Licence Renewal

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 13:55
ThreadID: 131030 Views:2823 Replies:7 FollowUps:17
Hello,
For those who have experienced this situation.
Leaving NSW in April 2016 and heading to WA. My licence is due for renewal in Nov.2016 will be staying in WA travelling the state before heading back home in early 2017.
Have been to the RMS and they are stating I am unable to renew my licence until it is within 6 months of the renewal date, that means I have to wait until June to renew my licence.
Question is, has anybody been in this situation before if so how did you get around not having to go back to your licenced state to renew licence.
Thank You
Allan and Ang

Reply By: mountainman - Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 14:12

Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 14:12
Its the RTA, they dont give a damn.
once I did pink slip and I left for NT so I could keep it NSW rego.
they said wait for the mail.
by then the pink slip be out of date...
Rta are the WORST company to handle.
thinking like the RTA , cancel it now and go through the process again..
I hate RTA/RMS
AnswerID: 593349

Reply By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 14:19

Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 14:19
Allan, fairly simple job, go to the rta site,licence renewal, they explain it well.Regards Keith
AnswerID: 593350

Reply By: garrycol - Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 14:29

Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 14:29
Technically speaking, and unless you have some sort of exemption, as you will be in WA for more than 3 months you should be changing licence, rego etc to WA.

However I do accept common sense should apply but we know it doesnt.
AnswerID: 593352

Follow Up By: TomH - Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 15:02

Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 15:02
Not so You only have to change it if you are living there permanently as in owning a house as a principal residence and have a garaging address there or pay utilities such as rates ,water and power. We travelled for 18 months and never had to change it.
AFAIK Tassie is the only place that you may have to do that.

IF you move to QLD you have 14 days from commencement of residence to change rego and 3 months for licence. After that the vehicle is classed as unregistered and uninsured and you dont have a licence any more.
FollowupID: 861568

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 10:00

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 10:00
Wouldn't renting be the same Tom? Not just owning.

FollowupID: 861615

Follow Up By: TomH - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 11:09

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 11:09
Yes if you are paying the utilities and insurance etc. If you are "travelling" through and staying more than 3 months you dont have to change. We travelled for months in a QLD reg car and a WA reg Van.
Got some funny comments from truckies but cops never worried.
Neither did Centrelink who paid us rent assistance for whenever we paid and sent the forms in on time.

Our neighbour in QLD goes to Darwin for the winter almost every year. doesnt ever change his licence or rego. He lives in his van. However it may be a bit sus after 3 months but havve never heard of anyone doing it

http://www.transport.wa.gov.au/licensing/visiting-moving-from-interstate.asp

http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/Licensing/Driving-interstate-or-overseas.aspx

http://www.sa.gov.au/topics/transport-travel-and-motoring/motoring/drivers-and-licences/drivers-licence-transfer

http://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/roads/licence/visiting-nsw.html

Tassie of course is different as is NT

http://www.transport.tas.gov.au/licensing/newtotas/interstate

http://www.transport.nt.gov.au/mvr/licensing/faqs/interstate-licence
FollowupID: 861619

Reply By: TomH - Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 15:04

Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 15:04
Do it here when the time comes

https://www.onegov.nsw.gov.au/gls_eservice/renewals/Renew.aspx
AnswerID: 593353

Follow Up By: Geoffr17 - Friday, Dec 04, 2015 at 08:45

Friday, Dec 04, 2015 at 08:45
Can't get into the details of this site without filling it in. I was interested if this is an online application how you do the eye test ( reading the letters at the Registry)required to renew .
FollowupID: 861580

Follow Up By: TomH - Friday, Dec 04, 2015 at 09:01

Friday, Dec 04, 2015 at 09:01
Maybe its in very small print so if you cant read it you dont get the licence.
ROFL.

Its there to do so must be some way or they wouldnt have it.
FollowupID: 861581

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Friday, Dec 04, 2015 at 11:36

Friday, Dec 04, 2015 at 11:36
Yes, just don't email them asking for it in booger test. Fail.
FollowupID: 861588

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Friday, Dec 04, 2015 at 11:37

Friday, Dec 04, 2015 at 11:37
Or BIGGER text even lol.
Can't see the keyboard properly, maybe I'll fail the eye test :/
FollowupID: 861589

Reply By: Frank P (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 15:23

Thursday, Dec 03, 2015 at 15:23
Allan,

Go to this link and scroll down to

"Renewing or replacing your licence while temporarily out of NSW."

