Winches

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 03, 2017 at 17:33
ThreadID: 135513 Views:5303 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
Gday everyone, been a few years since Ive been on here. Seems quite different. Ive just put a deposit on an 2011 RC Colorado and want to get a winch that doesnt break the bank. Please recommend something as I havent looked into winches for 15 years now.

Reply By: gbc - Sunday, Sep 03, 2017 at 19:19

Sunday, Sep 03, 2017 at 19:19
The aldi winch coming on sale this week has lived on the front of the last 2 of my utes. Can't kill it with a stick.
AnswerID: 613495

Follow Up By: Boris K - Sunday, Sep 03, 2017 at 20:49

Sunday, Sep 03, 2017 at 20:49
Steel cable though if I remember correctly. I dont want to make the same mistakes as with the previous car which had all the arb accessories and was too heavy and troublesome.
FollowupID: 883987

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Sep 03, 2017 at 22:54

Sunday, Sep 03, 2017 at 22:54
This mob has the right prices, but can't vouch for the quality.Winch
AnswerID: 613506

Follow Up By: Boris K - Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 06:23

Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 06:23
Ive had a few people mention them but seem very cheap Cheers
FollowupID: 883993

Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 09:34

Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 09:34
Ah well, if you are like most 4WDers, the winch is only there for show anyhow. But for the occasional use I'd imagine they'd last a few years. They've got a 12 month warranty.
FollowupID: 883997

Follow Up By: Boris K - Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 19:07

Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 19:07
I agree! Had one on my prado and only used it to level out the cable once.
FollowupID: 884010

Reply By: Malcom M - Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 07:12

Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 07:12
So how much do you want to pay then?

What do you want to use it for (what sort of driving will you do)

How often will you really do maintenance on it?

what sort of barwork have you ordered?

etc etc etc
AnswerID: 613508

Follow Up By: Boris K - Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 19:13

Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 19:13
The car is a RC Colorado with OL winching bull bar. I havent picked up the car yet. Im thinking since the car has no lockers or traction control like my Prado I just sold, then Id need some help occasionally with a winch. The car will be my second car for delivering kids to sports and music lessons and the weekly or fortnightly hunting trip with the kids which may involve high country once or twice a year for venison.
FollowupID: 884011

Follow Up By: Boris K - Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 19:15

Reply By: RMD - Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 11:43

Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 11:43
Besides the weight of rope V cable on a winch, have you also factored in the weight of the bar and winch on the front of the vehicle.
It will require a height adjustment to retain height and some increase in shock absorber action/ability as well. The OE shock type or similar, is useless for normal vehicle pitch and roll control, let alone with a persons weight hanging out on the front of the vehicle.
AnswerID: 613514

Follow Up By: Boris K - Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 19:18

Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 19:18
The rear has two extra springs in it and the front torsion bar I think looks like it has been wound up too. Ill look into a diff drop and breathers all round.
FollowupID: 884013

Follow Up By: RMD - Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 19:56

Monday, Sep 04, 2017 at 19:56
I own a similar vehicle but another name.
The std clearance for the front bump rubbers is 29.7 mm. No matter what the vehicle looks like in height, any bigger than that dimension means the front has been raised to some degree.

The springs aren't the items which control pitch and roll, the shocks do that.
The shocks are important and nearly always overlooked by people doing upgrades!The springs only suspend the vehicle.

Diff breathers and and diff drop are nice but not to do with the tow abilty or handling.
FollowupID: 884014

Reply By: Member - TonyV - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2017 at 10:55

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2017 at 10:55
I have been using a Carbon Winch for the past 2 years, having used both expensive and cheaper brands in the past.

The Carbon is one of the lightest winches on the market 23.5kg with a Lifetime warranty on winch mechanicals. 5 year water ingress protection warranty and 5 year electrical component warranty.

How often you use the winch is vital, it needs to work whether you use it once in 2 years or 20 times in 2 years.
I am a trainer and use mine at least 10-15 times for that plus any real recovery's.

Note: All winches need to be checked before you go on any trip and when you get back, rope cleaned and the rope relaid as a minimum.

The cheapy's work, but do need to be maintained every 4-6 months, solenoids are the issue with the cheap versions and water in the motor and gearbox.

Some of the more expensive named brands can have the same issues, but I feel that over the past few years that Warn has dropped their build quality to keep cost down competing with the Chinese and there are some magnificent brands like Runva and Carbon that are as good if not better quality.

AnswerID: 613537

Follow Up By: Boris K - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2017 at 17:36

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2017 at 17:36
Thanks mate, Im so far leaning towards the Runva or carbon.
FollowupID: 884052

Follow Up By: mountainman - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2017 at 21:48

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2017 at 21:48
I have a premier winch.
been used heaps over the years.
runs cooler and uses a heap less amps than a warn.

told the dealer id like it serviced
they told me why...
they never breakdown.
That was good to hear from
cairns TJM
FollowupID: 884063

Follow Up By: Member - TonyV - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2017 at 12:58

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2017 at 12:58
I agree with you Mountainman, the old Premier is a good unit.

Checking before and after a trip (or in my case training) is precautionary. I hate dirty and poorly spooled plasma/dyneema rope.

Cheap winch failure due to water is common but not as much as faulty solenoid packs.

The last one I came across on a recover had a broken small control earth control wire. ??
FollowupID: 884077

Reply By: nickb - Wednesday, Sep 06, 2017 at 20:46

Wednesday, Sep 06, 2017 at 20:46
Runva seem to have a good reputation and value. If I get a winch that is the way I will go.
AnswerID: 613581

Reply By: Member - Munji - Thursday, Sep 07, 2017 at 17:10

Thursday, Sep 07, 2017 at 17:10
If I was in the market for a winch I would also be talking to Terrain Tamer. When their winches arrive in Australia they strip them down and service any defects such as gaskets, lack of grease etc etc
At least you know then your getting a product that has been checked.
AnswerID: 613591