Frazer Island Barge prices.

Submitted: Monday, Jun 17, 2002 at 00:00
ThreadID: 1313 Views:2356 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
It seems easy to get the prices for a stay on Frazer Island. However nowhere can we find the price of the Inskip barge fare. Any info would be appreciated.

Reply By: DennisN - Monday, Jun 17, 2002 at 00:00

Monday, Jun 17, 2002 at 00:00
G'day teddy,J, try this website: http://www.hervey.com.au/FraserIsland/fraser7.htm All the ferry companies are listed as well as their contact phone numbers. If you can't get full info here try a search on "Google" using key phrase"Inskip Point ferry prices". I did, and thats where I got the URL above. There are 46 other references - I didn't chase them. Hope this helps mate. Dennis N
AnswerID: 4220

Follow Up By: Teddy,j - Monday, Jun 17, 2002 at 00:00

Thanks HEAPS Dennis.
FollowupID: 1825

Reply By: geoff Waye - Monday, Jun 17, 2002 at 00:00

I hope the information below is what you are after

from inskip point (the very bottom of the island) to fraser it is a different situation. there use to be only one barge owned by the company that runs the hervey bay operations, they were charging $70 plus $4 per passenger ($82 vehicle with 3 passengers) this year a new barge started up in opposition, cheaper rates and longer hours of operation. the established operator has put on 2 barges and dropped the price to below cost to put the new boys broke. they are fighting on and we paid $40 and no extra for passengers a few extra dollars on the established operator but a hell of a saving on the old price which will come back unless travellers support the green barge the " manta- ray "

Regards Geoff
AnswerID: 4222

Reply By: kevin - Monday, Jun 17, 2002 at 00:00

three to four months ago we paid $30 and no extra for passengers.
AnswerID: 4228

Reply By: Axel +Karen - Monday, Jun 17, 2002 at 00:00

teddy.j ,,the prices vary ,time of year,and it would seem that even the weather forcast comes into play,,sept 2000 we paid $70 return vehicle only , was raining,,,, feb 2001 ,,,$70 one way ,vehicle only ,brilliant sunshine,,,,,,,sept 2001 ,,$65 return ,vehicle and camper trailer ,, forcast of rain,,,,Queens b/day weekend this year $50 return ,vehicle and camper trailer ,,,,great weather,,crowded like a free U2 rock concert,,, no rhyme or real reason ever given for the price variations when queried ,,,,you pays your CASH or you dont go,,,,Axel...
AnswerID: 4230

Follow Up By: Teddy,j - Tuesday, Jun 18, 2002 at 00:00

Tuesday, Jun 18, 2002 at 00:00
We never expected to get such a great response from everybody. Thanks to all.
FollowupID: 1833

Reply By: Dazmit - Tuesday, Jun 18, 2002 at 00:00

Try this website: www.rainbow-beach.org/manta-ray.html

As Geoff said the Manta-ray is a few dollars more but it is worth it to have some competition otherwise it will be back to the rip-off prices. The manta-ray is also quicker & doesn't wait up to 30 minutes or more to fill the barge up before going.

Enjoy your trip.
AnswerID: 4244

Reply By: peter - Tuesday, Jun 18, 2002 at 00:00

i recommend the manta-ray. they give good service and without competition the other company with a monopoly will lift the price back towards $100. look for the green and yellow barge
AnswerID: 4267

Reply By: Graham - Sunday, Jun 23, 2002 at 00:00

Sunday, Jun 23, 2002 at 00:00
Was there A couple of weeks ago and it was down $20 !!!!!!!! 3 barges operating then and I doubt any of them making money..... Except when the fishing competition finished there was 4 barges operating and the que was up to over 115 vechicles long one moring for those trying to get back off the island... the beach was busier than Bourke St....

BTW if you like beach driving, it's a good easy drive from Noosa to Inskip Pt, via Rainbow Beach..... AND..... we loved our weeks stay at Rainbow Beach

enjoy.....

AnswerID: 4370

Reply By: David - Friday, Jul 05, 2002 at 00:00

Friday, Jul 05, 2002 at 00:00
G'day Teddy, just got back from Frazer Island last night, three barges opperating from Inskip, Rainbow Venture, Elmers and the Manta- Ray ( opposition ), the cost was $20.00 including trailers return on the R/V & E barges, opperates from 7.30am to last barge from Frazer at 5.30pm depending on tide, $30.00 return on Manta-Ray, i recomend this barge as they will go to and from the island with only one vehicle on board, you can also book ahead onto this barge & they will wait for you if you are running late, without this barge the prices will go straight through the roof overnight, you can contact the Manta-Ray directly on 0418 872 599, i have no affiliation with the Manta-ray, just sick and tired of paying over the top prices for a ten minute boat trip, regards, David.
AnswerID: 4697