Waving etiquette

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 20:00
ThreadID: 132973 Views:4991 Replies:9 FollowUps:14
Hi just purchased a caravan and whilst returning home yesterday from Moonee Beach on NSW coast we notice a lot of fellow caravaners would wave so I commenced waving back. But 1 thing I noticed that owners of one well known brand owners rarely wave. Just wondering what other people's thoughts were and the etiquette.

Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 20:21

Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 20:21
Why do you wave at just caravans....why not trucks and cars as well ?

Especially on the east coast there are heaps of vans so I don't bother.

If I was out west I might, but then I might wave at anyone..

Don't think there is any etiquette, just whatever takes your fancy !!
AnswerID: 602280

Reply By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 20:27

Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 20:27
Gday Fitzie
I dont tow, but i dont wave to all who wave to me either. I am looking at other things and just dont look at others in the front seat of their cars. My Darling goes crook on me because i have not seen the wave. I may have looked at my speedo or oil gauge , or temp, all these things have to be done while driving. So missing a wave is just so easy.Dont worry about it.

AnswerID: 602281

Reply By: Shaker - Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 20:39

Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 20:39
I only wave now if I'm remote or see someone towing the same camper as me, be it Tvan or Quantum!

AnswerID: 602282

Reply By: Baz - The Landy - Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 21:13

Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 21:13
A bit like saying g'day, feel free to do so...!

Cheers, Baz - The Landy

AnswerID: 602284

Follow Up By: mountainman - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 23:37

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 23:37
Or give them the finger :-P
at least youll get their attention then ;-)
FollowupID: 871925

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 21:51

Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 21:51
We wave at caravanners and most wave back, we wave at motorhomers and many wave back, we wave at anyone in remote areas and everyone waves back. Out in the Western Australian wheatbelt Lake Grace has called itself the 'town or waves' to encourage friendliness and make visitors feel welcome.

AnswerID: 602286

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 12:18

Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 12:18
Yep, they even have signs along the roads to encourage friendly waves.
FollowupID: 871880

Reply By: CSeaJay - Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 10:38

Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 10:38
We wae.

80% wave back.
But I found that Landrover owners don't wave much.
(Ducking for cover)
CJ
AnswerID: 602300

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 10:59

Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 10:59
CJ,
I think you will find most Land Rover owners wave to other Land Rover owners.
Something about "misery likes company" (;=))
(Got room in that fox hole for one more?????..lol)
FollowupID: 871877

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 17:58

Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 17:58
Landrover owners would love to wave but sadly they have their hands full! Literally :)) Michael

FollowupID: 871894

Reply By: Member - Roachie - Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 17:23

Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 17:23
I drive a mail van for a living...300 klicks a day here on the Yorke Peninsula, SA.

I don't even bother looking to see if other drivers wave to me......I just automatically lift a hand off the wheel to wave to every other driver.

The funny thing is this......sometimes I have to give myself a face-slap....I occasionally wave even at NIGHT!!! hahaha.

It doesn't bother me whether somebody waves back or not.

By the way, would the OP mind elaborating on which caravan brand owners don't wave please? For the record, I own a Bushtracker and there seems to be some sort of belief that owners of such brand are elitist. I've only met a handful of other owners, but to a man (and woman) they are some of the most down-to-earth people I've ever met.

Roachie....Don't follow me....I'm lost!

AnswerID: 602315

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 19:36

Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 19:36
Same here Roachie. Not the bit about driving a mail van. I just lift a few fingers off the wheel. Cars towing, not towing, motorhomes, trucks whatever. I usually don't bother to look at the other driver. I'm too busy making sure I stay on my side of the road.
I must admit the few times I have snuck a peek the motorhome drives seem to be the least likely to acknowledge back.
A couple times, passengers in the so called whizz bangs were a bit enthusiastic.
I wasn't sure whether they were waving or giving the windshield a bit of a clean.

FollowupID: 871898

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 20:21

Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 20:21
Roachie, the York peninsula is a special place. I have never ever seen so many people that wave.

Guess they come from a very nice piece of Australia.
FollowupID: 871900

Reply By: Member - Odog - Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 18:48

Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 18:48
Thought the wave, was mostly in South Australia, seems every one on the road there waves.. Should call it the "happy state" or maybe the "friendly state".. Got used to waving a finger every time, but when we crossed the border, either side of SA, it stopped... Wonder how the road rage figures for SA compare to the rest of the country..
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

AnswerID: 602316

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 20:05

Monday, Jul 11, 2016 at 20:05
I've always thought that South Aussies are the most polite drivers on the road. Very apparent every time I visit. Back on topic, I don't like waving unless I know the other person or they have done something to warrant it. It seems insincere to me to be waving willy nilly. Thirty years ago there wasn't as much traffic out there and you didn't have to wave much, now it's like Pitt St.
FollowupID: 871899

Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 07:26

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 07:26
I used to have a hand on a spring stuck to the dash, saves the reply wave, LOL
Pity it died and I haven't been able to find another one.......... Any body know where I can get one?

AnswerID: 602321

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 08:41

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 08:41

Isn't that like sending emails at Christmas, ie one email to all in the address book, instead of actually getting off your tail and doing something meaningful and going to the shops and getting a card or present, and sending it.

They also say that you can't be bothered even lifting two fingers off the steering wheel to acknowledge other drivers existance.

Artificial and cheesy.

FollowupID: 871907

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 10:45

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 10:45
Please enlighten me Phil.

Is your post dripping with sarcasm, which I missed completely, or did the blue bird of happiness take a crap on your cornflakes?

Have a nice day (:=))

FollowupID: 871909

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 11:32

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 11:32
I was not trying to be sarcastic amte.

Just saying what I think of using those make believe hands. I liken them to sending Christmas cards and emails for birthdays from an App.

I think that they are the lazy way out. I know people like them but I can't see why they can't just lift the hand etc. Easy and much more personal.

Not sarcastic at all Pop. Just speaking my thoughts.

FollowupID: 871910

Follow Up By: Member - John - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 14:37

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 14:37
Didn't mean to open a can of worms with an attempt at humour..............

Phil, did you not see the "LOL".......

And nobody answered my request, LOL

FollowupID: 871912

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 15:36

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 15:36
Lots of Luck. So! What's that got to do with it?

I am not up on this texting language

I hate this bloody forum. You can't speak your mind.

Cheers Jophn

Sorry again agaim agaian

FollowupID: 871915

Follow Up By: Member - John - Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 15:39

Tuesday, Jul 12, 2016 at 15:39
Phil, "LOL" to me means :Laugh Out Loud"................ an indication that it is a joke or sarcasm etc................John

FollowupID: 871916

Follow Up By: Phil1234 - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2016 at 06:15

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2016 at 06:15
Pop and John

Sorry guys. Was editing my profile late last night and used the wrong option and ended up stuffing my login. Otherwise I would have responded earlier. I wasn't being sarcastic. Those waving hands look childish to me etc and I didn't want to offend anyone by saying just that.

Best of luck

FollowupID: 871927