Land Cruiser 100 V8 4.7 fuel economy

Submitted: Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 11:56
ThreadID: 137075 Views:34901 Replies:12 FollowUps:14

Thinking of changing my tug to a Land Cruiser 100 V8 4.7 what fuel economy is anyone getting towing a 2.8 ton van?

In fact what is the litres per 100 k's anyone is getting without a van?!

Reply By: cobber - Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 13:15

Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 13:15
Without a van but loaded I get between 14/16ltrs per 100kms sitting around 95/100kph on a long trip........also depending on head winds, Traffic, hills, etc, etc.
AnswerID: 620475

Reply By: CraigB - Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 13:56

Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 13:56
With that kind of weight you can expect 20+ltrs/100 km
AnswerID: 620476

Follow Up By: cobber - Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 18:42

Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 18:42
Thats what I got not what I expected.
FollowupID: 892928

Reply By: Member - mark D18 - Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 14:56

Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 14:56
The Father in law used to get about 16 to 18 not towing on a trip and anything between 24 to 30 towing a 3 ton van .

You won't get any better than those figures they are a thirsty beast .

AnswerID: 620477

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 16:36

Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 16:36
From what I heard they refuse to drive past a service station with a van on. :)
Dave.
FollowupID: 892925

Reply By: Pepper - Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 19:41

Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 19:41
A petrol 200 series would use less fuel , my mate gets about 5 klm per litre which is 20 litres per 100klm towing an approx 3 tonne ski boat.

Perhaps some on this forum might share their fuel figures for petrol 200 series...
AnswerID: 620482

Reply By: axle - Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 19:57

Friday, Aug 03, 2018 at 19:57
G/Day Johnnytasman,. I would think carefully about this idea! ..I had a 4.7l 100s V8 for 4yrs and towed a 18ft Windsor van on a regular basis. 20L/100k was about the best we could get and that weighed in around 1.8 t loaded ,,,2.8t Phew!! hate to think.. It wasn't the fuel economy that got to me, The bottom end in those motors is very light, in the way they are built with poor oil flow ,and worked hard can self destruct very easily. I'm only going on first hand experience, others think differently, but for me never again!

Cheers Axle
AnswerID: 620484

Follow Up By: Johnnytasman - Saturday, Aug 04, 2018 at 07:32

Saturday, Aug 04, 2018 at 07:32
Hi Axle,

Thanks that's interesting since Toyota dealers have always pushed these as 'tow vehicles'! What makes you think they have poor oil flow in the bottom end? I am only looking at petrol 100's because they are SO much cheaper than diesel to buy.
FollowupID: 892944

Follow Up By: axle - Saturday, Aug 04, 2018 at 10:03

Saturday, Aug 04, 2018 at 10:03
Not cheap if they don't last, A race engine builder explained to me where they need improvement, Wont go into detail to many, "nothing can go wrong with Toyos

around here!

FollowupID: 892949

Reply By: Member - snippy - Saturday, Aug 04, 2018 at 05:18

Saturday, Aug 04, 2018 at 05:18
We tow a 3.2T van and never get better than 30L/km.
Headwind on the Nullabor, 45L/km, all cruising 90/100kmh
Also it is a gutless wonder.
AnswerID: 620494

Follow Up By: Member - Andy M (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 04, 2018 at 12:37

Saturday, Aug 04, 2018 at 12:37
I thought 30 to 45L/100km was bad, but 30 to 45L/km!!, now that's something!
FollowupID: 892952

Follow Up By: Member - snippy - Saturday, Aug 04, 2018 at 22:08

Saturday, Aug 04, 2018 at 22:08
Oops! 30L/100km
FollowupID: 892974

Reply By: Ron N - Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 01:20

Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 01:20
I don't understand why anyone would think about buying a massive V8-powered 4WD weighing 3 tonnes empty - and then start to get concerned about fuel economy??

Massive petrol V8's are built to soak up fuel like there's no tomorrow. Petrol engines are the most inefficient engine around when it comes to hauling loads, and nothing makes fuel consumption go ballistic, as in when you start hauling heavy weights, with V8 petrol engines.

Even the American truckers started to get concerned about fuel consumption with big petrol trucks in the 1950's and 1960's.
Thus, the upsurge in Cummins, GM (Detroit) Diesels and later on, Cat diesel truck engines, in the early 1960's.

If you want to haul a big van behind your big 4WD, get a diesel-powered model.
Not only is the diesels fuel consumption very modest, the torque levels are substantially increased over petrol engines, thus making for a better tow rig.

The reason why diesels have vastly increased torque is because diesel is a slow-burning fuel, and it spends a longer time expanding after initial combustion, driving pistons down the cylinder.

I have a mate with a 4.8L Patrol, and he whinges about how it gutzes petrol, like it's going out of fashion - to the extent he seems to rarely drive it - and he gets around in his Corolla, most of the time!

