Tyre rotation for vans

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 22, 2016 at 09:25
ThreadID: 133808 Views:6706 Replies:4 FollowUps:12
This Thread has been Archived
What is the industry standard for tyre rotation for a dual wheel caravan? Two service centres claim its front to back on each side only and you don't cross diagonally. Will welcome your feedback

thanks Bob.

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Ups and Downs - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2016 at 09:43

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2016 at 09:43
I'm no expert however some tyres are 'Unidirectional' and must be used as the two service centres advise.
If Non-Unidirectional they can be used on any axle
Bridgestone advice

Paul
AnswerID: 606084

Reply By: Ross M - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2016 at 16:38

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2016 at 16:38
You wouldn't have directional tyres on a cvan they are for performance vehicles.
To even the wear from braking action rotation onto any axle, ie, reverse direction may more evenly wear the tyres.
AnswerID: 606098

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Thursday, Nov 24, 2016 at 12:57

Thursday, Nov 24, 2016 at 12:57
I guess that makes our OKA a "performance vehicle" then? :)

Cheers,
Peter
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 875880

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2016 at 14:37

Thursday, Nov 24, 2016 at 14:37
And most tractors :-)
FrankP

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

FollowupID: 875883

Follow Up By: RMD - Friday, Nov 25, 2016 at 15:15

Friday, Nov 25, 2016 at 15:15
Tractors excluded. Why would an OKA have directional tyres. It does have a reverse I presume.

We are talking about road tyres on caravans after all. Does the posters van have an engine?
FollowupID: 875920

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Friday, Nov 25, 2016 at 19:49

Friday, Nov 25, 2016 at 19:49
For the same reason as many truck tyres are directional.

Cheers,
Peter
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 875931

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2016 at 18:08

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2016 at 18:08