It's a fair way down so scroll away!

AnswerID: 593354

Follow Up By: Geoffr17 - Friday, Dec 04, 2015 at 09:07

Friday, Dec 04, 2015 at 09:07
Interesting , as per my comment above it appears that under this application you do not do an eye test. You have to make the declarations about Glasses etc , but in the wrong hands , say someone still desperate to drive but their eye sight is so bad that they could not read an eye chart by any method could continue to drive .

Go interstate and fill in this form , instead of your local Registry where you will be tested.

Dangerous loophole ???
FollowupID: 861582

Follow Up By: Gronk - Friday, Dec 04, 2015 at 10:31

Friday, Dec 04, 2015 at 10:31
Not everyone does an eye test....I renewed not long ago and didn't do one.
FollowupID: 861586

Follow Up By: Gronk - Friday, Dec 04, 2015 at 10:39

Friday, Dec 04, 2015 at 10:39
Only problem with that link for renewing is you need to provide an address to send the license to....not much good if you are travelling around.

Or, you can get it sent to someone you know, but they still need to get it to you some how ? Courier ? Express post ?

I know......you can renew up to 6 mths late.....but obviously you won't have a license after the expiry date.....so, the missus will have to drive ! LOL
FollowupID: 861587

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 10:04

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 10:04
Do it before you go Gronk. It's called planning and that is what the op is doing mate.

FollowupID: 861616

Follow Up By: Gronk - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 12:16

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 12:16
Sorry Phil, but that's why the OP asked the question, he can't do it before he goes..
FollowupID: 861620

Reply By: The Bantam - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 09:54

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 09:54
The single most important question her is ....... will you be "maintaining your permanent residence" in NSW?

If so you you have no other legal choice but to renew in NSW.

How you do that may be more complicated.

It may be simplest to return to your residential address for a short period to deal with the matter.

AnswerID: 593405

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 10:08

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 10:08
I haven't read the details of the forms but a lot of applications include a "postal address" for just this issue. Give a relatives etc address or a "drop box" service that you can get forwarded as you travel.

If it does have a postal address section the the options are countless/

FollowupID: 861617

Reply By: TomH - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 18:24

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 18:24
As you say you have 6 months to renew it before it expires so look at the online application. Do it 5 months before it expires and get them to send it to a address you will be at in the future and tell those people it will be arriving. Problem solved I would think
AnswerID: 593420

Follow Up By: Gronk - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 18:55

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 18:55
Not an option for the OP....he's going to be travelling around WA, so no address to send it to !
FollowupID: 861632

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 21:05

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 21:05
NSW RMS gives a 6 month window before expiry. If you cannot get your paperwork that I linked to in another follow-up to RMS and provide a pick-up address that you can be at within that 6 month period, then you are trying to make the system fail.

Anyone can do either - ie adjust their arrangements so they can comply within the given 6 months period, or be bloody minded and shown to be an unlicensed fool.

It is YOUR responsibility to have a current licence. I think NSW RMS has given travellers the means to do that. Every five years, with 6 months notice, you just MIGHT have to marginally inconvenience yourself to comply with the law.

All this other stuff is just creating obstacles for the hell of it.

FollowupID: 861639

Follow Up By: TomH - Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 21:06

Saturday, Dec 05, 2015 at 21:06
If he is going to stay in a van park he will have. We got our mail sent to a friend and then told them where we would be on a certain date and they sent it to there with "Arriving on the 14th June or whatever" We never failed to get it.

We bought a new van in Geraldton and when we registered it they allowed us to use the van park as the address for it. Van parks have a street address so just get it sent to 14 Smith St Humpty Doo or wherever.
FollowupID: 861640

Follow Up By: Gronk - Sunday, Dec 06, 2015 at 09:56

Sunday, Dec 06, 2015 at 09:56
That's if the OP wants to be at a van park for a certain length of time....

Or he can do it online and get the license sent to a friend and then get it sent by express post to where ever he chooses....all it will take is spending approx 3 days in the one spot !
FollowupID: 861657