropriately and charge the battery in the way it should be charged.

Cheers

Mick

''We knew from the experience of well-known travelers that the
trip would doubtless be attended with much hardship.''
Richard Maurice - 1903

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 592803

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 19, 2015 at 18:29

Thursday, Nov 19, 2015 at 18:29
Im a techie and Mick you're surprisingly accurate
Time is an illusion produced by the passage of history

Lifetime Member

FollowupID: 861076

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 14:55

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 14:55