Why are yankee trucks so expensive in OZ

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 16:30
ThreadID: 132617 Views:6192 Replies:5 FollowUps:12
This isn't a fingure pointing thread, more so just wanting to know about the pricing structure out of curiosity of American trucks such a Ford F Series, Tundra, Silverado etc in Australia.

I have a bit of a facination (but not the dollars) of these trucks and having just come back from the US I noticed over there that a lot of their big trucks in this category are priced around what we pay for a dual cab ute here in Australia. I asked the folks over there about pricing and they were astounded at the Australian prices (ie $100-150k) for these models.

I understand the exchange rate isn't favourable at the moment, and there would be import duty (payable on all imported cars in Australia mind you) and probably $15-20k for a right hand drive conversion, but with all that taken into account, the pricing seems to be up there.
Also, looking at prices of Australian commercial trucks for example Mitsubishi Canter/Fighters, or Isuzus, you can get a new one for $80k, which had me asking myself why the US ones here are $120-150k?

Reply By: TomH - Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 17:10

Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 17:10
Initial cost of a top of the line GMC Denali I saw was $55000US in 2014. $ was about = then Will be plus 30% today as something I want is $99US and is $137AU without Paypal fees

Sothat truck would be $76000 plus Shipping etc $6000? +GST so now becomes $90200
Before you start anything here. which includes inspections wharfage etc.
Cost of conversion would make up most of the rest plus a profit for the seller in Aus so $120 -$140000 not out of the way.
AnswerID: 600853

Follow Up By: Top End Az - Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 17:33

Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 17:33
I saw new 2016 base model Ford F150 in a yard for $26,000 through to better models for $45k ( USD) making it AUD $32- 55k and then similar model online in Qld for $140k.
FollowupID: 870214

Follow Up By: TomH - Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 17:52

Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 17:52
Well $45k is $62 AU without any fees for a start and a base F150 is the equiv of a Triton or at best a Hilux 2wd.
Big difference in price between 2wd and 4wd
F250 2wd
F150 FWD top of the line
The Denali I saw was a full fledged 4wd with everything Like this one
Denali 4wd
However as you say there is a disparity in the pricing and one would have to check with someone who has imported one themselves and paid the conversion price themselves. Performax at Gympie are supposedly the best to do it
FollowupID: 870215

Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 17:57

Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 17:57
Tom

Because they can.

There was an article about minimum wages around the world a few days ago. In Oz its about $17.70 an hour. Next is the UK and NZ at $14AUD an hour. Then comes USA at $10 an hour.

Why wouldn't you charge the highest paid people in the world top dollar?

FollowupID: 870216

Follow Up By: tony_j - Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 18:16

Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 18:16
If you know the fine print to importing vehicles, it's not that expensive. If you don't, then it will cost you in $ and time. Yep, you can buy US vehicles in USA cheap (by our standards) and import and convert reasonably cheap. But, you have to have the 'inside' knowledge.
Basically, the commercial sellers in Aust sell at a price the Aust public will pay. With little to no competition, why wouldn't they.
FollowupID: 870218

Follow Up By: Top End Az - Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 18:42

Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 18:42
Agree Tom. I guess many folks buying these are looking more for the tow capacity and grunt and maybe less at the 4wd aspect. Again, I refer to the Aussie truck market with Isuzu and Mitsi putting out commercial trucks (council size trucks) for the 80k mark and then what Toyota charge for a Cruiser ute.
I was on the Performax site this arvo. I know they are a good company etc but be prepared to sell a kidney or your first born.
With the govt looking at grey imports over the next couple years things may change price wise.
FollowupID: 870219

Follow Up By: TomH - Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 22:40

Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 22:40
$10 an hour in the USA ???? Well we asked a waiter at a restaurant about wages in kitchens and waiting.
Told him my son is a Chef and gets $47,000 a year, which is not a lot in AUS. He said the chefs will be out to get the address.
His wages, he said were just over $4 an hour and he lived off tips.
He would starve because he was a c**p waiter as it turned out.
House maids in hotels arent much better and the ones on the cruise ships work very hard for about $6 an hour plus tips.
Most are Filipinos who work for about 8 months a year on the ship and send the money home to their families.

Our housemaid was married with children but said it was the only way for them to live.
FollowupID: 870230

Follow Up By: Ron N - Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 23:14

Thursday, Jun 02, 2016 at 23:14
They sell for those figures, because the market (rich people) don't really care what they pay for them, and they have oodles of coin to splash around on toys.

These trucks are waaay overrated and overpriced - and the parts are even worse.
I bought a 4WD F100 in 1977 and it cost me $11000. A new Statesman was $6000 back then.

