Solar Panel 12v/ 120 Watt

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 08, 2018 at 11:35
ThreadID: 136519 Views:2828 Replies:4 FollowUps:9
This Thread has been Archived
I have just bought solar panel primarily to top up my deep cycle camper battery and have some questions for its operation. I have also sent this to the website I bought it off.
1/ USB Port usage
When I try to charge an iPhone. The phone just continuously has a flashing screen and it drains the iPhone battery very fast. Is this USB not designed to charge a mobile phone?
2/ On off switch
When I press this nothing seems to happen. There are some lights on the back of the panel which continuously flash. Does this indicate the unit is working.
3/ Charging a deep cycle battery.
Is the solar panel designed to just float charge and top up a deep cycle battery?
4/ Charging
Is the Solar panel designed to just send a very low trickle charge?

You can probably gather I am new to all this. There were no instructions hence all my questions. Any words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated. Thanks James.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: imjames - Sunday, Apr 08, 2018 at 11:39

Sunday, Apr 08, 2018 at 11:39
AnswerID: 618133

Reply By: RMD - Sunday, Apr 08, 2018 at 12:47

Sunday, Apr 08, 2018 at 12:47
Hello James
The USB port should be putting out 5V to a USB cable and that should charge things OK, Some electrical devices seem to have an inbuilt system which tells it if it has genuine charging equipment. That may stop the iphone from charging 'cos it isn't an Apple supplying device. Rotten apples!

The phone should not go flat though unless the connected usb makes it go haywire.

The regulator press button is probably a switch for the load connections to be operated on or off and isn't part of the charging regime. Aldi panels and reg are similar.