Perth - Uluru

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 25, 2017 at 17:19
ThreadID: 135914 Views:3647 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
This Thread has been Archived
I’m the first to admit that I’m a novice so please be gentle. We are looking at routes for a possible trip to Uluru in of all months January. Yes we know it’s going to be hot! There really only seems to be two routes, the Great Central Highway or over to Port Augusta then up from there. So first question is what is the central highway like and secondly are there any other routes?

All tips and advice appreciated
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Idler Chris - Saturday, Nov 25, 2017 at 17:42

Saturday, Nov 25, 2017 at 17:42
At that time of year for a novice go via Port Augusta. Give yourself plenty of time to see things on the way and it will be a great trip.

Chris
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 615209

Follow Up By: gerard m2 - Saturday, Nov 25, 2017 at 17:51

Saturday, Nov 25, 2017 at 17:51
Thanks Chris
FollowupID: 886052

Follow Up By: Member - DingoBlue(WA) - Saturday, Nov 25, 2017 at 18:53

Saturday, Nov 25, 2017 at 18:53
Great Central Road is an easy drive with lots of good campsites and much more interesting than the Nullabor route. In the past, the last section from Docker River to Yulara has been the worst bit with quite severe sand corrugations.
Last year I returned from Alice via West McDonalds and Sandy Blight Junction Road which joined the GCR at Docker River. The GCR was like a billiard table to Laverton.
Rather a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

FollowupID: 886054

Reply By: IvanTheTerrible - Saturday, Nov 25, 2017 at 17:52

Saturday, Nov 25, 2017 at 17:52
The Great Central would be OK as long as you watch the weather
AnswerID: 615210