Submitted: Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 13:32
ThreadID: 134904 Views:6324 Replies:19 FollowUps:26
Anybody else had troubles like this?

Ford Ranger Lemon?

Reply By: Idler Chris - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 14:10

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 14:10
When you go to spend thousands of dollars on a new vehicle its best to put emotion aside, look at the facts, and do your homework.
A good start is to listern to John Cardogan at autoexpert.com. Love him or hate him, he has been in the business a long time and does know what he is talking about. Go to his web site and quite clearly there in Step 1 is eliminate certain brands because their customer service is sxxt. Needless to say Ford is one of them.
The ute that scores the highest for customer satisfaction is Izusu Ute. Since they started in Oz in 2008 their sales have increased by over 10% every year. This was a very significant factor as to why I brought a D-Max and now 18 months later I could not be happier.
We should have lemon laws to hold these car companies to account, but until we do, just don't deal with the companies that don't support their products.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 611242

Follow Up By: gbc - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 19:21

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 19:21
My Isuzu/Colorado failed much the same way. Various failures, undiagnosable by the dealer. Turned out to be a suction control valve which didn't throw a fault but took weeks of to and fro. Any brand can do it. My px ranger is over 100k km now and doing just fine.
FollowupID: 881270

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 22:30

Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 22:30
AH but is at an Isuzu or is it a Holden ...... there is a difference
FollowupID: 881384

Follow Up By: gbc - Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 05:47

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 05:47
Rc Colorado. It was the last of the rebadged dmax's with the 4jji motor before Holden went off on their own. They also had early issues with blowing motors and turbos from leaking injector seats thinning the oil but they got past all of that and ended up with a good motor which is still going in the current crop.
FollowupID: 881389

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 14:52

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 14:52
Genny

Sounds more like you have Lemon Dealers with Lemon service staff rather than a Lemon car as it appears there is only one fault with the car that could easily be fixed if in the right hands ! I have nearly done 200,000 trouble free k's in my PX1 Ranger in four and a half years and couldn't be happier !

Hope you get the issue sorted and good luck !!

Gazz
AnswerID: 611243

Reply By: Hoyks - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 15:16

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 15:16
He didn't say if there was something different wrong with it each time, or if it was a recurring issue.

With all the electrickery in these, having a battery that isn't 100% can be enough to cause issues and erroneous sensor readings.

Having a dealer service department that aren't good at fault finding or trying to replicate issues can also be a problem.

I had an issue with my BT50, dealer gave me a top of the line BT50 demo for a week while they awaited parts. Taking the time to sort the issue properly (a 3km road test is probably not enough) and helping the customer out by throwing them a set of car keys could have changed so much of this customers perception.
AnswerID: 611245

Follow Up By: Genny - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 17:28

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 17:28
Just to be clear, this is the car of a friend, not mine.

From my understanding, the "fix" has been updating the firmware each time, or no advice of how it was fixed. Obviously the "fix" hasn't addressed the root cause. When he first took it in, it had a hot/burnt electrical smell, but that was dismissed as being "new car smell".
FollowupID: 881266

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 19:07

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 19:07
Yes all manufacturers spit out a lemon every now and then. It is how well the issue is managed that makes a difference

I know a fellow who bought a new BMW that had an electrical gremlin they couldn't find
After several attempts over three months of not being able to find the issue ( he was given a loan car each time they had it)
They gave him his purchase price back to towards buying any other BMW of his choice.
FollowupID: 881269

Reply By: IvanTheTerrible - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 17:26

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 17:26
There is a local Ranger thats seems to be having the same issue but I think they now have got on top of the problem. Haven't seen it on a tow truck for a while.
AnswerID: 611247

Follow Up By: Genny - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 17:41

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 17:41
Whereabouts Ivan?
FollowupID: 881267

Follow Up By: IvanTheTerrible - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 22:27

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 22:27
West Victoria
FollowupID: 881282

Reply By: 9900Eagle - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 19:28

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 19:28
Yep, there are lemons in all the vehicle ranges. My 5 year old ranger must have been a golden plum. Not one issue.
AnswerID: 611248

Follow Up By: IvanTheTerrible - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 21:45

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 21:45
Three people I know own Rangers and two of them have have no major issues. The others gearbox shat itself
FollowupID: 881278

Follow Up By: rumpig - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 22:23

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 22:23
Mates old man had a new short motor put in his Ranger recently under warranty, it did a main bearing in the engine....mechanic said it's not the first to do it. Every make has issues occur, just gotta hope it's not your vehicle that it happens to.
FollowupID: 881281

Reply By: Jackolux - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 21:14

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 21:14
When it comes to a warranty issue they are all the same , Isuzu are no better than the rest .
AnswerID: 611251

Follow Up By: IvanTheTerrible - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 21:42

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 21:42
I beg to differ. My clutch failed at 70,000 ks and the replaced it at no cost. Not one other company covers a clutch over 30,000
FollowupID: 881277

Reply By: Member - Blue M - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 21:22

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 21:22
Genny, I have known Gary for 40 years or so, we used to work for the same company.
I remember talking to him not that long ago when he was looking for a new vehicle, something that would take him into his retirement and beyond.