It was quite a satisfactory truck after I got all the bugs out of it (like having to fork out another $1200 to get power steering fitted, because it needed it, to reduce the mind-boggling amount of turns, lock-to-lock in the steering - and to cure it from wandering all over the road).

It had incredible off-road ability and it could carry 2 tonnes with ease, even though it was only rated for 1 tonne.
However, it was thirsty, the parts prices were horrendous, and a Landcruiser did virtually the same job (apart from carrying 2 tonnes) for a lot less money.

I sold it in 1993, about 5 years after I'd fully rebuilt it from the ground up. The ground-up restoration cost many many thousands, just in spare parts costs alone.

Everything to do with F-trucks parts is a total and complete rort. There are a number of aftermarket dealers who are multi-millionaires, just out of dealing in American truck parts and components.
I have never purchased another American truck ever again, and it's not likely I will do so in the future. They are just simply poor value.

FollowupID: 870236

Reply By: swampy - Friday, Jun 03, 2016 at 19:17

Friday, Jun 03, 2016 at 19:17
hi
Why does it cost a lot .
Taxes
Import duties
Conversion to Rhd
Transport
Cleaning for quarantine if unit is used
Massive amounts of greed by the importer reseller .
There is a reason why many units are top of the line its so they can extort the most from you .
Did I mention parts which is a complete and utter joke 500% mark up on parts .
Its was mentioned on the channel 7 show sunrise
Dodge ram single cab at least 4.5 ton maybe v10 engine 30,000$
Rather have one of these than the so great no Feeling Thailand utes Which are overpriced as well
IF WE HAVE NO CAR INDUSTRY TO PROTECT WHY CAN`T WE JUST DRIVE LHD UTES ?????

TOMO
AnswerID: 600914

Follow Up By: Member - drew2026 - Sunday, Jun 05, 2016 at 19:52

Sunday, Jun 05, 2016 at 19:52
agree with everything you say, Tomo, especially your last point
FollowupID: 870360

Reply By: Mogul - Friday, Jun 03, 2016 at 21:06

Friday, Jun 03, 2016 at 21:06
$55,000USD is $80,000AUD at today's rate. Add to that 5% import duty, 10% gst, LCT and you are now at $100,000. Also add shipping, Port fee's, etc. there is another $5,000 at least plus $10,000 conversion cost. Doesn't leave a lot for the importer selling at $120 to $125,000.
AnswerID: 600924

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Jun 03, 2016 at 21:36

Friday, Jun 03, 2016 at 21:36
Warranty provided by the local importer would also have to be factored in

I doubt they have any recourse for reimbursement from the US as they would only be buying from a reseller themselves
FollowupID: 870294

Follow Up By: Ron N - Friday, Jun 03, 2016 at 21:51

Friday, Jun 03, 2016 at 21:51
My nephew has a Ford Raptor. It cost him a mind-boggling $170,000.

I personally think someone made a lot of profit in the deal somewhere.

He did say it's a ripper of a vehicle to drive - but he did also mention it has that old Yank Tank problem - the inability to pass any servo without needing a top-up! [;-)

FollowupID: 870297

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Jun 03, 2016 at 21:44

Friday, Jun 03, 2016 at 21:44
The prices of the Australian commercial trucks are from dealers with supply agreements with the manufacturers and are sold on a much larger scale and with buying power compared to a small company purchasing a handful of vehicles most likely from a retailer/ reseller not the manufacturer and then adding all the on costs and their warranties to retail here in Australia

I think the asking prices are not unreasonable considering
AnswerID: 600928

Follow Up By: Top End Az - Saturday, Jun 04, 2016 at 18:16

Saturday, Jun 04, 2016 at 18:16
All cars entering Australia (including Thai cars) have to be Shipped here, pay gust, port fees, quarantine etc so some of these arguments aren't adding up. The only extra cost I see is the right hand drive conversion.
FollowupID: 870331

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Jun 04, 2016 at 19:00

Saturday, Jun 04, 2016 at 19:00
Well firstly they are paying more for the base price of the product and the fees are percentage based on that

I don't have figures but do you really think that a small business bringing in a handful of vehicles is getting the same shipping and handling rates as Mitsubishi and Toyota Etc ?

The import costs would be substantially different between the two
FollowupID: 870332

Reply By: LIFE MEMBER-snailbait - Tuesday, Jun 07, 2016 at 08:35

Tuesday, Jun 07, 2016 at 08:35
They don't make RHD Truck so when they get to Australia it cost aprox 40 k to convert and compliance to Aus RDA
AnswerID: 601089