Mitsubishi triton

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 12, 2017 at 17:51
ThreadID: 135859 Views:7000 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
Good day guys
A little help please ,I am considering ,purchasing a Mitsubishi triton .to do a few trips around Australia with a small caravan about 1600 kg loaded .will be doing very little of road work . the four wheel drive 4 door ute they are currently selling for $34,000. would just like a few of the owners to tell me if they are worth the money , and how they handle ,
thank you Chris

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Nov 12, 2017 at 18:16

Sunday, Nov 12, 2017 at 18:16
I owned a 2006 Triton for 7 years, if I hadn't already been married I'd have married it. Loved the vehicle, reliable, economical great performance, I could go on and on.

The only reason I don't own one now is because I tow a fairly heavy van and I worry about the 2.4 litre motor! Having said that, I reckon they're still the most stylish of the utes as well.
AnswerID: 614929

Reply By: RMD - Sunday, Nov 12, 2017 at 18:35

Sunday, Nov 12, 2017 at 18:35
If the shock absorbers are of similar quality to earlier. Tritons, I would definitely change the rear shocks to ones which will control the additional load/ballweight so the van doesn’t make it porpoise and pitch. Better shocks will control the mass of the caravan much better. Many people are oblivious to poor shock performance as only find their shocks are inadequate by an accident.
All ok if travelling empty, but with Ute loaded and caravan too, the economy may not be a single good as with a a larger engines vehicle.
AnswerID: 614930

Reply By: swampy - Sunday, Nov 12, 2017 at 18:50

Sunday, Nov 12, 2017 at 18:50
Do some investigation about a new model coming out ,there has been rumors.
Will it be better than the current model ,who knows ?? If its soon then u will have a choice of the runout and newer version . Whatever suits your budget .
AnswerID: 614932

Follow Up By: chris a - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 17:02

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 17:02
Good day Swampy

just talking to a Mitsubishi dealer up hear on the Central coast
He maintains the new model will not be available to April or May
next year Does that sound right to you
FollowupID: 885677

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Sunday, Nov 12, 2017 at 20:35

Sunday, Nov 12, 2017 at 20:35
Gooday,
Have a Mate who has one, had it since new, since 2006 diesel single cab, has done about 170,000Km, about 120,000 towing his 17ft 6Inch Roadstar, swears by it would happily buy another tomorrow. If you wish to private message me i will give you his contact number and he will give you a really honest appraisal, he is very a Technically Clever man.
Boroma604.
AnswerID: 614934

Reply By: eaglefree - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 02:26

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 02:26
Well thrash my dacks! I'm going to be unconventional.

Chrysler 300 3 litre diesel.

Not going off road, great road car when you get back home, comfort plus plus plus

I think when we want to tow too many think 4wd automatically..
AnswerID: 614940

Follow Up By: RMD - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 15:13

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 15:13
Does the Chrysler have a resale value after initial purchase?

All cars are road cars aren't they?
FollowupID: 885673

Reply By: gerard m2 - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 02:59

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 02:59
I have a Pajero Sport - based on the latest Triton and love it. I can’t fault it. It’s an awesome vehicle
AnswerID: 614941

Follow Up By: Tim F3 - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 10:36

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 10:36
FollowupID: 885658

Follow Up By: Tomdej - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 10:59

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 10:59
Actually it's not many, and it affects all Dual Cab utes. A google search will reveal bent dual cab utes from every manufacturer. For all of the popular Dual Cab utes the manufacturers use their same chassis for all of their utes, be they single cab, extra cab, or dual cab. With the standard and extra cabs the rear wheels are close to the middle of the tray. With the dual cab the tray is always cantilevered off the back. If the rear has too much weight, or if towing (especially off road), the result can be a bent chassis.

The solution: Either travel lightly or get a chassis extension.
A chassis extension costs about $5000 and are done by a number of places including Creative Conversions in Qld and Specialised Vehicles in NSW. They are engineered making them legal and insurable. The result is a tray with the wheels underneath the middle f the tray. Apart from the cost the other downsides are ramp-over and turning circle.
FollowupID: 885660

Follow Up By: RMD - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 12:06

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 12:06
If you bother to look, the Triton has the MOST overhang of chassis and load area behind the rear axle than any other design. It leaves any weakness or incorrect or overload, including caravan weight and transferred forces to cause the same as the above picture.

Used well within the load rating probably no problem, ie smooth roads and low weight loads. Go over it and expect an issue.
FollowupID: 885664

Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 14:47

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 14:47
I towed a van with a canopy and all the usual junk that caravanners carry along with 260kgs ball weight. Had no spring sag, no bent chassis, all up a great vehicle.

Never met a Triton owner who had a bent chassis either for that matter. Still I'm sure it happens from time to time for the following reasons most chassis fails in the twin cabs are caused by people either mounting Air Bags to theoretically carry heavier loads or just plain overloading.
FollowupID: 885670

Follow Up By: Member - mechpete - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 15:00

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 15:00
when I was in Canada 2 yrs ago
all the American made utes , Ford GM Dodge
no matter what body configuration the rear wheels are always under the centre
of the tray , how come the yanks can get it right ???
cheers mechpete
FollowupID: 885672

Follow Up By: RMD - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 17:09

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 17:09
The front wall of a Triton tub is above the front edge of the rim , so approximately 200mm in front of the axle centre. That means anything with weight thicker than a jerry can places the load ON or behind the axle. Any weight of any substance is therefore well heind the axle.
Conversely, a Dmax and Ranger/Bt50 etc have the front wall of the tub around 400mm infront of the axle and so any weight, placed correctly will ne forward or on the axle. That critical axle position also means more ball weight and transferred load can be withstood with these vehicles. The Triton doesn't have that option.
Yes they can all fail, but the Tritons poor shocks would allow the thing to bottom out under some conditions of use and the already poorly designed axle position means an unusually high sudden loading/bend force of the chassis WILL occur if it bottoms with a full load and caravan too. Almost certain to fail.

Good ride height, with plenty of up travel to absorb axle movement will help and vehicle.
I did not buy a Triton because of the axle position. Just plain stupid, What were they thinking? The others are bad enough, Triton far worse.
FollowupID: 885678

Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 23:00

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 23:00
Yeah, Happens to the best of em EH!
FollowupID: 885685

Reply By: 410 - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 12:44

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 12:44
Hi Chris
I am on my second Triton and had no problems with either MN & MQ. The latest model is very good to drive and better seat than the MN.
I am actually looking to update to a seven seater vehicle if you would like to discuss mine.
All set up with canopy, rear draws, towbar, electric brakes, Anderson plug, rear 12 volt plug, bulbar, light bar, driving lights with only 32,000 kms. GLS model.
Please forward your number to discuss further regarding any info you require.

AnswerID: 614943

Follow Up By: baznpud - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 14:01

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 14:01
Richard, from what i can see neither you or Chris are members of EO, therefore you will be unable to contact each other via the member message system, one of you will have to leave a contact number, email address etc, here on the forum.
baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 885668

Follow Up By: 410 - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 14:19

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 14:19
Thought I was a member and have been for about 5 years ??
Any how you can contact me on 0400620854.

FollowupID: 885669

Follow Up By: Gramps - Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 16:20

Monday, Nov 13, 2017 at 16:20
Richard,

Members pay for the privilege and get extra benefits. You and I are Visitors i.e. registered but non-paying :)

FollowupID: 885674