legal speak

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 28, 2016 at 10:46
ThreadID: 131478 Views:3322 Replies:10 FollowUps:10
This Thread has been Archived
I'm trying to get my head around a paragraph in the WA caravan and camping act. I think I know what it means but I thought I would ask the opinion of others on this forum who are more wise in the ways of legal speak then me.
This is the paragraph, it refers to Part 2 of the act.

"If there is a conflict or inconsistency between this Part and any other written law other than a local law, the other written law prevails to the extent of the conflict or inconsistency."

I hope I don't bore everyone with this subject.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Thursday, Jan 28, 2016 at 11:02

Thursday, Jan 28, 2016 at 11:02
If the section of Part 2 of the Act says you can camp by any waterway for example, and a local council or other protection type body says you cant, then that latter law prevails.

Disclaimer - I am not a lawyer, nor do I play one in a TV series.
AnswerID: 595537

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jan 28, 2016 at 14:06

Thursday, Jan 28, 2016 at 14:06
Nope. The "higher authority" ie WA Government or the NPWS prevails. The local council rule is not worth the paper it is written on, despite it being put up later. If your "other protection type body" is WA Government or higher based then yes I would agree.

NPWS says you can camp. The local council can't stop you.

It would be interesting if the "local" authority was the WA Police local office. I think that in this case discretion is the better part of valour and I would move on.

Have fun

Phil
FollowupID: 864247

Reply By: Member - ACD 1 - Thursday, Jan 28, 2016 at 11:05

Thursday, Jan 28, 2016 at 11:05
Hi Cruznoz

I interpret it this way:

- The WA Caravan and Camping Act (WACCA) doesn't have the power to override any other act or local Authority.