AnswerID: 620517

Follow Up By: Johnnytasman - Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 08:03

Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 08:03
The ONLY reason was the initial cost of buying one. I have seen a 2006 with 150k’s for $30k! A similar diesel would be what $50k that a hell of a lot of $ for buying petrol.
FollowupID: 892978

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 10:47

Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 10:47
Yes, on 1st glance, the cheapness of the petrol V8-powered rigs when secondhand, does make them initially look attractive.

However, there's a good reason they are cheap, when secondhand - and there are more things to consider, than just the fuel consumption.

V8 petrol-powered rigs are much harder to quit when you want to move it on - and if you buy one relatively cheaply secondhand, you will virtually have to give it away when you want to trade up again.
In other words, they have very poor resale value, and they are difficult to sell or trade - at any time.

The only time you might come out in front is when an oil surplus develops and petrol drops substantially in price at the bowser (as it did in early 2016).
However, these price drops are relatively rare, and it didn't take long in 2016, for oil prices to recover.

The only other time you might consider a petrol is when there's a major difference in price at the bowser between petrol and diesel, due to a period of high diesel demand - or some local price rorting by oil companies.

Unfortunately, if you decide that petrol has a major price advantage in your local area - you'll rapidly find that diesel and petrol prices very nearly equalise in price, once you start to travel to rural and remote areas.
That's when the initially-apparent advantage of V8 petrol engines, starts to disappear.

Finally, because of the huge thirst of the V8 petrol engines, your fuel tank range starts to become a problem in rural and remote areas.

You have to start carrying extra fuel (more cost burden) - or you have to pay top dollar for fuel top-ups, because you have no choice but to stop at every servo, regardless of the price they are charging.

FollowupID: 892981

Follow Up By: Johnnytasman - Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 11:20

Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 11:20
Well I think I am persuaded NOT to buy a petrol LAndcruiser! The question now is WHAT to buy!? And do I need a V8? Probably not. The Jeep Grand Cherokee V6 diesel has plenty of power, around the same price for a 2013-15 Overland.
FollowupID: 892984

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 12:41

Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 12:41
It is a problem to know what to buy, in todays lineup of used 4WD's.
But technology has improved in many areas, whilst going backward in others.

No, a V8 is not necessary any more, even for towing - all of the 3.0L diesels today are very capable at towing. I have my doubts about the long-term towing durability of the 2.0L to 2.4L diesel engines.
These engines are usually turbocharged to high levels - dual turbos are common - and dual turbos are additional complexity and cost that you don't need.

The Jeep Cherokee V6 diesel appears to be quite a satisfactory engine - but the Jeeps are hit-and-miss with their build quality and reliability.
You get a good one, they are quite O.K. - you get a bad one, you have the Car from Hell, that will break you.

Fiat-Chrysler are a company notorious for poor customer support, and I suspect they are wracked internally with poor company morale, due to the constant European/American management changes and the fact that Americans and Europeans outlook on many things is totally different.

Engine design technology improved substantially between the late 1990's and around 2015 - but the recent addition of complex DPF's to diesels is a major backward step, so it pays to avoid anything with a DPF.

If you want a wagon, the choices are limited. To my way of thinking (simplicity and robustness), the 105 series Landcruisers are the pick of the bunch for trouble-free motoring and a good body size.
However, it's getting harder and harder to find a 105 in good shape, and for a reasonable price.

Prados are notoriously over-priced for what they are. The Isuzu MU-X appears to me to be a good 4WD wagon, but good used examples are scarce.

A mate just bought one that had been stolen, and claimed he got a fantastic deal on it. It needed some interior repair because the druggies had ripped the interior around, as they always do, because they're convinced there are demons hiding in the car, out to get them.
It didn't cost a great deal to repair, and he reckoned he's ended up with a top 4WD, for a lot less than the market value.

The 4WD market is overburdened with dual-cab utes, as the manufacturers think that's the only thing that's selling - so they need to build more and more.
Personally, I detest dual-cab utes, I think they are dangerous, with many inherent design problems - but it doesn't stop people (and companies) buying them by the truckload.

The Fortuner is a bit of a "new kid on the block", and there's not really enough around to choose from.
There are a few Ford Everests coming onto the market now, they have fairly good reliability and are generally reasonably priced - but the problem is, they are a Ford, and Ford are notorious for making things cheaper and cheaper as they go along.

I've owned 2 Fords - but I'll never own one again, because I got sick of the "el-cheapo" design of many components (plastic gears in window regulator mechanisms that stripped in 18mths from new - and which couldn't be replaced, you had to buy the entire motor/gearbox mechanism).

Ford cooling system components that don't last, and which, when they let go, destroy the motor, because it runs out of coolant.
I also got sick of Fords exceptionally expensive parts prices.

