Mig welders

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 27, 2016 at 13:28
ThreadID: 134005 Views:3365 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
This Thread has been Archived
Hi All, I've been a stick welder guy for 55 years but now I'm interested in dabbing up ornaments ex very light gauge iron or zinc anneal and I am looking at buying a Rossi 155 gas less mig machine that runs off 15amp power. Is there any out there that either have this machine or have used it and what is the feedback. I'm leaning towards the Rossi as this one has a 2 metre gun cable which would give me a bit more flexibility than the shorter 1400 or 1500 guns.
Your thoughts please.
BillM
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: garrycol - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2016 at 14:27

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2016 at 14:27
A gasless mig is really just a stick welder with the exception that instead of having welding rods (covered with flux) you have a wire covered with flux - not really a mig. They work ok but not as well as a proper MIG - get one that runs gas - you no longer have to rent bottles as they can be purchased and and exchanged on a swap and go principle.

Garry
AnswerID: 607026

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2016 at 12:01

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2016 at 12:01
The other aspect to consider is the duty time of the welder - I have a small mig and a small inverter stick welder - both bought for lightweight work but from to time I need to do heavier work or bigger jobs which is a pain as they both need a rest for a while to cool down after doing a bit of heavier work - or extended welding.

No problem when doing light weight stuff bit when doing heavier stuff you can guarantee that the welder will shut down at a crucial time so when buying also look at the duty time it is able to maintain at various loads.
FollowupID: 876738

Follow Up By: Member - Rustygq - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2016 at 15:29

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2016 at 15:29