Leaking Troopy

Submitted: Monday, Jun 24, 2002 at 00:00
ThreadID: 1349 Views:1670 Replies:2 FollowUps:0
G'day folks,

Whilst we've been talking about rust prevention, I have an HZJ '93 troopcarrier which collects a fair amount of rain water (read:litres) in the body panels. I can't seem to detect where on earth the rain is entering from. Has anyone experienced similar leaks & been able to pin point likely entry spots in the troopy?
Back Expand Un-Read 0

Reply By: royce - Monday, Jun 24, 2002 at 00:00

Monday, Jun 24, 2002 at 00:00
G'day Rob. I've had a few cruisers now. I reckon they're designed to catch water inside panels and go rusty. Anyone would think that they want them to rust out and make you buy more! My suggestion is to go lateral. Treat what you can by pumping in rust neutralizer or fishoil and drill holes in inconspicuous spots to allow what water collects to run through. My Supatrooper has heaps of rust in the windscreen surround. I'm just waiting for a rock to come through the perfectly good windscreen to justify getting a fibreglass replacement. Cheers Royce
AnswerID: 4396

Reply By: ross - Wednesday, Jun 26, 2002 at 00:00

Wednesday, Jun 26, 2002 at 00:00
Rob, also check the plastic tubes that feed water to the rear window washer units. We has this problem and thought it was a leak in the window sill until I discovered that it was a small split in the pipe, either just general brittleness from age or possilby caused by the jack puncturing it at some stage.Ross
AnswerID: 4422