Gumtree Scam or Legit?

Submitted: Monday, Jan 29, 2018 at 10:00
ThreadID: 136173 Views:5077 Replies:14 FollowUps:7
This Thread has been Archived
I am new to selling stuff on Gumtree, and have just listed my old Toyota Landcruiser for sale there. I have received an almost instant response, and I am unsure whether I am being set up. I have had a look through "Scams" but cannot see anything that helps. So I am asking for an opinion based upon the email I have just received.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Thanks for the response,I would have loved to call you directly but due to the nature i work with the The Australian Army Corps. we do not have access to phone at the moment,which is why I contacted you with internet messaging facility.

i am buying this for my first son who just graduated on top of his class at Aviation University ,I want it to be the perfect graduation gift for him and am making it a surprise package ,Does it have any history I should be aware of? and why are you selling if you don't mind my asking. I don't mind adding an extra $200.00 for you just to take down the posting..I am already in talks with freighters that will handle the pickup and delivery .I will really appreciate if you can email more info

Due to the nature of my work i am a very busy man working all day, am a (Operating officer) am presently on-board, i don't have access to my bank account online as am not with my credit card details here but i have my ANZ bank account link up with my PayPal account so I will be paying you through Account to your nominated bank account or better still is if you have a PayPal account ,please get back to me with your BSB and account details or PayPal account so i can proceed with the payment and contact the courier agent who will come to pick it up and deliver it in NT for my son .Await your reply "