Suggestions for a complete novice?

Submitted: Sunday, May 13, 2018 at 10:00
ThreadID: 136693 Views:2222 Replies:7 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
He'll guys.
Wife and I are early 50's who one day in the future may chose to do the caravan & 4WD thing. Thinking it might be time to dip our toe in the water, and consider an on road camper trailer.
Would be used primarily up & down the coast, caravan parks etc. with little to no free camping to start with.
At the moment only vehicle we have that would come close to towing one is our VY Commodore. So not only looking at a camper may also need to update a car?
Have a box trailer, so alternative is to fill that with a tent and all the necessary camping gear and start there.
Welcome thoughts overall, and suggestions on trailer, whether the VY would do for now until we decide if it is something we will stick with long term, and then upgrade.
Cheers.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: noggins - Sunday, May 13, 2018 at 10:13

Sunday, May 13, 2018 at 10:13
The VY with a trailer is a good start.
Why spend heaps of the hard earned, only to find that you should have done the other .
I'd suggest getting a quick type tent that doesn't weigh a ton, a couple of huge tarps to sling over it between some trees with some spare rope and the basic sleeping / cooking / eating bits.

Then later on you will have some experience to fall back on when you decide if it's all for you or not.

I started with a sleeping bag in the back of the station wagon and that slowly evolved into a caravan of today over the last 50 years.

Ron
AnswerID: 618854

Reply By: Zippo - Sunday, May 13, 2018 at 10:34

Sunday, May 13, 2018 at 10:34