I just hope he can get these problems sorted out quickly and painlessly.

AnswerID: 611252

Reply By: Nutta - Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 23:18

Saturday, May 20, 2017 at 23:18
I bought a new colorado in 2012, what a bomb, all speed sensors replaced, oil leak out the auto yoke, all bushes replaced in the front end within 2 years, they literally fell to bits, and other things I've forgotten about, it went in yesterday for the 4th time trying to fix a water leak in the head!

I loved it when i bought it but i really hate it now, it took the joy out of it, id love to see it burn to the ground!!

What annoyed me more so is i had to pinpoint the leaks because they couldn't even find them, bloody clowns.

I see plenty of other happy colorado owners though, i just got a junker!

AnswerID: 611255

Reply By: Winner W - Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 09:18

Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 09:18
My PX Wildtrak now at 155000km with a lot of very hard work . Few niggles that Ford fixed under warranty . Will keep it for 10 more years. Love it.
Having seen what my Ranger survived my son got a Xlt Ranger in 2015 and he has had no faults in 100000km. Maybe we are lucky no lemons.
AnswerID: 611260

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 20:28

Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 20:28
The amount of BT50s and Rangers towing on the road is something to behold. As someone I met said. I don't know what is about that 3.2l 5 cylinder motor but once you put something on the back it just pulls and pulls.
FollowupID: 881306

Reply By: Deejay - Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 10:11

Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 10:11
And this is exactly why I'm keeping my old faithful Patrol. No electronics to cause problems. Call me a Luddite but I just don't want the all too frequent electronic hassles that new cars give. Please note, I'm not taking a swipe at new car owners, just my 2 bobs worth.
AnswerID: 611262

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 12:17

Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 12:17
People blame the electronics but the computers themselves rarely if ever fail - the issue is they report issues caused by mechanical faults and as they are displayed electronically the luddites blame the electronics not the underlying mechanical cause. They shoot the messenger.
FollowupID: 881292

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 22:36

Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 22:36
Unfortunately computers DO fail ....... not in the better makes, but those who simply fail to develop their electronics properly they do.

FollowupID: 881385

Reply By: 2517. - Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 11:51

Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 11:51
We had a Iverco concrete truck with similar problems turn out it was the brake sensor on the front left wheel,it had ABS brakes the problem was there from new took some finding ounce replaced never had another problem.
AnswerID: 611266

Follow Up By: uncle arthur - Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 13:59

Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 13:59
Similar situation with the engine being shut down into Limp Mode on a Mercedes Sprinter emergency vehicle, no problems once a rear brake sensor was replaced. However it did take at least six attempts four of which required a tilt tray recovery.
FollowupID: 881293

Reply By: Winner W - Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 14:25

Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 14:25
All brands have lemons. The Ranger is my first Ford and I only got good service from the 3 dealers I used . My friends experiences with their Prados and Cruisers with rejected in warranty claims convinced me to never buy a Yota.
If you have a good agent and dealer it makes your life easier with any brand.
AnswerID: 611268

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 20:35

Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 20:35
OTOH, I had an excellent Toyota dealer when I had my Prado. Didn't seem to care what mods I had done, if there was a warranteeable fault it was dealt with under warranty. They even found a very expensive fault during a service and fixed it under warranty - just asked me if they could have the car for an extra day. I saw the internal bill to Toyota - over $7000.

My Mazda dealer is not so keen ....

FollowupID: 881307

Reply By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 17:40

Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 17:40
Garrycol
I agree with you that the electronics rarely fail. But I don't think the electronics "just because they can" is necessary.
Some of the stuff that runs via computer in the Bt50/ rangers could be left a lot simpler.
AnswerID: 611271

Reply By: Deejay - Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 17:50

Sunday, May 21, 2017 at 17:50
I spent about 6 months in a Queensland government department purchasing utes and trucks and spent hundreds of thousands of dollars. The utes were predominantly Mitsubishi and Toyota and some Nissans and Mazdas. The best company to deal with was easily Mitsubishi and the most difficult and inflexible was Toyota. This was just one of several reasons why, when I came to buy my new 4wd, I didn't go to Toyota. As a mechanic for over 25 years I can say, Toyota don't make better vehicles than anyone else, they're just better at brainwashing the public.
AnswerID: 611272

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Monday, May 22, 2017 at 06:34

Monday, May 22, 2017 at 06:34
Genny, does your friend Gary have any mech aptitude ?
Reading his Facebook he never mentions what the CEL code was, or what fault Ford said there was.

