Nissan Patrol Td30 series 3 does detonate

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 08:10
ThreadID: 133601 Views:5492 Replies:12 FollowUps:15

My 2012 Patrol with 90000km on the clock just detonated it has a dawes valve, catch can get gauge and all from new.

Towing at 100 kmph on flat ground with no indications at all just let go. No oil light, no high temp turbo at 12 EGT at 380 just a lot of white grey smoke and oil every where under the bonnet it blew out the dipstick.

Rang nissan to price a new Td30 out of the box and they said they had never heard of the series 3 going I said well you have now.

Looking at the brunswick V8 conversion anyone got done recently and how is it going

Reply By: Phil B (WA) - Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 12:57

Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 12:57
Sorry to hear about the bad news Trev.

Only 4-5 years old and youre having to replace the motor, a real bugger that. Good luck and all the best sorting it out.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 605125

Reply By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 12:58

Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 12:58
a great shame for you, commiserations. You must be really *issed off
AnswerID: 605127

Reply By: Whirlwinder - Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 17:38

Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 17:38
Yes, sorry to hear that news. I also have not heard of such a late model going bang.
Anyway, look on the bright side. It is a great excuse to get a V8 under the bonnet. I have a 76 series Landcruiser with the 4.5 litre V8 and I just love the grunt and you will have even more!!
Good luck with it all and please keep the forum updated.
AnswerID: 605129

Reply By: Kazza055 - Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 19:02

Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 19:02
Any car motor can go bang and this should not be put down as another grenade from the earlier Patrols.

Just a bit of bad luck me thinks.
AnswerID: 605131

Follow Up By: GREG T11 - Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 20:57

Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 20:57
If you think about it how many times do you hear of an engine in an everyday passenger vehicle of any brand blowing.? Not often, they have niggles for sure but to blow is rare. For as long as cars have been built and people were hotting them up to drag or such, that is when things went south trying to get the utmost out of what they had. No substitute for cubic inches and sadly asking some of the current crop of " little " diesels to do a mans job " trying to haul upwards of 5 tonne " is asking a lot.. Especially if the design was flawed to begin with.

However that is what we now have put up with and there are always going to be someone somewhere copping a it in the wallet due to bad luck even though it may have maintained as per logbooks .
FollowupID: 874919

Follow Up By: PradoTrev - Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 19:15

Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 19:15
sorry Kazza but it has now been confirmed a dropped piston and more exhaust coming out the oil filler hole than the exhaust.

Confirmed a nissan grande but this one had a short fuse.

I still like the little motor but just do not trust it with another 10 to 16 grand
FollowupID: 874927

Reply By: mark s4 - Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 20:53

Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 20:53
Hi Prado Trev
We had our 100 series converted to a brunswick diesel late 2013, very happy overall .Get around 12.5 lt/100 and 21lt/100 towing 3.2 ton van . Service every 5000ks . Seemed a bit noisy at first but not so now Great low down torque.
The bad is price ... $38000 that is turbo intercooled diff change plus I had a few other things for ourselves done
I would recommend doing it if the price doesnt put you off
AnswerID: 605132

Follow Up By: PradoTrev - Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 19:12

Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 19:12
A few last minute questions for the Brunswick boys an then it is on the truck this week.
FollowupID: 874926

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 20:01

Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 20:01
Those Chev engines (6.5/6.2) are not the greatest of engines - for their size low power and troublesome - there is plenty on the net about these. Not sure on the Cobra.

Given the conversion cost I would be more tempted to get your current engine fixed/replaced (a lot cheaper than the Bruswick option) and if not happy with your Datsun then sell it on and buy something more suitable - even sell it as is - these options will most likely work out a lot cheaper than the Brunswick option.

I have no personal experience just what I have read and I suggest you do the same but ultimately it is your choice.

Good luck with what ever you decide.

Garry
FollowupID: 874928

Follow Up By: mark s4 - Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 20:19

Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 20:19
I agree to a certain extent about big engine low power , but the off idle torque is great , pop the clutch with the van on and go , dose not matter uphill just go . Engine braking is very good . A big plus is being a simple engine , we just did the great central road , west from Collie WA to uluru and back again , picked up some dirty fuel on the way back , engine ran crook ..... changed both fuel filters and on we went no worries at all That has to be a bonus compared to modern engines
Just because the engine power is around 165 kw is not a real fault its all about torque and, lastly we did the conversion because we had spent quite a lot of money on other things on our wagon . To get say a 200 series with the extras on our wagon would have cost 20 to 25 g or more on top of a new car .
FollowupID: 874929

Follow Up By: PradoTrev - Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 07:24

Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 07:24
I have searched endlessly on the net and there is not a bad word about the change over in the last 2 years and they (Brunswick) have refined what they do as well 300 change overs a year, now over 3000 done there is still not much out there on the down side.

