Mitsubishi triton 2010 GLX - R devastated owners blown head gasket

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 09:38
ThreadID: 132241 Views:10019 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
We are the devastated owners of a Mitsubishi Triton which has only done 116000 k's. No overheating no losing water serviced regularly never thrashed - took it in for a service two weeks ago to be told there was a leak on the water pump. Further investigation revealed a blown head gasket leaking down the front. Mitsubishi have had the vehicle for two weeks and we wait for a ruling on 'goodwill' to fix vehicle. Has anyone else had similar problems.

Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 12:33

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 12:33
Back then I'm pretty sure they came with a 10 year drive train warranty, or 160,000ks.

AnswerID: 599220

Follow Up By: maureen d - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 14:25

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 14:25
Thanks for that
FollowupID: 868417

Follow Up By: Notso - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 14:28

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 14:28
Not sure but i think it was only available to the original owners and you had to register for it.
FollowupID: 868419

Reply By: Pauly_T - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 12:47

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 12:47
Try posting on newtriton.net. They deal with everything and anything to do with Tritons. Active, Australian based, helpful users. Large knowledge base. Don't forget to search.

AnswerID: 599221

Follow Up By: maureen d - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 14:26

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 14:26
Will do thanks
FollowupID: 868418

Reply By: Sigmund - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 14:32

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 14:32
I've had vehicles blow a head gasket with lower k's than that.
AnswerID: 599225

Reply By: Ron N - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 17:05

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 17:05
It will all hinge on whether the coolant was religiously replaced with the factory-approved coolant at the specified intervals.

Failure to attend to this often-overlooked detail means death for todays alloy-rich engines.

The engines of today will corrode seriously within 5 years, if coolant isn't totally replaced at the 2 or 3 year specified intervals. The cooling system must also be thoroughly flushed at the same time.

Even replacing the coolant with an aftermarket brand isn't good enough. You MUST use the manufacturers specified coolant.

If you have proof of the coolant being replaced religiously with the specified replacement coolant, then Mitsubishi should come to the party with a substantial warranty repair offer.

AnswerID: 599239

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 08:44

Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 08:44
Not sure about the Triton, but most vehicles I know of in recent years have the extra long life coolant and doesn't need changing for 5 years or more.
FollowupID: 868526

Follow Up By: Ron N - Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 15:01

Friday, Apr 29, 2016 at 15:01
Phil, with the amount of alloy in engines and cooling systems today (close to 100% in many cases - and those that are only 95%, use 5% plastic resins for the other components), any company or manufacturer who says you can go 5 years without even looking at the coolant is on a par with the manufacturers and oil-floggers who reckon you can go 20,000 or 30,000kms between oil changes.

It's all about getting the marketing edge. If the manufacturer states that coolant only needs to be changed every 5 years, it's all about reducing maintenance periods and costs, and thereby gaining an edge over the opposition.

They don't give the proverbial rats rear end about protecting the engine and cooling system to give extended life. They're quite happy to have your block/head/gaskets develop corrosion after 5 or 6 years - because by then its well out of warranty and they can sell lot of parts to fix the problem. And parts is where they make their money.

In over 50 years of owning, buying and selling probably 250-300 vehicles (I assist with vehicle purchasing for associates, friends and family), finding cooling system neglect and corrosion is so common, it's not funny.

I back away, holding out a cross, any time I look at a used vehicle with corrosion in the cooling system.

It's also the largest single reason for vehicle stoppages and recoveries - around 40-45% of vehicle failures are cooling system related.

All ready-mixed coolants and additives are glycol-based. The only difference is the minor additives. There's no silver bullet in additives that allows alloy engines and components to operate for many years without attention. They all need a regular flush and coolant replacement.

In my experience, Toyota make the best coolant for performance when it comes to protection.
I have owned 15 yr old Toyotas with part-alloy engines that still haven't had a single cooling system or engine cooling component replaced - because I religiously flush the cooling system every 3 years, and then add new Toyota coolant with a 40%/60% mix with rainwater or distilled water.
It's a formula that works for me - it's cheap insurance - and following this regimen has never let me down, as regards cooling system failures or corrosion.

FollowupID: 868548

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, May 01, 2016 at 17:45

Sunday, May 01, 2016 at 17:45
Gday Ron,
Biggest issue I think with older coolants that required 2 year changes were that owners (or their mechanics) were too lazy to do them and dispose of the coolant at the recyclers. How many owners paid for changes which were never done? - I know of a few. So the coolant got well past its used by date. And of course most aftermarket workshops would substitute aftermarket coolants without a proper flush and neutralise.

I haven't seen corrosion in any alloy housings or water pumps for over 20 years which I think is testament to the excellent factory coolants. The only aluminium radiators I've seen blocked were those where aftermarket coolants had been used and precipitation occurred. Like you, I will only use the Toyota coolant on toyota vehicles. I don't know whether the occasional weep from water pumps is related to the coolant??
Their "long life" coolant was a 2 year replacement, and some years back they changed over to the "super long life" coolant with a 5 year change interval. I trust Toyota on that one because they do not have a past history of deceiving the consumer with this stuff.
Are there any new vehicle manufacturers today who require coolant changes in less than 5 years? My wife's VW is indefinite - no change interval recommended!!
FollowupID: 868631

Reply By: mountainman - Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 19:12

Wednesday, Apr 27, 2016 at 19:12
A mate had his motor replaced under warranty.
Took them months to get it going
and worst thing was they put the old injectors back in.
good one BAKER MOTORS
had the overheating issues
they did all the updates and had to throw a new motor in
AnswerID: 599248