Considering NISSAN Navarda twin cab ute.......comments please

Submitted: Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 18:44
ThreadID: 134082 Views:3655 Replies:10 FollowUps:9
We have a 2006 mitsubishi Pajero diesel auto, and have no trouble towing our 18 ft poptop discovery, but we feel a bit bigger storage space would be good for gene, BBQ waceo plus kayaking gear. What are your thought please from those that own the nissan. Thanks

Reply By: TomH - Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 19:42

Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 19:42
First thing you dont say is how many of you travelling. We took the back two rows of seats out of our Cruiser and had room for a fridge and a washing machine right behind the front seat
AnswerID: 607403

Reply By: Member - mark D18 - Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 19:55

Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 19:55
Des.

The Pajero will be going long after most of the current twin cabs are worn out,, with the exception being the Hilux and the D-Max.
Its a shame you cant fit everything in the Paj . I don't own one but my mate does and he has done well over 300,000km without any major problems.

AnswerID: 607404

Follow Up By: cruiser 3 - Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 22:09

Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 22:09
What makes the hi lux and d max any different than the other dual cabs?
FollowupID: 877111

Reply By: Member - Howard P (WA) - Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 19:56

Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 19:56
Hi Des & Lynley,

My son has 2013 D40 6 speed manual diesel duel cab, goes really well, good on fuel (he recons around 850k's per tank in Perth) and the only major issue we had so far (76,000k's) was the gearbox seal leaked oil onto the duel mass flywheel & clutch - cost a fair bit to have that fixed....:(
The suspension is too soft and also rides fairly low - 2 x dirt bikes in the back with swags etc. and it bottoms out on rough dirt roads, and it has the turning circle of a road train! other than that not a bad vehicle.

Howard
AnswerID: 607405

Reply By: RMD - Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 20:30

Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 20:30
If you are set on a D40 Navara, make sure it has a straight chassis. Wagga dealer had 5 with warped engine blocks, not warped heads. Many were sold throughout OZ which had defective chassis, made with one side of rear chassis not level with the other side.
Check NSW Fair Trading history for many of them.
You don't see many of them touring, but Pajeros, yes, and Dmax and other brand of utes too.
Have had personal experience in inspecting some of the Navaras.
After a NSW Fair Trade hearing I checked my local dealer and found 2 x D40 Navaras, Brand new and ready for sale. Both had RHS rear wheel arch 25mm lower than the Left side. Just be aware that is all.
AnswerID: 607408

Follow Up By: Paul E6 - Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 23:39

Monday, Jan 09, 2017 at 23:39
I've heard too many things like that about d40s. Why would you even take the chance?
Also, the coil spring rear is too soft for towing.
FollowupID: 877114

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 09:59

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 09:59
They also break timing chains destroying the motor!

FollowupID: 877126

Follow Up By: Des and Lynley - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 12:29

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 12:29
thanks have decided t take third row of seats out an fold second row down. if it wont fit wont take, as the the vehicle travels like a charm on the road with van
FollowupID: 877128

Follow Up By: fitzie - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 19:53

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 19:53
D40 navara dont have coil spring rear suspension
FollowupID: 877139

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 20:47

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 20:47
That's correct, the new NP300 Navara has the coiled rear suspension. Its a nice ride but you have to wonder about the weight carrying ability. I didn't like the steering, the non reach adjustable steering wheel, I thought the motor was noisy and I believe the wading depth was only 400 mm. A pity on all counts for me at least.
FollowupID: 877141

Reply By: Des and Lynley - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 09:07

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 09:07
thanks everyone for your replies will keep the one we are sure of............just do a stock take on what we take.

cheers Des
AnswerID: 607419

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 10:20

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 10:20
I have a 2014 Pajero and love it. Always tojos before this car. If I was to do long camp trips I would remove the 2nd row passenger seats (easy to do) and gain a lot more room. Naturally the 3rd row seats were removed day 1 and aux batteries fitted in tub.
FollowupID: 877127

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 12:54

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 12:54
Do the stock take.

Having recently moved from a Ranger to a Prado I reckon the advantage of extra storage space is outweighed by the comfort of a wagon

Utes are better than they were and mine took me to some remote places without an issue ever but I will never be going back.

Rocco
FollowupID: 877129

Reply By: mountainman - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 12:05

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 12:05
If you can afford it.
hunt down the V6 turbo diesel navara.
plenty of torque and power.
really good on fuel, even when towing.
AnswerID: 607426

Reply By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 18:41

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 18:41
Your 06 Paj is probably direct injection. easy to service as opposed to the new common rail stuff, stick with the Paj if I were you
AnswerID: 607442

Reply By: TomH - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 23:06

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2017 at 23:06
Take the second row right out as well and store them all for later. Saves weight as well. We fitted a floor in their place and put the Waeco and a washing machine on it Had 2 cargo barriers, one behind front seats to prevent being killed by those two and a second one behind where the middle seats were to keep the smaller things in the back in place.

Took a couple of days to set it all up but well worth it as those seats weigh about 60kg in a Cruiser. Then dark tinted the windows to remove temptation for sticky fingers in various areas
AnswerID: 607446

Reply By: 2517. - Thursday, Jan 12, 2017 at 20:37

Thursday, Jan 12, 2017 at 20:37
You can buy a Pajero drive away for $49900 why would you consider a 4door ute of any brand..Recently I hired a Pajero for work for a week I was very impressed with the ride and car like features plus the fuel Economy on returning to the airport and picking up my12 month old Toyota 4door ute it was like getting into a vehicle built 10 year ago .Read where they are the most popular vehicle in Aust a bit like the F150 in the States not necessarily the best by any means.
L
AnswerID: 607503

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Thursday, Jan 12, 2017 at 21:47

Thursday, Jan 12, 2017 at 21:47
I considered a 4 door ute because I did not want my gear stored within the cabin area - eg generator with petrol fumes.
Last time I drove my car (D-Max) I was impressed that it drove just like any other car I have owned and has all the luxuries that I expect including leather seats, climate control and one of the best sound systems I have ever had.
People buy there cars for all different reasons, I definitely did not want another wagon.
By the way, the D-Max is one of the best vehicles for economy I have ever owned.
FollowupID: 877204

Reply By: 2517. - Friday, Jan 13, 2017 at 11:20

Friday, Jan 13, 2017 at 11:20
Best of luck with your choice,generators are a different thing I have one like most people but rarely take it as I found out solar is the way to go. No fuel to cart with 360 w and a inverter you can run a 240 volt fan and if really hot stay in a caravan.
AnswerID: 607519