The Mitsubishi's aren't too bad, but they are cheaply built, to meet the bottom end of the market, and they're generally short on power and size.

At the end of the day, it's the deal you find, that generally sways you into what you buy.
You just have to settle on a range of vehicles that will fit your needs, and then go hard, looking constantly for the "deal" that makes it a winner.

Often, deceased estate private sales, where relatives are selling a recently-passed elderly relatives vehicle, can provide a winner.
I often have major wins at auctions - provided you know about, and can assess vehicles for condition, and the previous owners care level.

However, my last Toyota was a great score from a local Toyota dealer - where the dealer had traded in a fleet, and their yard was overloaded with 6 or 8 of these all-identical Toyotas - and it was the end of a very quiet month, and they were desperate to quit some vehicles, to try and hit their monthly target.

One has to remember that dealers monthly sales targets are a big thing to them, and buying a vehicle at the end of a very slow calendar month for a dealer, is a good move. Good luck.
FollowupID: 892985

Follow Up By: Johnnytasman - Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 13:22

Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 13:22
Thanks Ron. My story is simple. I have a 2006 Range Rover TDV6. I have a 2,8t van. It tows OK, but would prefer more power for hills. I live in Tasmania! The trouble is I believe there isn't a better 4x4 than the Range Rover! Especially the L322. if have owned 2 of them in the last 10 years. Unfortunately I sold a TDV8 a few years ago and wished I hadn't. The trouble with buying an old TDV8 (2008-2011) a good one will be over $50K, any cheaper and it will have many Ks and will need front air shocks etc. Plus then I have to deal with the low tow ball weight on the RR. For some reason they only allow 250kg. (hence my looking for a vehicle with more power and more tow ball capacity) They can tow 3500.
FollowupID: 892987

Follow Up By: rumpig - Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 15:27

Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 15:27
Having owned a 105 series for around 10 years, yes it was a great reliable vehicle....but no way in the world would I want to tow 2.5 - 3 T with it. The thing was slow enough with 1.5 T on the back, and mine was with an aftermarket turbo and intercooler fitted (and they come with thier own issues for motor longevity), would hate to have been towing double that...you'd be going walking pace up any decent hill.
FollowupID: 892992

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 19:14

Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 19:14
Johnnytasman - O.K., I guessed from your forum name, that Tassie was your location.

If you're wanting to tow a 2.8T 'van around the hills of Tassie, then I'd suggest the only tow-tug you should be looking at, is a diesel V8 200 series Landcruiser.

These beasts are a powerhouse, and they have a huge amount of GCM available, at 6850kgs - which is what you need when you are hauling a heavy load in hilly terrain.

All the others will be at their limit for your terrain, and size of 'van - and the last thing you want, is a vehicle working at its tow limit in hilly terrain.

Don't be put off by high kms on these beasts - as long as it's been good kms, on good roads, and not "hard kms". The 200 series are built like a truck, and last accordingly.

I know a family friend with an early one, it's done 800,000kms and it's still churning along happily on the original donk - although the suspension has been rebuilt three times, and the transmission, once.
To its advantage, it has never done any serious amount of towing, and the bulk of its work has been high-speed, long-distance, bitumen work.

FollowupID: 893004

Reply By: Kilcowera Station Stay - Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 07:19

Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 07:19
I'm getting a giggle out of this thread. We get so many couples pull up here, step out of the 200 series like they have just dropped down from the right hand side of God! With the big van on. I didn't realise they (the 200's) were so thirsty! We have a chap here who told me yesterday that he gets around 27L to the 100 kms towing his large Kedron. Now I'm reading that can go up to 40!! Yikes! No wonder people want to free camp!
AnswerID: 620519

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 09:37

Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 09:37
And thats the diesel V8 let alone the petrol V8.
FollowupID: 892980

Reply By: Winner W - Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 15:15

Sunday, Aug 05, 2018 at 15:15
Consider a new NX Pajero if looking for a good all rounder wagon to to with.
AnswerID: 620530

Reply By: Member - nick b boab - Monday, Aug 06, 2018 at 17:22

Monday, Aug 06, 2018 at 17:22
John , the late models are great motor
You will save money buying a 1oo series v8 petrol under $ 20.000 v v8 diesel
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 620556

Reply By: humpback - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2018 at 13:08

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2018 at 13:08
I have a Ford F Truck turbo diesel 6.7 lt and i tow a 26ft 4ton caravan and i achieve 20lts per 100klm and when im not towing i achieve 13lts per 100klm.
Baker
AnswerID: 620575

Reply By: diver09 Dan - Monday, Aug 13, 2018 at 20:35

Monday, Aug 13, 2018 at 20:35
Just returned 200 series towing 30 litres per 100 k .
AnswerID: 620685