I did the same numbers as you on the 200 and if you add in a car that still needs at least 10k spent on it to get a tradein of 20k to 30k just made it worse. As mine already has most things added it makes, for me, far more sense to add the conversion. I would only change my car to update to the V8 and Auto and thats what i'll do and I wont have to add an other accessory well not for a while anyway.
FollowupID: 874932

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 22:45

Saturday, Oct 15, 2016 at 22:45
How about dropping in the Toyota 1HD-FTE as was done by someone a few years ago?
AnswerID: 605134

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 12:45

Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 12:45
Yes, project TONI did come to mind
FollowupID: 874921

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 00:37

Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 00:37
Its not just the ZD30 Patrols these days.
A good friend just spent $12k on a 2008 Prado that holed a piston at 160,000k. Known problem. Shouldn't happen but it does.
Might have to change your Exploroz name :-)
AnswerID: 605135

Follow Up By: PradoTrev - Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 19:06

Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 19:06
Yeah just have not got around to it only had the patrol for 5 years
FollowupID: 874924

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 08:57

Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 08:57
Sad to hear Trev.

I have heard of others going to although the rate of failures is less these days.

I have been involved in a number of Patrol upgrades etc and would not advise the conversion path.

The 4800 patrol is a much better option for so many reasons despite the last one (which I own) being made in 2010.

The only issue is extra fuel cost but even that is much less than the alternatives.

AnswerID: 605136

Reply By: peteC - Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 16:01

Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 16:01
Have you always had it serviced by Nissan per log book? It might be worth trying for an out of warranty claim. Doubt you will get all covered, but 90k and four years not fit for purpose.
AnswerID: 605140

Follow Up By: PradoTrev - Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 19:10

Sunday, Oct 16, 2016 at 19:10
Had the first few services by Nissan dealer who sold it to me but they could not even get the dust cover on the drive shaft bearing into the diff put on properly so I got it done every 5 at various off road garages used Prenrite oils most of it's life.
Rang Nissan to enquire about a new crate motor Td30 and they said they had never heard of one going in the series 3, so I said you have now.
FollowupID: 874925

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 14:07

Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 14:07
We were following a 3 litre Patrol heading west between Fitzroy Crossing and Derby just after the common rail 3 litres came out, bloke was towing a van at about 95kph and we had chatted on the UHF as I had called him up and remarked that every 5 or 10 mins it would spit out a puff of black smoke, he came back that everything was fine it was running ok with temps low and nothing to worry about as it was his third Patrol and despite the first two going boom after a couple of years these latest ones were fine. About 15 mins later there was a huge cloud of white/black/grey smoke and he pulled over, it had gone boom and was only a few months old.
He wasn't at all concerned as he pulled out his satphone and rang Nissan Assist to come get him, as they had done on both other occasions!!
So Nissan saying they have not had one go boom is bull crap.
AnswerID: 605168

Follow Up By: PradoTrev - Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 14:34

Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 14:34
Hi Peter

Yeah thats what put the wind up me is the lack of warning, Greg at Brunswick rang today with a 2011 motor with only 70k on the clock (customer upgrading before it goes bang) for just under $7k plus fitting. Even being 1/3 the V8 Conversion with Auto my gut just would not settle on putting another one in. I must say the Brunswick guys are bending over to find alternatives for me but I am just going to bit the bullet I mean the Chevy and do it and keep it for the time I wanted to (another 10years)
FollowupID: 874937

Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 15:51

Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 15:51
Trev,

the most economical option would be to put in the $7k donk and sell the car.

Use proceeds to by alternative vehicle less likely to fail.

FollowupID: 874938

Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 16:34

Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 16:34
That is exactly what I would be doing.
FollowupID: 874939

Follow Up By: Paul and Mel - Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 17:55

Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 17:55
Me 3..... fit a second hand engine and trade it in.
FollowupID: 874941

Follow Up By: TomH - Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 18:22

Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 18:22
On a different brand
FollowupID: 874943

Reply By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 20:02

Monday, Oct 17, 2016 at 20:02
What piston number was it mate
AnswerID: 605180

Follow Up By: PradoTrev - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2016 at 23:36

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2016 at 23:36
Did not pull it down to find out, I had a diesel mechanic look at it who works in the mines He started it and picked the back cylinder as not firing then took out the oil filler cap and there was more exhaust coming out of there that the exhaust pipe. Bu he was as certain as you can be it was No 4
FollowupID: 874957

Reply By: David T6 - Monday, Oct 24, 2016 at 16:08

Monday, Oct 24, 2016 at 16:08
As suggested above Toyota 100 series 1HDFTE diesel. Probably about the same price for the conversion, much lighter engine than the big Brunswick donk.
AnswerID: 605375