It would be really interesting to know this.

As mentioned, all manufacturers put out lemon (Friday arvo) vehicles occasionally, and often codes / problems iccyr when mods are carried out by owners etc.
Especially so with wiring etc, lighting, 2nd batteries, other accessories.

Hope they get some satisfaction from the fair trading investigation.
AnswerID: 611292

Follow Up By: Genny - Monday, May 22, 2017 at 12:44

Monday, May 22, 2017 at 12:44
My understanding is there was no code. I think Gary may know which end of a screwdriver to hold, with supervision. (Sorry Gaz :) )
The car is as delivered from FORD.
FollowupID: 881330

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Monday, May 22, 2017 at 17:22

Monday, May 22, 2017 at 17:22
No probs, just that would be the one thing I'd be itching to know . . . in his FB post there was mention of a warning light, assumed CEL . . . no mention about an actual problem, dealer would reflash ecu ? Not sure what was done now, FB page is taken down . . . maybe he got something happening with it.

FollowupID: 881336

Follow Up By: Genny - Monday, May 22, 2017 at 20:49

Monday, May 22, 2017 at 20:49
Pressure has been exerted, from the towtruck owner. Something about intellectual property?
Lemon Ford Ranger.
intellectual property

Seems pretty odd for advertising material publicly displayed?
FollowupID: 881342

Reply By: Member - nick b - Monday, May 22, 2017 at 19:56

Monday, May 22, 2017 at 19:56
gooday : cant get link to open now but did have a quick look the other day ....
I dont know if this is relevant but had my ranger serviced last week , my mechanic who has a ranger was telling me that when draining oil you cant leave it without oil for too long as oil will drain from pump & can have problems with oil being pick up by pump , starving motor of oil ??? aswel they run a very fine oil ......
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 611314

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 08:58

Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 08:58
G'day my Mazda dealer told me that the filter must be changed first , otherwise it might not pump oil again, bit scary isn't it!
FollowupID: 881350

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 21:49

Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 21:49
There is nothing new in this. It's been known since 2011 - 6 years - and applies to both the BT50 and the PX Ranger.

You must drain and refill the oil within 10 minutes. If you take longer the oil pump may lose its prime and not recover, in which case a new pump is required. It makes sense to change the filter first, then do the oil change.

It is possible later models have a re-designed, more forgiving oil pump, but AFAIK the 10 minute limit is specified to minimise difficulties in a mixed fleet with early model vehicles having an original, problematic pump and later models that don't.

Happy to be corrected on this if anyone has better info.

FollowupID: 881382

Follow Up By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 16:33

Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 16:33
I posted a service bulletin some while back on the oil drain issue.
Post 107516
William
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

FollowupID: 881440

Reply By: Genny - Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 13:35

Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 13:35
Looks like Ford have decided to do the right thing. Will post more when it is all resolved. Thanks to all those who shared the FB posts.
AnswerID: 611335

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 17:10

Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at 17:10
Would be good to hear what the actual issue/s were !!

Gazz
FollowupID: 881368

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 20:33

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 20:33
Any updates on what the issue was ?
AnswerID: 611384

Reply By: Genny - Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 21:04

Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 21:04
I suspect we'll never know. I understand Ford is on the way to assisting Gary with a satisfactory outcome. Like the girl from Missouri, I've got to be shown first ....
AnswerID: 611389

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 17:38

Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 17:38
" I suspect we'll never know "

I'm sure you could just ask your friend and lets us know !

Gazz
FollowupID: 881441

Follow Up By: Genny - Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 22:41

Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 22:41
Gazz, I don't think my friend will see that car again, so highly unlikely he'll ever hear what was wrong with it.
FollowupID: 881458

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Friday, May 26, 2017 at 05:42

Friday, May 26, 2017 at 05:42
G'day Genny

It would have been very interesting to find out if the car was actually a lemon or was it just bad Ford " technicians " who were unable to fix a simple fault with their lack of BCM knowledge !

Gazz
FollowupID: 881461

Follow Up By: Genny - Friday, May 26, 2017 at 16:38

Friday, May 26, 2017 at 16:38
I'm with you Gazz. Years ago, I blew a 15 amp fuse on my headlights. Having no spare, I just grabbed the one for the air conditioner, and put that in the lights. My wife was taking the car in to get serviced the next day, so I told her "Tell them to replace the a/c fuse."

Of course that gets passed on as "The a/c is not working."

When she picks the car up, she tells me they want it back on Thursday to replace the defective a/c switch, and that will be $280 thanks.

I expressed my humble opinion of their automotive repair ability, and went round and got a 10 cent fuse from SuperCheap.

Upshot is Gazz, I think it will be something simple, some crook sensor somewhere, and because the fault doesn't generate an error code, the boffins are baffled.
FollowupID: 881479